We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was home!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Ranked #2 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

This guest house is located about 30 minutes out of town/ airport. However the area is very beautiful. I felt right at home. I reserved the best room in the house and was not disappointed. The top floor apartment has wonderful views and a large terrace. There is AC in both the spacious living room and bedroom. Both rooms have a TV. Bed was excellent quality and everything was so clean.
The best part of the stay was the personal attention of Lorenzo, Freddie and the rest of the staff. I appreciated that through Lorenzo we could have trustworthy taxi drivers. 2 Ladies on our first night out, driver Mario made sure we go to our restaurant safely and was always looking out for us. The following days driver George also went beyond what is expected to accommodate us. Both drivers were very pleasant.
Lorenzo also helped me out when I needed to exchange money.
The short walk to the beach is pleasant, the beach is beautiful and clean. Close by there are restaurants and shops. Excellent location.
I agree with the other reviewers that the atmosphere is such that you connect with other travelers. On the 2nd nite we went out for dinner with a fellow guest and enjoyed wonderful company. We had met while hovering around the wireless modem downstairs.
Lorenzo promised he would upgrade the wireless internet set up so that it would also reach to the higher floors.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jullisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (508)
There are newer reviews for Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

304 - 310 of 508 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to relax im goa, spacious rooms with a/c and hot shower, very clean, fresh flowers, hammock on balcony, friendly and helpful staff, delicious breakfast in the garden. The owner also arranged a trip to hampi for us by a private a/c cab for a reasonable price!! Great stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dd206cc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Best place i have stayed in Goa, this was my 6 time and if i was to go back again i would stay here again.
Laurenco, Freddie and all the staff made us feel at home.
Acccomodation was so clean and gardens were fantastic.
Love the breakfast the best ever to set you up for the day.

Thankyou for a great holiday

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leannf f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

you feel welcome as soon as you interact with Lorenzo the person who owns this guest house. He comes with excellent credentials in the hospitality industry with international exposure, so he understands your need. The building is beautiful, green everywhere, with large airy rooms, try the penthouse. All rooms are actually two rooms, both large, so you can put extra beds for the kids there. The guest house is located in the aguada fort right next the taj fort aguada, a 3mins walk from a lovely beach with water sports. You climb the other side of the hill and you see breathtaking views of the arabian sea.Down the road are a million places to eat, most of them rated very high on trip advisor.
Lorenzo thinks and arranges everything you require, a scooter to run around, a must in goa or car if you cant ride.
Freddy is in charge of the kitchen, he works magic on the goan and other dishes, and never reveals his recipes :) A great food experiece if you want to taste authentic goan home made food, breakfast is daily, for other meals you need to book in advance as they pick up fresh food from the market everyday.
Yes he has wi-fi if you want to be connected, but for that why go to goa ?
If you want a perfect getaway, this is it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JOEGUNN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

What can I say that I havn't said before!!! We had another great time (3rd visit). Laurenco, Freddie and the staff made us feel at home . We wanted a chillaxing holiday and that is what we got. This time we had the Penthouse and it was Fab!! We spent many hours just relaxing on the balcony. One of the many things we like about Bougainvillea is that all the guests chat to one another which we don't have in large hotels. We stayed in The Taj Mahal in Mumbai for 4 days and only the staff spoke. We feel more comfortable in Bougainvillea. Once again thank you all for our great holiday, we'll be back!! Also would like to thank AG Emporium for making my husband's Kilt Buckle which has been greatly admired, also for my beautiful rings. Freddie, everyone loves your curry!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are great!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riwilson48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have been to Goa several times. This time, we wanted to go to a place that would be away from the crowds, yet be accessible enough to all the spots. We chose to stay in Candolim, especially because the beach is so good. We finally froze on Bougainvillea after a lot of research.

Lourenco, the owner, was very prompt in confirming the availability and booking. Bougainvillea is located on a small lane off the main fort road, close to Kingfisher Villa and the Taj property. Lourenco welcome us on arrival and led us into a beautiful room on the ground floor. The room itself was spacious and neatly done. The bonus was the hammock, where we spent hours gazing into the sky.

There are 2 specific things that need to be called out for special praise - 1> The bed. Lourenco is very proud about the thick mattress and I can see why. 2> The bathroom. I have never seen a cleaner bathroom, not even in the super star hotels. Kudos to the staff that maintains the bathroom so spotless.

The breakfast on offer is sufficient. Freddie is a charming chef and always on hand to prepare what you ask. The meals are provided on prior request only. We did have delicious meals at Santa Lucia, a restaurant owned by Lourenco's sister.

We rented a bike and could cover all the places that we wanted to. Lourenco was specially helpful in pointing out some exquisite beaches. Goa is a delightful place for foodies. You can explore so many cuisines, none more so than authentic Goan sea food specialties. It is a great street shopping place as well. The only annoying thing is the ever increasing number of noisy and rude tourists.

This was one of our best vacations and I would like to thank Lourenco and his team. Definitely a place I would love to return. We were, in fact in a dilemma, whether to put in a review or not. Selfish as it may sound, I would not want this little gem ruined by the crowds.

Room Tip: Talk to the owner for anything that you need. It will be solved.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samarth U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our second stay at the Bougainvillea, this time for three weeks, and apart from the aspects mentioned in the title of this review, little has changed - the guest house is beautifully designed and furnished, the standard of cleanliness always excellent, the hospitality overwhelming: when we arrived at 5 a.m. Lourenco, the owner of the guest house, was waiting to welcome us! There's a new path through the garden to the restaurant area where Freddie and Agnello make great breakfasts and - by request - delicious dinners (we had two, one on our wedding anniversary, for which we were treated like royalty). Our room - well, actually, it's a suite - was on the cooler side of the house, which in view of the outside temperatures was very welcome (we didn't need to use the air conditioning), and it contained the usual facilities including a safe drawer and a large and well-stocked fridge with all sorts of drinks at reasonable prices. Fresh lilies perfumed the air every day, we slept well and long in our comfortable bed. Everything about the Bougainvillea is excellent, but the aspect most appreciated by the guests is the people who work here, from Lourenco, the owner, with his delightful family, to the cleaning and kitchen staff. Nothing is too much trouble, there is always time for a chat, for advice on where to go and which route to take, for exchanging recipes; there are offers of lifts, of getting things for you, of 'refuelling' your phone card for you. While we were the a young woman had a nasty scooter accident; she was taken to hospital, and when she returned home to Mumbai, Lourenco contacted her to see how she was getting on. Here, you are a valued guest and part of a big (and growing) family. Next year, God willing, FOUR weeks...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smallworld44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
1.4 mi away
Seashell Beach Suites
Seashell Beach Suites
#1 of 66 in Candolim
258 reviews
0.8 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,707 reviews
1.0 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Goa Marriott Resort & Spa
5.0 mi away
Acron Waterfront Resort
1.1 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#4 of 66 in Candolim
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bougainvillea Guest House Goa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bougainvillea Guest House Goa

Address: 83C Sinquerim Bardez, Candolim, Bardez 403519, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Candolim
#1 Family Hotel in Candolim
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
#4 Best Value Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $58 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bougainvillea Guest House Goa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa is built with a Portuguese colonial mansion in mind, the perfect luxury for your holiday. This idyllic location is one of North Goa's very much sought after holiday destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Expedia and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bougainvillea Guest House Goa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Hotel Candolim
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing