We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple/clean no frills”
Review of Melodious Waves

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Melodious Waves
Ranked #45 of 87 Candolim B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have just returned from our second holiday in Candolim.
I am trying not to be too unfriendly to the Melodious Waves.
The hotel is clean but do not expect any frills.
You eat breakfast in the garden which is great,
and it is only a very short walk to the beach, unfortunately to get to the beach you have go via the main road or use a path via Palm and Sands restaurant,
they generally allow you to pass through it,
we generally had a drink there to watch the sunset.
Gardens are well maintained, rooms are clean but with only general essentials, Television/refrigerator etc are not included in the room.
Lack of power sockets: Only one power socket bedroom & one in Bathroom.
No Lunch/Dinner facility in hotel, However, restaurants are nearby.
We stayed for 3 days and probably that was long enough, rooms are a bit dreary and just about functional.
So in a nutshell, if you are looking for budget accommodation in a relatively peaceful setting,
with clean no frill accommodation and don't want to spend time in your room this may be the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank neilgt4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (26)
There are newer reviews for Melodious Waves
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 26 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

So, you're on a budget holiday and you do not plan to spend too much time in the room (except to crash at night of course) coz you're in GOA to explore beaches, visit churches, laze around in shacks & party at night!! Yet, you prefer a place that is a little away from the over crowded Calangute-Baga stretch. Then, this is the place you are looking for!!

Let's get some things straight - basic accommodation, neat and tidy, good continental breakfast and that's about it. You get what you pay for. Yet, this small holiday home at one end of North Goa in Sinquerim wins your heart. The owner is very polite and courteous and is happy to have a casual chat with you, making you feel at home. This rubs off on the staff too, who do their best to make your stay pleasant. The place is spotless and very well maintained leaving you with almost nothing to complaint about. To top it off, the serene Sinquerim beach is just a minute's walk from Melodious Waves, making it a top-choice beach stay.

In a nutshell, if you are looking for budget accommodation in a relatively peaceful setting, contarary to the energy and vibe one would usually associate North Goa with, this one's worth your money. Stay here and you'll know why it's called "Melodious Waves".

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vagab0nd4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Just back from candolim after another great 2 weeks melodious waves is a lovely little hotel/apts very courteous staff and a friendly owner rooms maybe a little tired but are cleaned on a daily basis breakfast gives you a good choice of eggs but are more than adequate and eaten in a lovely garden with a five minute stroll to the quiet part of the beach highly recommended for anyone who requires the basics for a holiday

Room Tip: Make sure you state exactly what you require and read the reviews
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daveandsue490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Pros: It is very simple and clean hotel. Just located near to beach but not like you have open the door and sea is visible. You have to walk around 200 meters for the beach.

There are two paths for the beach:
1. Common public path which is safe in day light but avoid in Night time as no lights on the route. Path is around 2 feet wide planted with trees and small plants including cactus, so be cautious if you are bare footed.
2. A path via Palm and Sands restaurant, they generally allow you to pass through it, if they say anything, just asked them we have to go to restaurant. This path is very safe.
Garden is well maintained, rooms are clean with only general essentials. Even Television is not included in the room so forget about Electric kettle, refrigerator etc. Staff is polite/helpful, but they cannot do anything beyond rules.

Cons: Television and Refrigerator is provided in chargeable basis, so beware if they have mentioned in the hotel/room amenities. Televison @ Rs.150/day, Referigerator @ Rs.160/day.
Their rules are as strict as in jail, You will be charged if you stain their bed sheets. You cannot eat anything in room. No room service available.

Intercom is not available, even they will also not provide any service if you call from your cellphone. For any kind of requirement you have to reach reception, regardless of any floor. We had infant with us, so we suffered a lot. However, we had brought induction stove, so we boiled milk/made tea/Maggie @ room. But if anything went wrong with their socket, it is chargeable again.

Lack of power socket: Only one power socket @ Bathroom and one @ Room. If you have put Television, room socket is utilized. So I have purchased multi-plug of my own to charge mobile/camera battery.

Lack of light @ Night in room: They have only installed 1 CFL and 1 night light in room.

Limited Breakfast: They only provide two slices of bread+Butter+Jam+ Tea /Coffee + around 100 ML juice per person. Anything extra required from above is chargeable.

No Lunch/Dinner facility in room. However, restaurants are nearby.
I have posted pictures which will help you to understand more about it.

Room Tip: All rooms are same
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gagandeep_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We have just retuned from a months holiday in Candolim. If you are looking for a good basic hotel try Melodious Waves. The hotel is spotless but do not expect any frills. You eat breakfast in the garden which is great, and it is only a very short walk to the beach. The staff are all very
helpfull and cannot do enough for you. Thanks guys.. We have stayed at this hotel before and if we travel to Candolim in the future will stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank Bezza864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I looked at their website (though not a very descriptive one) and called the owner. The owner is very polite and he explained everything in detail which was very much true. I mailed the 50% amount via cheque and booked the hotel for 3 days. I had been to Goa and lived in Sinqerim and Calangute so I longed to visit Sinqerim and was searching for a little and quiet place near the beach. This hotel/guest house is near the Marquis Beach Resort. Its a small but very tidy place. The food was not very elaborate but whatever they made was very delicious. The rent was also not that high. I paid Rs. 1500 per room. The hotel is about 200 steps from the beach. The rooms are small and the place is not luxurious but for Rs 1000/1500 its a very decent place. The staff is very hospitable and friendly and ready to help. The food and bar prices are very genuine. You'll definitely not get attention from valets and servants but it is a very serene place and you'll find very close to nature. There are many options for breakfast, lunch and dinner near the place. It has a fine garden and you can find trees like cheeko, banana, guava, sitaphal etc. there. I had a great stay at this place. Its good for the people looking for quiet, serene, budget (still neat and tidy) place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Sunnyforyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Alle Zimmer sind ruhig und schön in Richtung Innenhof gelegen.
  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lbluemler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.0 mi away
Summerville Beach Resort
Summerville Beach Resort
#53 of 66 in Candolim
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#3 of 66 in Candolim
1,708 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bougainvillea Guest House Goa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
D'souza's Holiday Homes
D'souza's Holiday Homes
#15 of 87 in Candolim
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
PerAvel Beach Holiday Home
#61 of 87 in Candolim
59 reviews
1.0 mi away
Darolina Guest House
Darolina Guest House
#14 of 87 in Candolim
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melodious Waves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melodious Waves

Address: Fort Aguada Road | Near Palm ‘N’ Sand Restaurant, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 87 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range: $31 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melodious Waves 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Melodious Waves reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melodious Waves Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing