We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good rooms & peacefull place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 82 Candolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good rooms & peacefull place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Basically I stayed out at Hideaway just for a night with my kids. Actually I had booked at silver sand holiday village (candolim) which belong to the same owner but different management. One day stay at holiday village was a nightmare for me so I decided to check-out immediately, thats the time when the GM of hideaway moved us to his hotel. Its a nice hotel. rooms are good, clean and comfortable. We stayed in a suite room. The ambience is good, pool is clean. The breakfast is standard buffet. The staff is good and co-operative. I had a very nice and comfortable one night stay at hideway. It is worth for money. Thanks to Rama & Mr. Pralhad for accomodating us for a day with a short notice.

Room Tip: Do view the advice given by the traveller who visited the hotel or resort before booking the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RBarve244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    88
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
142
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights at the end of our trip to Goa at the Silver Sands Hideaway in a standard room. Set back from the main road it is a quiet spot we enjoyed. Based on our trip:

Pros
- Room: large with a balcony, modern, nicely decorated. Had a desk and separate closet/storage area with a safe, and two additional seats with a table.
- Pool: very nice seating with shade available.

Cons
- Breakfast: not bad enough to not recommend the hotel, but it is a bit of a disaster...
-First Floor Balcony: not very private as it is situated above the road next to the hotel.

Suggestions
- Hotel Name: if you are taking a taxi, but sure to specify 'Hideaway' as there is another Silver Sands nearby
- Request a Higher Level Floor: assuming more privacy and quieter
- The Curry House: best food we had in Goa

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rtwsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kessingland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Having rented an apartment for the last 2 years, we had our reservations about booking a hotel....well we need not have worried as this place is the best we have ever stayed in Goa.

Hotel
It is a small hotel, on three floors, we upgraded to a Junior suite (room 305) and were not disappointed, this particular room had an extra (and quite large) balcony, and the bathroom with its walk in shower were perfect. The bed is about 7 foot square, so plenty of room to spread out.
Previously someone on here was saying about the AC switching itself off, well this happens when you open the balcony doors so as not to waste electricity by letting the cold air out, quite simple and very sensible.
There have been comments as well about the breakfasts, well trust me these are fine and unless you have a full fry up every day at home then there is nothing to complain about, you get toast, eggs (how you want them), cereal, fresh fruit, tea, coffee and juice - enough to keep anyone going (I did see some Indian guest getting yoghurt and other thing so it is worth asking for something else if you want it.
My only complaint was with other guests who insisted on smoking at the breakfast tables rather than going out of the breakfast area or on to their balconies...in future please consider the welfare of other people - rant over ;0)

Staff
You could not wish for more attentive or friendly staff, who always greeted you with a cheery hello, morning, noon and night, they are a credit to the hotel.

Pool
A small but very clean pool area, which is swept and the sunbeds cleaned at least once a day. When we first arrived I thought the Germans had invaded, as beds had towels on them first thing, but there appeared to be non residents using the pool one day, so I understnd why this was being done - not a problem to us as we use the beach all day.

Location
The hotel is located up the road opposite the football ground. This road has a market selling fresh products (fruit,veg etc.) cheaper than Newtons, there are also 3 or 4 little stalls selling freshly cooked street food for only a few rupees, my tip is to use the one just outside the market and try his Samosas, Pakoras and Deep Fried Potato balls, not good for the waist line but your on holiday so who cares. There is also a small shop (Casa Manik) opposite the market where you can pick up other supplies and the alcohol in there is very cheap.
This road does get very busy during the day, so caution is needed when crossing.

Summary
A fabulous hotel in a great location, which we will certainly revisit in the future.
If you have any questions, please feel free to message me, and I'll help if I can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Humphman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed this hotel last year so we thought we would go back this year and chose a superior room with jacuzzi, well don't do it you pay about an extra £170 each for these deluxe rooms. What do you actually get for your money! Not a lot, ok a bigger room, same size balcony as smaller rooms same view, you do get a jacuzzi with a shower over the top of it. the jacuzzi don't go there unless you want legionnaires disease (well it could happen) we did'nt use it a waste of money. Stay with economy rooms. This hotel is still a good hotel it still as the sheet problem once a week even in deluxe but staff are very friendly and will help. We had a great time here once again.....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

We have just got back on 03rd March 2013 from staying at Silversands Hideaway, Candolim. This was our second time at this hotel and it is a very clean and beautiful hotel. The pool guy does a fabulous job of keeping the pool and its surroundings immaculate. Very friendly staff. Rooms are cleaned daily. They have breakfast more organised now. My only quarm is we payed for a superior room as it was the only room left for dates we required and it was no more superior than the room we had Nov 2011, the only extra quality to the room was a bath/jacuzzi which we never used in the whole 3wks we were there, so I do feel we paid over the odds by quite a lot. This factor would not stop me from booking in this hotel again, I would just make sure I got a standard room and pay alot less. All in all I would recommend this hotel to everybody.

Room Tip: Pool side room is best one to have for quietness. There is no spa or fitness centre I just had to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachelbranigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We stayed at Silver Sands Hideaway for 4 days in February 2013.

The location is Candolim, and if you plan to stay in Candolim, you have already taken the first right step.

This hotel is tucked in a quiet little corner, 5-minutes of walk from the happening area of Candolim.

Note: This is another of those hotels in Candolim that is frequented mostly by Europeans (mostly from UK). You will hardly find Indians here.

Goods:
- The location is excellent. In 5-10 minutes of walk, you can reach all good eating joints, pubs, and the beach itself.
- Clean, spotless rooms. You won't find an inch of dirt in the entire hotel.
- Staff members are courteous and helpful. They will try to make sure your stay is nice.
- Need a scooty/car for hire? The hotel will happily arrange it for you. It's much more convenient that way. Just pick and drop your vehicle at the hotel itself.
- The swimming pool is decent. Not very big but decent enough.
- Forget the suites, even the standard rooms are extremely big and spacious. Add to them very nice balconies to sit and spend time.
- Nice, big wash rooms (with slightly transparent/translucent kind of doors).
- The reception area has nice sofas next to a book shelf. You can spend some good reading time there.
- The manager Prahlad is very helpful. Nice fellow.
- You need to walk 2-mins at the max to get to a grocery store.
- We had food just once in their in-house restaurant Pinto. The food was okay. However, in Candolim, I would definitely urge you to eat out.

Not-so-goods:
- Barest minimalest possiblest breakfast. Corn flakes, milk, bread, fruits, omelettes on request - and I did not miss anything. This may settle well with foreign visitors (though am not sure) but for us Indians who eat like crazy on vacations, this is just not enough. Very, very disappointing breakfast.
- People at the reception at times don't pick the phone. They are out of their work seats. Not a big deal though.
- No toiletries. Please get your own shampoo etc.
- No sockets in the wash rooms. No place to plug your shavers.
- They have a very boring elevator. It keeps thanking you for using it. Well, this is of course not a big point. But, if you stay there a few days, you'll know what I mean.

One weird thing. I don't know if good or bad: the ACs don't work when the balcony doors are open. Some technology.

Tips:
- Standard rooms are good enough. Don't pay extra for suites. However, if you must get a suit, ask them for the suite with terrace balcony (I believe room 305). Not all suites have attached terrace balcony.

Overall: I found Hideaway extremely nice. It has nice, BIG, clean rooms. Further, it is much, much better than its sister concern Silver Sands Village, which is closer to the beach. If you are OK to compromise on the breakfast, go for it.

Please say YES if the review is helpful.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are good enough. Don't pay extra for suites. However, if you must get a suit, ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Kshitij K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Nice hotel , only problems we had is when we turned up at 5 in the morning was told problem with room so put us in silver sands village which is ok but not what we had paid for, was promised upgrade which never happened. Wife also had her bag snatched right outside entrance to hotel . lovely hotel, just a bit isolated

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inglana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#15 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#20 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Hideaway

Property: Silver Sands Hideaway
Address: Pintos Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Sands Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silver Sands Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hideaway Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Hideaway Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing