We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
Ranked #13 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Couldnt ask for any more, the hotel was spotlessly clean with good comfortable beds and had modern amenities. The grounds where beautiful and well kept. At the the time of visiting the hotel was changing hands so it was constanty being updated this did not inconvienience our stay in any way.We can not praise the staff enough, everyone we met was so helpful and kind. The breakfast was very good with a good variety. We have already recommended the hotel and will be our first choice if in the area again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachaeldean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Goa!

Thank you for sharing your valuable time to write beautiful lines in appreciation of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goa.

We are delighted t know that your stay was comfortable with us. It is always immensely satisfying for the team when guest like you go back after a relaxed & lovable stay at our hotel.

It was indeed a pleasure having such a beautiful couple with us at our place and we look forward to welcome you again for yet another stay enriched with beautiful memories.

Regards
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn & Suites By Carlson
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,310 - 1,316 of 1,362 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2012

Stayed for one week at the Girasol from 10th March 2012. Was impressed with the central courtyard/pool area which is a beautiful place to relax. Staff are constantly tending the gardens around the pool. Hotel IS as the pictures portray it. Staff are friendly and attentive. Breakfast buffet OK - choice of indian food or english breakfast. Chef on hand cooking fresh eggs to order. Our room was on the top floor.

Probably cheaper to go out to eat, rather than eat at the hotel. There are lots of nice restaurants to choose from. Would recommend Floyds and Fisherman's cove in particular. Top Nosh also good (don't be put off by the exterior - once you get into the courtyard, it's very nice). Really enjoyed the stay.

If you go on the Anjuna market trip, be prepared for the hard sell (woman grabbed me and dragged me to her stall on arrival - I had to pull my wrist away from her with force!), and don't let anyone clean your ears out (it's a scam!). Most of the stuff on sale at Anjuna is cheap tat - we bought better stuff in Candolim. Anjuna beach is nice, but wouldn't bother going to the market again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Elspeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Candolim Goa!

Thank you for spending your valuable time to share your feedback on Trip Advisor.

It is always motivating to receive such valuable comments from our guests. We strive to produce excellent food, service and ambience here at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Candolim Goa and seeing reviews like yours is the icing on the cake.

Yes, there is a possibility that our prices may seem to be high as compared to many other restaurants in a close proximity but, our chefs endeavor to source the material from top quality suppliers and it is usually enjoyed by all of our guests.

It was indeed a pleasure having you at our place and we look forward to welcome you again at our hotel.

Regards
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

A nice friendly hotel, with helpful staff. Just a little bit out of the way and the surroundings leave a lot to be desired. Rooms and bathrooms very good and clean and all the rooms have balconies overlooking the pool and beautiful gardens and the breakfasts as always excellent. The pool was lovely but there seemed to be a shortage of sunloungers. The pool attendant was not always around to give out towels and there was no lifeguard. Apart from this, it was a most enjoyable stay, but the surrounding area does not to be cleaned up.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beebee85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

we have just had two hollidays at the girasol november and febuary 2012
what a time was taken over2nd holliday by country inn and suites absolutly blooming fantastic
what a staff from reception to my mate guru the pool man to sutil our personal chef all the waiters everybody thank you all we will be back at the end off the year it didnt matter about the work going on it was just about being there wonderful the only thing as a minus point was the elections all bars closed 1030 to11very night india and goa is run by old aged pensioners get rid ruining the whole country if anybody is going be nice to the pool man he is magic tell him Val and Carl are thinking about him will be in touch soon

Room Tip: get a room on block facing pool north side sun all day long
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank liverpooleveryman18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

just got back from my first goan holiday. we went for 2 weeks in feb and stayed at the girasol. the hotel was beautiful and the rooms were always spotless. the location was quiet with a two minute walk to the nightlife and restaraunts of candolim main road. the pool was ovely and the staff were al fantastic. on arrival we met Sanjeev who looked after us like we were his own family even takin us to the night market one evening. his hospitality showed no bounderies and i am pleased to even now class him as my friend as we have maintained contact.i recommend anyone staying in candolim and looking for sheer luxury stay at the girasol beach resort and if you want 1st class service and to be treated like royalty then i suggest you ask for sanjeev. not one single complaint and will be returning again and again. thanks sanjeev. A1. also visit rickys shack for the best daytime service there is!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spencer c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at The Girasol during February 2012. It was our honeymoon. I have been to Candolim twice before and this time we wanted something special and The Girasol did not let us down! It is in the process of changing it's name to The Country Inns & Suites and there is still some building work going on in the third floor conference centre above reception. This did not impact our stay in any way.
The hotel is tucked up a side street behind the main road. The area is away from the noise, hustle and bustle and it can feel wonderful to return there after walking through the madness of taxi's, bikes, cows and dogs that is the main street of Candolim. Transfer coaches cannot get down the side street so you will be dropped off and have to trundle your cases down to the hotel. For our own comfort we took a direct taxi from the airport (prebooked in the UK before we travelled - 1000 Rupees)
The rooms are spacious with large very comfortable beds. The mattresses are the closest to European standard I have found in Goa and along with the very quiet A/C they make for a comfortable nights sleep. The rooms are also very well insulated from noise and unusually for me I was not woken by the dawn chorus which can get noisy in Goa!
When we arrived the room did not have all the facilities they advertise but as soon as the staff realised we were a British couple they produced the kettle & tea making equipment, a hairdryer and additional hangers for the wardrobe. It seems that not all nationalities take good care of these items and so they are sometimes removed from the rooms by the staff until they see who checks in! There is an iron and ironing board in the room as well as a safe. They presented us with complementary bottled water when we arrived too.
The gardens are absolutely stunning and the staff take very great care carefully grooming the lawn each day and watering to make it a little oasis of peace and tranquility. While we were there the coconut man visited, shinning up the palms to remove coconuts which may otherwise fall and injure someone. He sent debris crashing down onto the beautiful garden and it looked like a war zone - but only for a few hours until the staff collected every last little bit of debris and moved it away. I was treated to a drink of coconut milk by one of the members of staff.
The staff are extremely friendly and welcoming and greet you with a big genuine smile. They bend over backwards to ensure your stay is comfortable and enjoyable.
The breakfast is superb. A huge and varied buffet with both European and Indian foods, lots of lovely fresh fruit too. Eggs are cooked to order and delivered to your table. The chef makes a great omlette! The restaurant is air conditioned but we chose to eat on the terrace each morning.
The pool is spotlessly clean and although we do not spend lots of time by the pool we do like a late afternoon dip to cool us down. As others have already mentioned the sun only gets to one side of the pool. This did not bother us because we prefer to stay out of the sun but the sunbeds had always been moved to the sunny side during the day and some days there would not be any clean towels at that time of day. The Pool attendant is most accommodating but would usually take a break around the time we visited the pool It did not cause us any problem. There is room for more sunbeds though and a few more umbrellas for those who prefer shade would be good. Lots of new furnishings were being delivered while we were there so I suspect it might be something that is in the pipeline.
It was my new husbands bithday while we were there and they staff presented him with wine and flowers which was a lovely touch.
From day one we seemed to struggle to lock our room when we left it. The locks are the type with an electronic swipe card. We were only allowed one card between us. on our second day we left the room to have our afternoon dip in thhe pool before getting ready to go out. When we returned to the room we could not get in. The staff got straight onto it but it appeared that the problem was not an easy one to sort out and after 3/4 hour we realised we were going to be late for our restaurant booking if we did not leave soon. Thankfully I had opted not to swim that afternoon and my husband had swimtrunks on that look like shorts and had his shirt on and brought his wallet out with him so although we were not dressed in our evening clothes we were able to leave the hotel and keep our dinner booking. The Girasol staff ensured we were supplied with cold drinks while they worked on the lock and offered to lend us money to pay for the restaurant until they could get us into the room which was very nice of them. When we returned from our evening out the lock had been repaired/replaced and after that it worked fine. A good measure of service is how an establishment deals with things when they go wrong and they dealt with this problem with the utmost care and thought for us throughout.
Many of the staff could be singled out for individual praise if only I had made a note of their names - Sanjeev who is The Guest Relationship Executive was diligent in ensuring our stay was first class. They have a great team there and we will be contacting our travel agent this week to see when we can book for next year.

Room Tip: More privacy in rooms that are not on the ground floor. The rooms on the shady side stay cool all da...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

we visited this hotel in october and we were 3 couples, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. the hotel is made very tastefully and the experience is amazing.

they have a very clean pool and rooms are quite spacious with tastefull furniture.

it is ideal for relaxing, and very close to candollim, callangute and other party places.

TIP: there is very good resturant within 0.5 km called as fishermen's cove, very good goan food they serve.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms in first floor and away from pool, some times it gets noisy due to people gathering...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shishir994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#10 of 66 in Candolim
537 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson

Address: Bamonvaddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India (Formerly Girasol Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#8 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#8 Family Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $74 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Goa Candolim. One of the most conveniently located hotels in Goa, India, the Country Inn features a pristine setting near Candolim Beach and offers easy access to the best tourist attractions in Goa. Guests at our beach hotel in Goa can enjoy stylish and comfortable rooms with all the amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. The Country Inn & Suites also offers on-site dining, an outdoor swimming pool, well-equipped Fitness Centre, on-site banquet and conference facilities and complimentary wireless Internet access. Reserve your room today and experience one of the best hotels in Goa, India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Girasol Beach Hotel Candolim
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing