We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but no Room Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Banyan Tree Courtyard
Ranked #35 of 66 Hotels in Candolim
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Banyan Tree is situated right on the main road of Candolim which leads to calangute , but its pretty away from the beach. The hotel is well maintained. Its very small, about 10/ 12 rooms. We stayed in Room no 203. The room is quite big and well kept but i felt furniture could have been well aligned. Even teh toilet alignment was a bit wrong and for people who are travelling with kids its a major issue. My daughter would run to the toilet, open teh WC and was about to throw many objects inside it. Its just in front of teh door. The problem with teh room i felt is there is no balcony and since its on the main road so there is no view. Once you enter teh room you are just locked inside. There are two well kept pools and a nice lawn. We paid Rs.1800 where breakfast was not included. Food is pretty costly at this area of the town. I found in South goa food in shacks and other restaurants are much cheaper and good. There are lot of shops nearby Banyan tree where one can go and have food, but all are of teh same price range. One disadvantage of teh hotel is they dont have room service. Even if they serve food after lot of requests they would come and say pls dont spoil bedsheets. Dont eat on the bed , etc etc. They have a karaoke evening every sat / fri and its very enjoyable. I think with a balcony and proper furniture alignment with good room service can make teh hotel much better.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arunima2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 200 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2013

Banyan Tree Courtyard is a nice and a cozy hotel located in the heart of Candolim. The rooms are well maintained and offer a relaxed and a comfortable stay. The hotel staff is also friendly. For swimming lovers there are 2(one for kids and one for adults) well kept swimming pools. The location of the hotel is really a plus point as it is located at a walking distance from Candolim market and Candolim beach and yet it is away from the crowded streets. Since it is located on the main road hence cabs and buses are easily available just outside the hotel.
The only drawback is the hotel kitchen which is not functional at all times. Though we were in Goa during Christmas which happens to be the peak tourist season, still many of the items mentioned in the menu were not available and sometimes the kitchen was altogether closed. But having said that, it is necessary to add that the quality of the food which was served was really good.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TulikaMunshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Strong & fast wifi! Stayed alone in Rs1600 room. One of the managers is a woman, so felt safer. Safe, clean, did have lots of mosquitoes, but it's India... Room was on the small side compared to others in price range in the area. Also breakfast not included, but they have parathas. Good location, but unfortunately there's a huge construction right across the street. So it's a bit loud at breakfast. Saturday karaoke night was fun w friends. Kitchen staff is kind of slow. I ordered cheese toast, and he said it would take more than 30 mins bc there was another order.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shilpams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

hotel management has put excellent photos online but in reality its a complete disappointment.
we have stayed there for 3 nights -4 days.
we have taken a package where 1st day was planned by hotel authorities which included south Goa tour. it was a complete flop show. the authorities told us there is a bus which is to be shared with other 25 people from near by hotels. the crowd was very bad. it was more like a pilgrimage as it had only temples/churches and few beaches..

we had dinner at hotel itself. The service was extremely poor and it took them min half an hour to serve .
Do not fall for it !!
not recommended at all .

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DhanuP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanyanTreeCourtyard, General Manager at Banyan Tree Courtyard, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

We apologize for the inconvenience caused by the sight seeing trip..... we have taken up the matter up with the travel agency...but as you should be aware that we have no control of type, culture, backgrounds of guests traveling with you in the coach.. Its very clear in the package details that the sight seeing is by coach and obviously you will have different types of people traveling with you.
The 2nd issue of delay in serving... please expect 20-30 minutes time after the order is placed.. as we prepare all dishes fresh and there is no food / curries that are frozen and kept for serving instantly.

We again apologize...and wish to serve you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at banyan tree for two days & We were in the standard room.. its very comfortable and well arranged . Hotel is also very near to food places .The staff was also very helpful(john and other person don't know the name), always ready to help . The hotel rooms were also very clean & well maintained .The food was yummy & hygienic too. we enjoyed a lot our stay here & we also want to come back again.........

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sree4sites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Definitely on my "Favourite Hotel " list! Staff is efficient and friendly. Food is excellent and you can adjust the spiciness accordingly. No beef items are served though. But the sizzlers were good.We basically had a lot of fun. Must visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CasiAngle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

As we entered the premises the Banyan Tree Courtyard (BTC) seemed more of a Family bunglow with limited rooms and a small pool to go with it. but the staff makes this BTC standout completely. Prompt service and always willing to help in anyway they can especially the manager MR. Sitaram.
If you are ok with the small rooms though cozy and comfortable this is a must go for all budget travellers .

Room Tip: Ask for the big rooms which sell out fast as they are much bigger and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EBadani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0 mi away
Casa Candolim
Casa Candolim
#31 of 66 in Candolim
306 reviews
0 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#15 of 66 in Candolim
563 reviews
0 mi away
De Alturas Resort
De Alturas Resort
#21 of 66 in Candolim
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Lui Beach Resort
Lui Beach Resort
#39 of 66 in Candolim
197 reviews
0 mi away
Baywatch Express
Baywatch Express
#17 of 66 in Candolim
99 reviews
0 mi away
Xavier Beach Resort
Xavier Beach Resort
#47 of 66 in Candolim
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Banyan Tree Courtyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banyan Tree Courtyard

Address: 1091 Escrivao Vaddo | Candolim Main Road, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > North Goa District > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Candolim
Price Range: $47 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Banyan Tree Courtyard 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banyan Tree Courtyard Goa, a small hotel in Candolim Goa, offers you the location to give you another reason to celebrate Goa at its fullest. Our 10 rooms hotel is located in Candolim beach area, in North Goa, amidst the beach sands, on the way from Calangute Beach to Fort Aguada. The Candolim beach is just about 6-7 minutes' walk able distance from Banyan Tree Courtyard. The hotel also has a small swimming pool along with a baby pool for your kids to enjoy. All are rooms are basic with amenities such as attached bath, with hot water geyser & air-conditioning.....Decor in all rooms are more or less the same except for little extra area in Deluxe and Superior rooms. Standard room is compact and suitable for short stays & therefore economically priced; whereas Deluxe and Superior rooms have mini refrigerator & safe deposit locker as extra amenities in the room. There are 3 Deluxe rooms and 1 Superior rooms on the 1st floor & 1 Standard, 3 Deluxe and 2 Superior rooms on the ground floor. Banyan Tree Courtyard Goa is rightly located in proximity of some of the best restaurants to tickle your taste buds, and you may find some of the exotic variety dishes cooked by local and professional chefs. Shopping malls / outlets are also located very close to our hotel, so you may get the best bargains for the mementos from Goa you take along for your loved ones. Our courteous staff is always here to welcome you with a smile and make sure your stay is convenient and a fantastic experience. We want the Banyan Tree Courtyard Goa to be your home...A space which is very close to your heart. A wholeheartedly homely experience for sure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Banyan Tree Courtyard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banyan Tree Courtyard Hotel Candolim
Banyan Tree Courtyard Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing