We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel with Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Silver Sands Hideaway
Ranked #10 of 83 Candolim B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel with Friendly Staff”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed here in March 2012. This was our 3rd time to Candolim but our first time in the Silver Sands Hideaway. I must admit when we booked it there were no reviews - only people chatting in the forum about where is was etc so we booked it and took a chance. We were so glad we did - most reviews since we booked have been mainly good but there is nothing like finding our for yourself. When we arrived we received a really warm welcome, Our room wasnt ready but it only took about 15 minutes and we were in. Originally we had booked a junior suite but Thomson had overbooked (we got to know about a month before we travelled) so we could only have a basic room. However, there was nothing basic about it, a very smart looking room with a massive bed (my partner is 6'5'' and his feet didnt reach the end). We got offered a move to a suite after a couple of days but we liked the room we were in. Very comfortable with very quiet air con. The breakfast that everyone seemed to moan about was basic - toast, cereal and eggs / omlettes, tea, coffee or fruit juice. But you could get a full breakfast for less than 200 rups down the road so why moan. The staff were great and the manager was a pure gem of a guy. Location was great - far enough off the road to be quiet and within easy walking distance to the beach / bars etc. If you do go - on the track down to the hotel is a little shop owned by a lovely old lady & her daughter - try her samosas - they are fantastic. I would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    88
    19
    7
    7
See reviews for
39
143
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hungarian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

This is a great little hotel, very clean and friendly. The pool is very clean and the sun beds are comfortable, the breakfast is simple cereal toast and eggs, the rooms are clean with large walk in shower. The food and drink was yummy, no dearer than restaurants outside. Try the chilli chicken.
Overall we will return to this hotel the next time we visit Goa, could'nt find anything to complain about.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are just as good as the supreme one's so why pay more !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AWorldwideTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grimsby
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

its new its nice but they only change the sheets once a week, twice whould be better other then that good all round hotel [ for goa india ].....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

This was our second time at this hotel and probably our last!! unfortunatly this year was disappointing compaired to last, food very good, clean linen and towels, but very unorganised!! We were paying our bar bills every couple of days yet when we were due to leave and wanted to clear our bill, we were charged for bills already paid, this was so disappointing as we were assured each payment had been settled. The members of staff we had paid also denied receiving any payments, we prooved what we had paid and when but unfortunately the manager on duty became very rude and although in the end said" it was our mistake" , We were made to feel as though we were guilty of not paying, sadly this has really put us off staying there again. Last year the staff were amazing ronny, ram and viv, were great characters and very professional, sadly management and staff changed. Thomson have increased the price of this exact holiday each year. From 2010 to 2013 the price difference is £800!! Not worthy of the increase.
Location good, food in candolim excellent highly recommend victors!! South Goa beaches beautiful Palolim beach well worth a visit and stay in shack ! Goa ......amazing place to go but not for people who expect western comforts!!!

Room Tip: Recommend a room overlooking the pool as the dogs cannot be heard!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

On holiday in Goa late March 12. We had booked with Thompson a package holiday for two weeks in Goa. We chose very well with this hotel, it was wonderful.

Our room (305) was incredible, big walk in wetroom, a normal side balcony and a larger rear balcony, which is not overlooked, so excellent for secluded sunbathing. We measured the bed, it was 7ft square.

The staff were great and the hotel was kept spotless. We could not fault this hotel at all. Some people have mentioned the breakfasts being sparse, we had the choice of toast, fruit or eggs, which was fine, as the weather was too hot to have a heaped plateful of full English every day.

If we were to go back to Candolim in Goa we would be looking to stay at this hotel for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geordiecpl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

Rooms are really good, spacious, clean & fantastic beds. Location not brilliant lots of rubbish on the main road and a little lonely when walking back later in the evening.
Would definately recommend this hotel though it's a little oasis!!

Candolim is definately suffering from a mini crime wave which the Police don't seem to be able to control, witnessed bags being snatched & was also a victim of it myself. Once at the Police station I realised I'd got away with it pretty lightly! A few other women turned up after me & had things of high value snatched- we spoke to lots of victims & many said they would NEVER go back to Goa again (probably me neither, don't mind giving it away, don't appreciate it been stolen) So, beware ladies don't take a bag out with you & definately don't put anything valuable in it if you must take one...

Bono's beach shack still the best in Candolim, facilities are 2nd to none, good staff & freindly owners.

If you do decide to visit, book this hotel you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasper272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel in early March 2012. It was our 1st visit to Goa, but certainly wont be our last.
We found the staff to be very friendly and chatty.
Our room - which was on the ground floor overlooking the alley at the back of the hotel was huge. It was very clean and our towels were changed daily. I agree with some other reviewers who stated that the ground floor rooms at the end of the corridor by the lift were at times noisy, especially when people were waiting for the lift and stood talking.
The view from our balcony was really interesting with the locals going about their daily life.
We enjoyed sitting by the pool in the late afternoon after a long day relaxing at the beach. It was lovely and cool.
The location of the hotel is great, it is far enough from the main road to be fairly quiet and the walk to the beach was enjoyable, once we got used to the traffic.
We found Candolim to be very nice, with plenty of places to eat. The beach shacks were great.
We did lots of trips such as Kola beach, the night market, crocodile hunting, and we paid a taxi driver to take us to the Spice Plantation in the morning where we did the elephant ride and wash well before the coaches turned up in the afternoon. Our taxi driver was very knowledgable and told us loads of useful stuff.
We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoboCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.3 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.3 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.4 mi away
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
Phoenix Park Inn Resort
#15 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.9 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#19 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silver Sands Hideaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Hideaway

Property: Silver Sands Hideaway
Address: Pintos Waddo, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Silver Sands Hideaway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Silver Sands Hideaway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Hideaway Hotel Candolim
Silver Sands Hideaway Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing