We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Decent Stay...no complaints!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fortune Acron Regina
Ranked #4 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just back from a 4 day stay at the hotel and I have to say I am overall happy with this hotel....having said that please understand that this is not a 5 star. It is a typical 4 star hotel. Second, it is a at least 15 min walk to the beach (approx 1+ Km). Point wise specifics:

1) Room are of decent size with contemporary styling. The balcony looks over to the pool..which is a nice sight. Many TV channels to offer. Amenities are really nice of 'fiama di wills'. The bed is really comfortable (for me at least) Not too soft and not too hard.....just right for the back. Also there is a tub in the bathroom which is of good size with nice hot water. Rooms have a central consol (by the bed side) for all the electrical controls even the fan & AC....which was a very nice & easy.

2) Pool Area - It is decent size pool with around 25 beach beds. The beach beds could get full easily if the hotel is more than 40% sold out (they have 96 rooms). There is a sunken bar..which is nice. Also they have a small kid pool (2 feet deep) for the little ones. The hotel also has a small play room for kids.

3) Breakfast - One of the best I have had in a 4 star hotel. Good taste and lots of choice. Live cooking includes Eggs, parathas, South Indian (dosa/uttapam) & some fried stuff like smileys, pooris etc. The service is nice and with a smile. Overall very very good.

4) Overall Service - Service is nice.....nothing extraordinary....but as you would expect from a good hotel...humble service with a smile. Drinks are very cheap at the hotel but the food is on the expensive side. Room service is good.

5) Location - it is about 400 mtrs away from the main road in a small lane. Good part is you can hire a scooter right outside the hotel at Rs 250 a day.

It was our anniversary and they gave us a cake and a small bottle of wine which was a nice gesture.

My main reason for booking this hotel was the price....but if you want to stay near Candolim Beach (walking distance) then you should also surely check Whispering palms and Lemon tree amarante.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view room
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PrashantSarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

We are delighted to know that you chose to stay with us on the occasion of your anniversary and we are glad we were able to make it a happy stay for you. We also thank you for your detailed description about our services and appreciating the hotel.

We would also like to inform you that we have 102 rooms. We also suggest taking the route on the right to the hotel which leads to Candolim beach, it’s hardly 600 meters and takes only a 5 minutes’ walk.

Thank you again for appreciating our hotel, we do look forward to welcoming you back here for an even more delightful stay.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,573)
There are newer reviews for Fortune Acron Regina
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,333 - 1,339 of 1,573 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have just returned from a nightmare 2 week holiday. We booked a 5 star all-inclusive, firstly nobody had any idea of what all-inclusive meant,we had to asked for everything and was told on many occasion that basic things like French frys had to be paid for,so many times they would run out of basic things like a slice of lemon for my tonic water and never had a banana, what five star hotel has these problems. We booked 5 star and all-inclusive so that we could have access to international food, but there was only indian readily available. Unfortunately I went down with food poisoning and was admitted to hospital it was very difficult when I returned to the hotel I was not acknowledge at all. another's guest complained to reception. Eventually a manager saw me and my husband. Ther is no communication between managers and staff, all of the issues raised in our meeting was not passed on to the manger the next day, it was a joke. We tried to make the best of our last few days but it was not good. In terms of cleanliness the rooms smelt and were dusty, the bathroom was tired looking the shower flooded and tiles were cracked. A big issue was out of date food and drinks. The snacks in our room were dated nov 2012 and a beer my husband had was also nov 2012 . There is no entertainment not even any nice music down by the pool,it's a ghost town in the evening. Me and my husband travel all over the world we have never experienced a holiday like this. Never again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katie195500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us during your visit to Goa.

We have noted all your stated points, and have investigated the matter in great detail. However the stated points do not tally with the actual instances as per records.

We would like to state the following facts:

Upon arrival, you showed your AI package to the Asst Manager claiming that since you are on AI package, you are entitled to order anything and everything from the room.
our manager did show you the benefits of the package, clearly mentioning that AI package entitlement would be served in designated areas and defined timings only.

During the course of your stay , you wanted to meet the Manager, and the Manager on Duty immediately met you and you claimed, that you had returned from hospital and “Nobody was enquiring about your health.” We would like to inform you that you did not involve the Hotel during your alleged visit to the hospital; neither did you inform the hotel about the same, prior to the above mentioned meeting Hence there was no information available with the hotel of your visit to the hospital till you informed the manager.

Your request to be called three times a day from the reception to ask about your health, and also to be served everything in the room was also complied with.
Keeping in mind your health conditions as stated by you the hotel upgraded you to a luxury room for the rest of you entire stay without additional charge and all managers, Chef, House Keeper, Officiating General Manager did meet you every day and enquired about your health to which you used to confirm that you were comfortable.
Further whatever you ordered was also served even though it was not part of the package.

Your allegation and comments on the Snack & Beer being expired is not Valid, as both the products have 6 Months Validity and it does state “BEST BEFORE SIX MONTHS”. As you have yourself stated in the review, that the snack and the beer was dated November 2012, (Date of manufacture) the same would be expiring after April 2013 only.
The Imputation that you allegedly had food poisoning, may be due to the fact that you were consuming food outside the hotel also , in Beach side shacks, as evidenced in the review you have given a beach side shack On Trip Advisor During your current visit to Goa


We request to consider the above facts and give us an opportunity again to serve you,
hopefully do look forward to see you back here for a delightful experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 week break here from the UK 10th March - 24th March booked direct by ourselves, we stayed here in 2011 and liked the hotel a lot.

The hotel is down a bit of a back alley and quite a walk from the beach.

This time we did have a couple of issues.

The service is very inconsistent, its like no systems or procedures are followed. Every morning at breakfast we had to get up and ask for tea/coffee then find a spoon or even a cup, the dining room seems to be set up for opening then the tables are not 'fully' re set out do things are missing.
Loads of staff standing around whos main focus is taking your dishes away, nice guys but need some guidance and system training
The chefs are nice guys but i was sick of eggs after a couple of days. So poor breakfast service really, the food is ok but no way 5 star !

The rooms are nice, we were in 3035 which is 3rd floor, nice pool view however, this time the complimentarys must be on ration, no slippers ever, no comb, no toothbrush sets, basic toiletries
Shower blocked up everyday due to the drain being blocked, this was sorted by reception i must add after i couldnt take the flood anymore
The TV was half tuned with loads of the first channels not tuned in.
The curtains kept coming off the rail, i fixed them myself everyday, no one from the hotel seemed to notice.
The room was very very dusty, i could even see dust lining the walls, housekeeping need hoovers for the dust.
The rooms are comfortable but need to be cleaner,
We had a huge beautiful bed which was very comforable but the sheet didnt fit and every morning i woke up on the mattress - yuk (the bed was never made very well, just the quilt pulled over really)

We had one problem with someone coming into our room at 6.40am on morning, i was woken up with men talking at the door with the door open, luckily the chain was on. I rang reception and the rubbbish male reveptionist just brushed it off saying it would have been housekeeping ????
After going crazy....
I spoke to the manager and he checked to cctv, it was new russian guests looking for there room upon arrival ? At 6.40am someone should have taken them to their room. I was from then on concermed that their key opened our door, last time we stayed 2 years ago we did get out of the lift one day and went to the wrong room and our key opened another door ? Sort this out fortune !
Another night we had randoms knocking at our door at 12 midnight.
Our room key broke every day and we constantly had to get this fixed at reception, a right chore this after we got to the room hot and sweaty ! On one occasion it was decided our lock must be broken so maintenece came up at 11.38pm !

The pool is lovely, nice beds and towels etc,

Nice hotel but not for us again, to many things are letting it down which are mainly lack of common sense, things not taken seriously when there is an issue and sub standard service for 5 star.

The wifi is also very very expensive.

Id like to lastly add thst tge luggage boys are very good/nice and attentive as were Riya and Poonam on reception, lovely girls and very helpful so credit where credit is due. Thank you x

Value for money really lacks here given the price we paid for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hairdresser85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us here during your recent visit to Goa.

We would like to thank you for staying with us the second time and for bringing to our notice your detailed observations during your stay. We do sincerely regret that you faced some inconveniences in breakfast service and in housekeeping . We have noted all your points and have taken appropriate measures.We also thank you for complementing our staff, and have passed on your kind comments to them.

Thanking you again for your observations, we welcome you back here and request you , to give us an opportunity to provide a more delightful experience of our hospitality.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks B&B at the Fortune Select. It was our second visit and once again we had a wonderful time at this hotel. We were allocated a room at the back of the hotel when we arrived, not much of a view, but within 3 days we were offered a room with a huge balcony overlooking the pool. I certainly wasn't going to complain.
Breakfast was always good with a wide selection of English food, and a super selection of Indian food. Nothing better than a mushroom, onion, cheese omlette followed by a bowl of sambarh and an idli or a masalla dosa. Coffee and tea were always on tap and was served as soon as requested.
The grand piano in the lobby was played during breakfast and this was a nice touch.
Can't comment on the pool because me and the wife are not pool lovers, but a short walk, ten minutes at the most, and you are on Candolim beach with all the shacks, bars and restaurants you could wish for.
My special thanks to Gagan, Miguel, Suresh and Harri for looking after us so well and a special thankyou to Aaron and Sushil who looked after us so superbly well at breakfast.
Would I recomend this hotel ----- Definately
Would I go again ----- Definately.

Room Tip: room 2304 overlooks the pool and has a super balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brynn644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your recent stay with us at Fortune Select Regina during your visit to Goa.

We are delighted that this was your second visit and this time also we were able to make your stay a wonderful one. We are glad that you appreciated our services especially our breakfast and staff.

Your generous compliments have been passed on to the staff.

We also thank you for recommending us and do look forward to welcoming you back here, at Fortune Select Regina for an even more memorable experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have just spent 5 nights at this hotel after an exciting week on a 'golden triangle' tour. We would recommend it for a relaxing break in beautiful surroundings. All the staff were very attentive and friendly. We had Room 2014 which is on the first floor with a view of the pool and it was delightful. We would definitely return. If you are looking for a quiet, clean and well maintained hotel you can't go wrong here. We didn't go on any tours/trips as we were exhausted from our tour the week before, it was perfect for just lazing by the pool.

Room Tip: Corner rooms have a larger balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Dear Guest,


Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

We are pleased to know that you had a delightful stay with us here. Thank you for appreciating our services and hotel. We are glad that you found our service to be excellent and we have passed on your generous complements to the staff.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to Fortune Select Regina, Goa for an even more memorable experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

I went with my family and stayed for a couple of days. There is nothing great to talk about. The approach road to the hotel is terrible. I did not see any one meeting you with a greet at reception. The food was average. Worst part was cleanliness in my room. There was always sand in my room. Considering that Goa is for tourism, they do not have a travel desk. You are left at the mercy of outside travel vendors.

This was not a 5 star hotel. Please avoide.

Only good thing about the hotel is not too far from candolim beach.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sameermota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on your stay with us here during your recent visit to Goa.

We regret that your stay did not match your expectations. We would like to inform you that we do have a travel desk just near the front desk which is operational at all time. It dose surprise us to know that our food & cleanliness was not meeting your expectations, as we have been appreciated by many of our guest for our food quality and hygiene, which can be seen in previous guest reviews.

However we do sincerely regret for the inconvenience you faced, and would like to welcome you back here and give us an opportunity to let you experience our hospitality again.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

a bit far away from the beach and the main markets - yet easily accessable.

rooms are very nice - have stayed in this hotel twice in the last 2 years and have not been disappointed.

the staff is extremely courteous and will help in every possible way.

the food lives up to the ITC standards

highly recommended - if you want to stay a bit away from the beach - yet enjoy goa

Room Tip: the delux rooms are better than the standard rooms
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vishig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthew-Uthup, General Manager at Fortune Acron Regina, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2013

Thank You for your review on your recent stay with us at Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

We are delighted that you choose our hotel for your second stay and that we were again able to make it a pleasant experience for you. Thank You for appreciating our Services. We have passed on your generous comments to the staff who are happy to receive the same.

We do thank You for recommending us and do look forward to welcoming you back at Fortune Select Regina, Goa for an even more memorable experience.

Regards,

Matthew Roby Uthup,
General Manager,
Fortune Select Regina, Goa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.5 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Goa Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
Golden Tulip Goa Candolim
#10 of 66 in Candolim
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lemon Tree Amarante Beach Resort, Goa
0.3 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
3.0 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fortune Acron Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fortune Acron Regina

Address: Off Fort Aguada Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Candolim
#1 Spa Hotel in Candolim
#6 Family Hotel in Candolim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $85 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fortune Acron Regina 4.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a quiet, peaceful location in this colorful and vibrant city is Fortune Select Regina, a contemporary upscale full service luxury Goan Portuguese resort with 102 rooms and suites, located off the main road to Fort Aguada in Candolim, the leisure Riviera of Goa. The hotel is just a short walk from the inviting beaches of North Goa and 45 minute drive from the international airport at Dabolim. Overlooking the verdant rice fields and hills with wide, panoramic views to its east including the main Candolim Church, it is a place where vibrant energy blends with comfortable architecture, offering an ideal destination for a memorable holiday or a perfect business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Fortune Acron Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fortune Select Regina Hotel Candolim
Fortune Acron Regina Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing