We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Holiday Xmas 2013” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Beach Resort
Ranked #53 of 82 Candolim B&B and Inns
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Amazing Holiday Xmas 2013”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

Just arrived back from a fantastic stay at the Holiday Beach Resort.
Ignore the bad reviews, what you pay for this Hotel it is great!
Arrived at 8am and both rooms were ready to go into that early in the morning, only to realise we had someone elses bag!! We went down to reception and they couldn't have been more helpful making phone calls to the airport and even the owner rang telling someone to find our bag. Ended up with bag back the same day thanks to the staff at HBR.
Rooms & Hotel were spotlessly clean but basic which is all you need, they were cleaned and beds made daily without having to leave your key at reception. Safety Deposit boxes were in a room up the stairs and you had to get reception to undo the room and a cage on the boxes before you could unlock your own so very secure and cost 50 rupees per night, a fridge was 100 rupees per night. Breakfast was basic, orange/pineapple juice, tea/coffee and toast, jam and butter but you could purchase whatever you wanted for a small charge. The restaurant at the hotel (The Curry House) was brilliant and very reasonable.
Perfect location at the bottom of the beach road on the right hand side (just at the side of Silver Sands) we had rooms (108/109) at the back of the hotel with small balconies and it was really quiet but not much of a view but was perfect for a good nights sleep. Fans kept us cool enough at night but air con was available but not sure how much it was. Always had plenty of hot water too!!!
There was always somebody on duty at the entrance/reception 24 hours so was a very safe place.
Hotel also has a swimming pool and loungers at the side.
The hotel bar showed Premier League games and there were many bars and restaurants on your doorstep. Inferno restaurant just up on the right hand side was lovely and we found a fab steak house off the main road in Candolim, just past Newtons supermarket turn up the side of Fishermans Cove and on the right called Foxes for an amazing Beef Stroganoff (190rs) or Steak (360rs for standard (big)or 550rs for huge), doesn't look much but was the best!!!! Another favourite of ours where we went for Xmas dinner was Taste of India opposite Pizza Hut in Calangute, fantastic Chicken Pakora, Chicken Tikka Masala and Naan Bread cheap as chips!!

There is a taxi rank just next door towards the beach and they are very cheap to get around.

We booked this Hotel through Travel Republic and was very cheap!! And flights with Jewel in the Crown (Monarch). Which worked out alot cheaper than a package holiday. Taxi from airport was 900rs to Candolim which was a set price.

Thanks again to all the staff and hopefully see you again very soon.

Room Tip: We had rooms 108 and 109, split by the stairs at the back of the hotel, 109 was slightly bigger with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    8
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
27
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We brought a family holiday with 4 adults and two children under 12, and ended up with three beds in a double room with no room to swing a cat one room had to ask to have its bedding and towels changed and they were still hung where they were left and the sheets were changed from one bed to another. and after a week still had not been cleaned, the hotel made no effort to help and kept saying that it was the bedding agents fault. when they were contacted they knew nothing about the complaint and had no request from the travel agent to move us, a bad holiday made worse by bad customer service. the travel agent stated that their obligation had been met. they stated we had not requested a family room even though they knew we were travelling with children 12 and under!!

Room Tip: Dont stay at his Hotel its down as three star but wouldnt make a good B&B
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Candolim hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile


We arrived here and paid for 2 nights stay. The hotel was rather empty with only a few guests. We had been looking around hotels to stay in and this was probably the 5th hotel we had looked at and the thing that stuck out was its cleanliness. The hallway is clean and shiny as apposed to so many hotels that look grim and grimy.
Also the pool was one of the only ones we saw that was being filtered and this was perfectly clean also. The pool area is very small and couldn't hold more than 10 people at a guess.
The rooms were basic and a bit dated, but for us it was ideal. There are a few restaurants across the road which in the peak season may become loud bars but not for us. It was peaceful. The hotel is literally a 2 minute walk from a nice beach and 5 minute walk up beach road to a more lively area.
I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Candolim. But remember it's not a 4 or 5 star hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank W14RNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Disappointing. Room was a bit dull and depressing, the whole place felt claustrophobic. Always different staff on the reception never knew who worked there or was visiting, To get into the safety deposit boxes you always had to be accompanied with a member of staff to a separate room and if there was no one available you couldn’t get into it!
Our room was so hot and humid, we didn’t have aircon. It was right above the restaurant. Bacony was extremely small not enough room to get 2 chairs side by side.. We hardly slept the first night due to the noise from the restaurant, loud music and basically boiling even with the fan on full blast! Pillows were like bricks no joke, The next day we asked if there were any aircon rooms available, we were willing to pay extra, but was told all were full. Although we were told that one may be available the next day. So we suffered another night in the sweatbox. Only to find the member of staff sorting the room was not there the next day. Couldn’t stand it any longer so we checked out and found another guest house around the corner. On checking out we were told by the manager/owner that aircon rooms were available and that we could have moved before!! No one knows what the other staff are doing and they are not very helpful.
Good points – The pool looked clean although we never used it. Location is good at the end of Candolim beach Road near the beach. Th rooms were clean although there was always a strange smell in the room. Other rooms may have faired better.
I wouldn’t recommend this hotel, there are so many other nicer places

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jurran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice clean room and friendly staff. The pool area is basic but clean, you have to telephone the bar if you want a drink by the pool, the service was very good. Some of the rooms are definately better than others, my father in law's room had it's balcony actually IN the restaurant/bar! This meant that he felt unable to use his balcony. He did moved to a different room as soon as one became available. I would book this hotel again if it was cheap enough, i felt it was pretty good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank susieque123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed here with my wife for three week and found it to be a very good place to stay as long as you know what to expect with regard to basic but clean hotels, having looked at the reviews below i was unsure BUT as soon as we walked in to the moment we checked out it was friendly, clean and good location.
You have to make your own mind up but for value for money this is a real no brainer.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stanleylad1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This place is a really good place to enjoy a fantastic holiday in candolim, yes the rooms are basic and could do with some updating but the staff are friendly and the management will do anything for you. It's location could not be better, it's right at the bottom of beach road. Would certainly book again, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fly_high01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Candolim hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Silver Sands Sunshine
0.0 mi away
Silver Sands Holiday Village
0.1 mi away
360 Degree Beach Retreat
360 Degree Beach Retreat
#40 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Resort
#23 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Almeida Guest House
Casa Almeida Guest House
#29 of 82 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tina's Inn Boutique Guest Rooms
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Beach Resort

Property: Holiday Beach Resort
Address: Candolim Beach, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Holiday Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Beach Hotel Candolim
Holiday Beach Resort Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing