We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIDDEN LITTLE GEM AND A LOVELY RELAXING STAY”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Booked this through reading the previous reviews on trip advisor. As we usually stay in Baga at Colonia Santa Maria.q But much preferred our stay here at Bougainvillea.Everything everybody has all ready said is true. It was just perfect. Room was good size very clean and had the added little touches of fresh flowers. In the bedroom you had a locked drawer in the wardrobe with 2 added locked doors which I thought was a good idea. Felt our things were kept safe . Then there was security on the door in the evening so you felt secure at all times. The bedding And towels were spotless ,bathroom was good size always hot water. Breakfast was really good plenty of choice and very pleasant sitting in the garden. Lourenco and his staff couldn't do enough for you thought the stay. Used Mario the taxi driver who was lovely and felt safe with him and his driving.
It was just a short walk through a residential street to the beach road. Would recommend to walk round the fort . And the other side of the fort and lighthouse.
Visited some lovely restaurants Victors ( have to pre book and pre order food as it's brought in fresh for that evening and there are only 4 tables).
We ate at the Stone house which is near to the guest house as is the Italian Tuscany Gardens both were good. We had meals at Angaara which we found ourselves , and Inferno's both on Candolim main beach road. Mario recomennded Soumyen's Kitchen. Chef has worked on cruise ships and comes out to chat with you at the end of the evening. Excellent. We went to Baga as we usually stay there and Jamie's was as good as ever. East meets west has moved its right down the road by the river, was over priced and wouldn't go back. Bon appetite which was local to guest house dissappointing starters and mains all came out together. Susie Lobo's at Calangute was like sitting in a cattle shed in a cattle market. We were recomended to the Fishermans Grove but we went to the wrong one. One is next to the Highland apartments but we went to the wrong one further up the road, plastic table tables and chairs was fantastic. We did our usually trip to the Greek restaurant.very busy and loud. Food wasn't hot. Wouldn't rush back.
We booked the overnight trip to Palolem South Goa with John's boat tours. Staying in a beach hut. Information not exactly correct as you don't get a front facing hut looking at the sea you get one set back. Taxi driver was mental overtaking 3 cars at a time very dangerous. Did not feel safe.
Loved staying at this guest house staff couldn't do enough for you would recommend and will stay again. Loved every moment. Thank you for a fantastic holiday everything you did and recommendations . Thank you to everyone at Bougainvillea.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank tobyHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

256 - 262 of 508 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

In March last year my wife and dearest friend Lorna along with myself had the wonderful experience of staying here for the first time.

My review at the time stated that though we'd visited Goa more than twenty times over the previous twenty two years, we'd never found a more peaceful , friendly and hospitable place to stay.

We were extremely excited and pleased that we managed to secure rooms for three weeks in December last as we realise just how much this little Eden must be in demand. We even managed to stay in the very same rooms as before, which we'd asked for, if possible, which were wonderful.

It was like coming home to see family, nothing had changed. Lourenco, Freddie and Agnello were there to greet us like extended family. We were equally delighted to see them.
Sadly a couple of staff had since retired, but were replaced by a couple of very likeable newcomers. We slotted right in as before, like we'd hardly been away for nine months.

My sister who lives in Germany was linking up with me the next day and was also staying here for her first time. She has travelled the world extensively and has been fortunate enough to have always stayed in the finest hotels. But that didn't deter me when I arranged her stay here. I know that fine hotels can give you luxury and the best service but what they lack is the homely , personal touch that one receives here at Bougainvillia. Indeed she was not disappointed. Lourenco arranged Peter, a friendly careful taxi driver neighbour,to pick her up at the airport .
She enjoyed her every minute of her stay, here as we all did.
I introduced her to Freddie's tasty masala omelettes and masala tea, which she, like myself, enjoyed for breakfast.
But whatever Freddie cooks for you is superb. Actually Lourenco himself, who is not too proud to lend a hand in the kitchen at times, cooks a mean masala omelette himself. Freddie watch out....

So what can I add that I haven't said already in my review in March 2013 , titled " A little Eden" not a lot, only that, there's nothing broke, so nothing to fix. It was in every way as pleasurable stay as before. Sadly over too soon. Warmth hospitable greeting every day, utmost cleanliness of rooms and guesthouse completely. Peaceful and quiet.
Attentive service at all times. Food delicious and genuine friendly smiles at all times.

Thank you Lourenco, Freddie, Agnello and others, who's names escape me just now, for making our stay so delightful.
I and I'm sure I can speak on behalf of the others in my company then, enjoyed our stay tremendously and will, God willing, hopefully return yet again.

Jules and Ros D'Silva

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank lerenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Its was good experince with above Guest House in Goa with family. Good Staff & good service.

Having read all the reviews about the Bougainvillea the reality did not fall short of expectation. staff worked tirelessly to make our stay as comfortable as possible nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast which is served in the garden was excellent with lots of choice from toast and Bread

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 786Anil1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner & I travelled out to Candolim on the 16th November '13 for three weeks, and it was our pleasure to be staying yet again at the Bougainvillea Guest House. We arrived fairly early on the Sunday morning having been met at the airport by the ever smiling Mario, and were greeted as old friends by Freddie & Agnelo who kindly sat us in the restaurant area and offered us fresh juice, tea & warm Goan bread, allowing us to relax after our rather long journey. Lourenco arrived shortly after this and again we were greeted as if we were members of his family. Our holiday had begun, we were back! The following week my cousin flew out to join us, and this being her first Goan experience she didn't know what to expect. I think it took about 3 days for her to say "when I come back the next time...."
I can honestly say that this is probably one of the best accommodations I have ever stayed in, anywhere. From the moment you arrive until the day you leave Lourenco, Freddie & ALL the team at the Bougainvillea Guest House do their upmost to make you feel comfortable and at home, nothing is too much trouble, so you can relax and make the most of your stay.
We would like to thank the whole "Bougainvillea family" for everything, (Freddie...your Marsala Omelette’s are the best!) and we can hardly wait to see you all again in 2015!

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful, clean, A/C & fridge.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flyingfish66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Have to say this is one of the nicest places we have ever stayed in, we travelled with friends who stayed here before and now know why they return again and again, nothing is too much trouble for Laurenco and his family, not to mention Freddies wonderful breakfasts! Rooms were spotless with the comfiest beds too, and ask to have laundry fine all came back washed and ironed for just a couple of £, Thank you all of you for the best holiday ever, can't wait to see you all again next November

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank fiona118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Having read all the reviews about the Bougainvillea the reality did not fall short of expectation. Lourenco and all his staff worked tirelessly to make our stay as comfortable as possible nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast which is served in the garden was excellent with lots of choice from toast and Goan bread, eggs cooked in various ways, fruit and bacon and egg. Rooms are clean and comfortable with a well stocked refrigerator.
We will definitely be making a return visit.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thewoolies33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Mario and his team are indeed a pleasant surprise when you stay at Bougainvillea. From the morning breakfast to the dinner, the food was great. Loved the way property has been maintained. My husband is now a fan of chef's seafood...would definitely come back!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vidhugoyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Guest House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Guest House Goa

Address: 83C Sinquerim Bardez, Candolim, Bardez 403519, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#1 Family Hotel in Candolim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillea Guest House Goa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa is built with a Portuguese colonial mansion in mind, the perfect luxury for your holiday. This idyllic location is one of North Goa's very much sought after holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bougainvillea Guest House Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Hotel Candolim
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing