We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a good hotel but poor food service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fortune Acron Regina
Ranked #4 of 65 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Overall a good hotel but poor food service”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We booked last minute and were lucky enough to get a Suite that had just seen a cancellation, for a reasonable price.

Pros:
- the booking process was great - the person doing our booking online was very responsive. Huge props to Daniel Pereira who was the exec that helped us with our booking.
- The Suite was massive and very nice. The decor was great too
- Housekeeping was very responsive
- the property was a small but nice one - quite a relaxing ambience
- the shuttle service to the beach is good and quick
- Quality of food on the menu was good
- All the staff including the front desk was great
- pool was decent

Cons (in descending order of irritation):

- We were charged different prices for the room service food. Eg on the first day, Garlic Naan was Rs40 (or Rs30 - I dont remember exactly). 2nd day it suddenly went up to Rs80. We asked and they said we were undercharged the first day, so we were like 'ok, 80 is fine'. Then we were charged Rs40 again on the 3rd day. On calling, they (a difft person this time) told us that Rs40 is the standard price. SO I am still not sure of what the price is - it was irritating that the hotel did not have a standard price. Based on the fact that for 4 meals we were charged a lower amount and a higher amount for 1 meal, I am convinced that I was overcharged for the 1 meal. Not a big deal at the end of the day, but not something you'd expect from a branded hotel

- Internet is only restricted to 1 device at a time - which is quite ridiculous!! Pricing is at par with 5 star hotels in Mumbai/Delhi and all these hotels allow 2-3 devices to use the same connection so am not sure why the restriction to 1 device. Also even though I bought a 24 hour service, it promptly shut down at midnight - so there is some deviousness there.

- The breakfast menu was uninspiring. What was unacceptable however was the fact that some items on the menu were undercooked/stale. We pointed this out to the wait staff but there was no follow up

- The bathroom was v leaky - the bidet first leaked. Then the bathtub leaked resulting in water all over the floor. To their credit, the hotel got it sorted out very quickly

- The multigym at the gym was part broken (the pec-dec cables were messed up and the lat pulldown cable was unusable).

- it is in the middle of a residential neighborhood with really narrow roads so traffic gets a little messy. I'd have really preferred a hotel right on the beach - but thats not something that the hotel can fix/not their fault.

Room Tip: The Suite was great. Pool facing, higher floor rooms are better (our suite was on the 2nd floor and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mxvftc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, during your recent trip to Goa. I would request you to treat this as a one off, inadvertent incident and do not allow this to mar the favorable impression of the group that you have.

I take this opportunity to assure you that we as a group have always endeavored to seek feedback from our discerning guests, and we incessantly strive to improve our product and services based on the insights we receive from time to time.

We sincerely regret that your experience was not up to your expectations.

We have noted your comments regarding the pricing at our food and beverage outlets, the WIFI service, buffet spread, the bathroom and the gym. I also would like to assure you that we have looked at the reasons for this and we have put in preventive measures to prevent any recurrences.

We do look forward to welcoming you back here.

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    891
    437
    140
    40
    32
See reviews for
631
408
34
168
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Hotel was good with nice ambiance and good overall facilities. Room was quite comfortable. But, when I had booked the suite for two adults and two kids 8 & 6, How can somebody expect us all to fit in that queen bed? This was quite ridiculous, they asked me to make extra payment for extra bed. Something I had never faced before on my any earlier trips. Another disappointment was when I developed fever and they had no simple medicine like paracetamol or crocin. Over that they made no effort to procure it from market. If this simple extra gesture is not there from hotel, then what is the point of staying at such hotels?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Ashwani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, during your recent trip to Goa.

We sincerely regret that your experience was not up to your expectations. Your observations and feedback are most valuable to us, and we thank you for bringing it to our notice. We have noted your comments regarding the extra beds and the medication that were not made available to you. Rightly pointed out it’s the little details that complete the entire holiday experience.

I request you to treat this as an inadvertent and isolated incident and give us another opportunity in the future to be of service. We do look forward to welcoming you back here for a memorable experience.

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bombay, Maharashtra, India
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I stayed here during my off site visit with my colleagues in Feb 2013. Its a decent place with probably modest amenities. The brand fortune means the staff is professional and the place is well kept. Overall a good place to stay close to the candolim and sequerim beaches. The only drawback that I can pick is limited buffet varieties and the lack of a dedicated recreation rooms. This was of importance as we were on an offsite visit for work which means most of the time was spent in the resort than outside unlike my other Goa visits.

Room Tip: Ask for pool facing rooms if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AasifW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, during your recent trip to Goa.

Your observations and feedback in regards to the buffet and the recreation facilities are most valuable to us, and we thank you for bringing it to our notice. We have noted your comments and will take appropriate measures.

We do look forward to welcoming you back here for a memorable experience.

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

When deciding between this property and another one for our stay in Candolim, we went with this one because of the beautiful pictures online and belief it had a better breakfast. We found ourselves very disappointed for so many reasons:

1) The amenities are poor and the hotel takes so many shortcuts. Our bed did not have fitted sheets -> we slept on flat sheets that barely covered the mattresses which were 2 twin size mattresses pushed together to form a "king" size bed. The internet usage only allowed us to have one device on at a time even after paying premium prices. The "business center" we used for printing our boarding passes consisted of one very slow computer and a printer that was low on ink and re-used paper with other customer's info on the back!!!! The shower leaked out onto the bathroom floor and we had to call maintenance to unclog our bathroom sink which nearly overflowed on the first usage!!!

2) The breakfast was downright scary, lacking freshness, quality, and organization. One day, our server ushered us to a table only to find it taken when we came back with food. At the omelette station, the chef didn't even care to customize my omelette, instead pushing me to accept a prepared mix omelette. When asking another chef to replenish the empty bread breakfast, he pushed me off to a server who ended up dropping half of the bread on the floor and then put it into the bread basket -> right in front of my eyes!!! Indoor seating is very limited and when we sat outside, we were bombarded by flies.

3) If the examples of poor service in #2 aren't sufficient, note that much of the staff just didn't seem to care about us and did not make us feel very welcome.

4) The only difference between the Deluxe and Luxury rooms is the view. Our "luxury" room was okay but didn't feel luxurious...maybe a suite might have been nicer but we already paid way too much for our luxury room. The hallways are dark and scary looking and our room was right next to the elevator -> talk about non-stop noise and an unrestful sleep.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigrr49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, during your recent trip to Goa.

We sincerely regret that your experience was not up to your expectations.

Your observations and feedback are most valuable to us, and we thank you for bringing it to our notice. We have noted your comments regarding the food, service and housekeeping and have taken appropriate measures.

I request you to treat this as an inadvertent and isolated incident and give us another opportunity in the future to be of service. We do look forward to welcoming you back here for a memorable experience.

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 4, 2014

What happens when the best person in your life is part of your best moments It is Magic .... And to add to the thrill if you get enablers like Fortune staff each and every best moment becomes unforgettable ... exhilarating amazing splendid and the most eventful trip of my life thanks to you guys my honeymoon became a moment to savour .... Keep it up .... Words will fall short to describe the sheer joy derived by your service

Cheers
Amit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit29584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset I thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Goa and we look forward to have you with us again in the future.

We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant experience staying with us on your honeymoon and that we were able to make it a memorable trip for you.Your appreciation towards our staff a has brought a smile to our faces.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we do look forward to welcoming you back here for an even more memorable experience.



Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 3, 2014

If goa its fortune select regina.. lovely hotel with lovely staffs.. a good warm welcome frm the staff on check in time wid a welcome drink... located jus 5mins (walkin distance) frm the candolim beach.. next trip to goa my stay is definitely ova here :)) cheers (y)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbhyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, during your trip to Goa.

We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience staying with us and that we were able to make it a memorable trip for you. Your appreciation towards our reception staff has brought a smile to our faces.

Your observations and feedback are most valuable to us, and we thank you for bringing it to our notice.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we do look forward to welcoming you back here for an even more memorable experience.

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Great hotel, staff cannot do enough for you. Food brilliant especially buffet breakfasts (with bacon!).
Located down a quiet side road within 10 minutes walk of the beach (go to Ryan's shack) and many good restaurants within easy walking distance
Bedrooms are well appointed and cleaned daily
i would fully recommend this hotel as your Goan base
Downside is the pool area - not enough sunbeds and pool area loses sun by mid afternoon However this is a minor complaint and should not put you off from staying here

Room Tip: We found baconies on street facing rooms best for afternoon and evening sun and to watch the world p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 508gerryl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
R_Louzado, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

At the outset I thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Goa and we look forward to have you with us again in the future.

We are delighted to know that you have had a pleasant experience staying with us and that we were able to make it a memorable trip for you.Your appreciation towards our chefs efforts has brought a smile to our faces.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us, and we do look forward to welcoming you back here for an even more memorable experience

Regards,

Raju Louzado,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 65 in Candolim
248 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
#6 of 65 in Candolim
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#9 of 65 in Candolim
530 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
Hyatt Place Goa Candolim
#12 of 65 in Candolim
470 reviews
4.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Acron Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Acron Regina

Property: Fortune Acron Regina
Address: Off Fort Aguada Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#1 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#6 Family Hotel in Candolim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fortune Acron Regina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet, peaceful location in this colorful and vibrant city is Fortune Select Regina, a contemporary upscale full service luxury Goan Portuguese resort with 102 rooms and suites, located off the main road to Fort Aguada in Candolim, the leisure Riviera of Goa. The hotel is just a short walk from the inviting beaches of North Goa and 45 minute drive from the international airport at Dabolim. Overlooking the verdant rice fields and hills with wide, panoramic views to its east including the main Candolim Church, it is a place where vibrant energy blends with comfortable architecture, offering an ideal destination for a memorable holiday or a perfect business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Fortune Acron Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Regina Hotel Candolim
Fortune Acron Regina Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing