We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Candolim
Post
Inbox
Search

“Local's drinking den”
Review of John's Bar

John's Bar
Ranked #194 of 376 Restaurants in Candolim
Cuisines: Indian
Description: Near the nerul bridge, candolim Goa India, not far from the Fortune hotel.
Restaurant details
Description: Near the nerul bridge, candolim Goa India, not far from the Fortune hotel.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cheap & cheerful but dark & forbidding too.
Service is good & hopefully they will have some fresh fish left over.
Not the kind of place to take your wife too- Toilets?

Date of visit: October 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BimBertram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 13 reviews

Reviewed December 16, 2019

The waiter was extremely rude to us & was almost hostile. The owner was busy counting bills & didnt mind the waiter behaving rudely with others patrons too. Totally avoid it.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ArchLin001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2019

This was one of the closest places for us to eat and drink....and one of the best. From our first visit to our last we were made to feel very welcome by staff and other customers - by the end of our stay in Candolim we were greeted with waves and smiles upon arrival. Probably fair to say it's a bar that serves food rather than a restaurant, but the food was of a consistant high quality, and fantastic value for money. Our final departure was made with handshakes and hugs all round....and my wife made them promise to look after the lovely cat ! Thanks for everything.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 81mikew27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2019

Off the beaten track on the road between Candolim and Neru, it tends to be missed by the tourists. poor them. On the outside it doesn;t look much. On the inside like a UK 70s cafe, but the food is excellent. Olga claims the vegetable biryani was the best ever and the other urries (potato, mushroom as we were having a vegetarian night) were both excellent. Very nice rice dish and two chappattis. We were in two minds whether it was a four or a five until the bill arrived. All of the above, plus four beers came to 740 rupees (which at todays excahnge rate is £8.00) If a could give it a six or seven for value I would.

Date of visit: November 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2019

This is a hidden gem. Not far to walk out of Candolim on the Nerul(airport/Panjami) road. A reasonable menu which is very cheap. The food is freshly well cooked I have tried virtually all the menu. Sit inside which is noisy with locals wacthing sport on TV or outside where the smokers go. It is actually very pleasant outside with 6 or so tables, Use mossie spray!! however the owner puts out anti bug insense sticks. Favourites include all the curries and Chicken Tikka Masal which is fantastic and CHEAP!! Have a beer (Large) and Honey Bee brandy mop up your curry with rotis or garlic nans to die for!!

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tourman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John's Bar also viewed

 

Been to John's Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing