We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (831)
Filter reviews
831 results
Traveler rating
298
288
128
54
63
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
288
128
54
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews courtyard room candolim beach north goa direct access to beach pool attendant private beach pool bar swimming pool is small calamari shack restaurant staff the ground floor special mention breakfast spread beach side nice property indian food live music
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 831 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staff is very warm, helpful and courteous.... Perfect location....walking distance to the beach.. Great food prepared by the chef as per our liking. Overall a great place to spend a family holiday with kids..

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Guide55998858496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa-O-Hotel, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guide55998858496,
Thank you for your review.
Happy to note that your family vacation was fun.
Look forward to seeing you all again very soon.

Warm regards,
Carmo & The Team O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We were a family of 23 people. Good service and food. Good fun. The staff is prompt. The kids had a great time in the pool and at the beach. Clean beach was an added bonus. Thank you O for a fun filled holiday.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank priti s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa-O-Hotel, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear priti s,
Greetings and thank you for your patronage.
The team too enjoyed looking after you. Happy to know that all of you went back with cherished moments.
Do plan another family fun trip soon with us.......till then......

Warm regards,
Carmo & The Team O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

There are 2 aspects to The O Hotel in Candolim, the good bits and the rest!

The good bits. Rooms are adequate, comfortable and clean if a bit Spartan. AC is good and our king size bed was comfortable. Location is very good, set close to a great beach with lots of beach shacks nearby. The linear hotel plot is at right angles to the main street in Candolim, within easy walking distance of lots of shops, restaurants, bars and night life.

The rest.
The hotel entrance is very unimpressive from the main street, blink and you'll miss it unless you use the casino as a landmark. With a few exceptions, the building style is mediocre, think Days Inn.

Non-Asian breakfast was uninspired with little daily variety. Considering the local availability of fresh fruit, bananas and melon were the only choices. Some other fruits were on display but not for guest consumption. Some peeled items were under cling film and not chilled, not good given the climate and insects. Coffee was thin and tasteless, the only coffee choices were yes & no thanks.

Staff. Very variable. Some couldn't do enough for guests but more senior grades seemed aloof and rather inhospitable, especially on the front desk.

The hotel bar saw few customers during our stay.

The area between the gardens and the beach is a bit grim, going past open toilets, a kitchen and the Boca Loca restaurant which pumps out over-amplified electronic music. Next beach plot is Calamari which isn't part of The O. Calamari is busy every night, Boca Loca is almost deserted. Not hard to see why that should be.

Overall, The O Hotel is OK as a base for a stay in Candolim. It is no more than 3 star but is well situated. We felt that with some effort, investment and imagination, it could be so much better. Money spent by guests off-site is lost income to the owners.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank redhot-chillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa-O-Hotel, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear redhot-chillis,

Greetings and thank you for writing your review on your experience here at The O Resort. I have read all your comments and yes i am not very pleased about it.
Thank you for appreciating our Housekeeping Team. Our rooms are well furnished with all amenities in place and more. All our rooms have bath tubs and top class fittings.
On other points - yes sometimes our entrance is missed by guests. Our building style is very Balinese with a lot of water bodies.
Our breakfast dishes change everyday. Since you stayed for a fortnight there may have been moments when you felt the spread was the same. Our wait staff is very courteous and accommodating towards all our long stays.
The entire team overall is a seasoned one and happy to be of service to all.
The reason for hotel guests to use off site bar and dining facilities is because they get to meet their friends staying in other hotels, the entertainment and the thrill of exploring the vicinity. well now the hotel is full with expats and locals and the pool bar is always busy.
I take your feedback on the Boca Loca surroundings and will have it spruced up.
Please do think of us when you planning to visit Goa again, as you will see from a lot of TUI guests.

Warm regards,

Carmo & The Team O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

It's been 30 mins I have checked into this hotel and I am already so disappointed. If you want to pay 12k for a room with a bed and a bathroom with hardly any amenities you have come to the right place. They don't even have 2 chairs in a twin sharing room for people to sit. The balcony is very tiny overlooking Santana Resort which is priced at almost half of that of O hotel. Obviously I didn't realize that we were paying a premium for such an amazing view. The hotel has a pool but it's  extremely small. Now let's come to the policies of the hotel, if you lose your room key a charge of RS 500 will be applicable. I have stayed in multiple hotel this is the first time I've come across such a policy. The in room dining states the management has the rights to change the contents with prior notice…… what does that even mean?? The only good thing which I have come across is the fact that the bathroom has a tub and that's about it. The only thing I am looking forward to now is the breakfast and check out. Please rethink before you book this place.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sankha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa-O-Hotel, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Sankha G,

I am really surprised that you chose to continue with this review even after having been personally met immediately after this broadcast to allay your concerns.
You have had a fabulous stay with us and we are happy about that.
Well to address your points sequence wise please note 1) Your check-in was prompt and you were allotted room # 809. 2) All our rooms have a writing table chair and a father chair, which according to us is adequate sitting furniture for a room. Upon request we are willing to put in one extra chair , as at times the same is requested by guests.
3) Your booking was via Booking.com, a very reputed portal with accurate information. 4) All 5 Star hotels are mandated to have a swimming pool and ours is well liked by all our guests. 5) All hotels have in house policies which are to be followed by all guests, and you sign your acceptance and adherence to the same at the time of checking in.
We take our in house policies very seriously and we do not like to lose or see our equipment or property getting damaged or mis-used under the context of providing service. 6) Yes our menu listings can be changed.

Well alls well that ends well and we are glad that you had a nice time with us at the end of your stay and we sure will be happy to serve you again.

Warm regards,

Carmo Barretto

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2018 via mobile

The hotel is reasonable and comfortable .
The most important thing I felt was the warmth of the staff which made our stay very comfortable ...
The food was great and was adapted to the group's taste .
Centrally located ...
The access to beach from the hotel is a great advantage
The whole group had a memorable stay and a successful business meeting

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled on business
1  Thank Stay800628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa-O-Hotel, General Manager at The O Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Stay800628,

Thank you for your review.
The team was delighted to have your group with us......
We are happy to note that all aspects of your stay went fine and you have carried happy memories with you.
We look forward to receiving you again with your family and friends......

Till then.....
Warm regards,
Carmo & The Team O

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews