We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honest Opinion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D'souza's Holiday Homes

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
D'souza's Holiday Homes
Ranked #12 of 82 Candolim B&B and Inns
wirral
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Honest Opinion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2014

Hi all , this was our third trip to Candolim over the last four years
staying in guest houses each time.
The standard of this one are (high end) as good as any hotel ,
with modern rooms and spacious balconies, room service is available for simple breakfasts
with menus in each room. a/c t/v and fridges are standard and something we didn't expect but were delighted to discover was the European standard mattresses on the beds .
Our room on the upper floor overlooked what I can only describe as jungle and we spent our early morning rises watching the many species of birds .
Chipmonks, and a troupe of monkeys put in a daily appearance.
The guest house although on the main candolim road is very quiet and relaxing . wi/fi is available
and if you want the use of a pool the luis beach hotel is five minutes walk away , they charge £1.50 per day.
/f

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank davind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for all the good you have said about us. When you look beyond our property, you can only see undeveloped land.That means, there are no concrete buildings but only natural growth which provides habitat to various species of birds(and few monkeys)
We are not the owners of this land in question. So, we cannot do anything about it. And on the other side, further beyond, are the rice fields that people no longer cultivate. And here you will find trees and overgrown grass.
If this was a concrete jungle, finding unique birds would be difficult. Other parts of this village has been devastated by construction projects. I'm myself against destruction of greenery. But we are fortunate to be living in this natural environment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    19
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
58
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Simply yet good guest house if you are looking for a secure base to spend time on the beach or touring in Goa.

Anthony and his team were most accommodating and helpful, and the room was relatively large, with a nice balcony, and one of the cleanest we've had in India. The only downside is that there is no wifi inside the room and you have to ask Anthony to turn it on inside the lobby area. Wifi is slow but works.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Andries D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience of your 3 night stay with us. We do provide WIFI in the room. 2 options are given to the guest, access from the reception or the room(maybe we forgot to mention this to you ??? don't remember well) But 99% of our clients prefer to use it from the reception for obvious reasons. It's not that we do not know how to provide the service in the room. We use internet service provided by the National government. The speed is good to check emails or browsing. We remember you said that you were a computer professional / engineer and being a professional perhaps you always work on high speed internet. Maybe true.
Secondly, to use WIFI, the system needs to be switched on. If there is no user, why keep the system on ? We believe in power conservation. During your stay, you would leave in the morning and return in the evening. Are you saying that we need to keep WIFI on even when people are not using it. When you wanted to use WIFI, we never refused you, but politely obliged. So where lies the problem ?
We know a starred hotel in the vicinity that offers high speed internet access for their guests. But this service is not free and the charges are very high.
At the moment, our focus is to provide very clean accomodation. WIFI is just along the side as we need to move with the technology and help people access the net.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zhuzhou, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

It's along the busy main road. Many restaurants around though the busiest streets are around 15-20 mins by taxi. To the beach you walk in less than 10mins. Family run guest house. Nice rooms and inner yard.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank jmkallio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review sir.
But in reality, it confuses the reader with it's conflicting sides. In order to understand this review better, we need to take a look at the writer's background story, his behaviour pattern and the circumstances.
You booked your holiday with us as the sole occupant of the room for 6 nights and later extended it by another day. We were happy, indeed ! So you stayed with us for a total of 7 nights.
Incident 1: On the second day of your holiday, you came to us in the evening to report loss of room key. At this moment, we did not notice any external signs of discomfort or regrets. You said that you lost the room key and some cash during your swimming in the sea. This means, you were swimming in the Arabian sea with room key and cash on (although we have a "safe" in the room itself). It looked like not a serious but a routine incident. We handed our duplicate keys to you on the spot. But we were tensed as we had to fabricate new keys which would result in loss of our precious time(driving to the city). It was extra trouble for us to go and get the new key made, especially for you ! We put forth our best convincing methods to explain to the keymaker, how you lost the key. Unfortunately, he was not ready to buy your sad story and we had to pay him for having the new keys made. He refused to get them made "free of cost". Naturally, we had to pass on the key charges on to you. Maybe this has annoyed you. However, my friend, the new keys do not come, for " free" ! But see, we had no other alternative. You should dislike the Keymaker and not us. What a justice ! Anyway, the new keys were given to you promptly the following day. As a precaution, we adviced you to keep the room key with us whenever you went out. But you decided not to do so. The notice in the room also tells the guest that the room keys may be left with us. We cannot force anyone to keep room keys with us. We do not keep extra set of keys as cases of key loss is very rare. The last incident of key loss was reported about 6years ago.
Any small hotel will surely charge the guest for key loss, perhaps not the starred ones.

Incident 2: We noticed that you would return at the guesthouse only after 2:00am, maybe late night partying. This is not our concern and we are not objecting to this as the guest can come in or go out, at his will. But we have a point here.

Incident 3: Your electronic Tablet did not work as the batteries had drained. The charger was faulty. As you did not have a phone either, you said, the only way to contact your friends is via the internet. In this pathetic situation, I allowed you to use my personal computer to access the internet (never done this before). We were happy to see you get connected with your friends. We always like to extend our assistance to guests in distress. We do this not to earn plus points, but that's the way we go about. We want our guests to have a trouble free holiday.

Case 4: Finally, you requested us once to take you to the ATM and we gladly obliged. You could have easily hired a cab which was available aorund. Nobody has ever asked for such a service from us before. Perhaps you wanted to save on transport ! Very clever.

Almost every morning, we would check on you, if all was ok. We always do. Your reply was always affirmative.

Conclusion: We feel that all the above mention of event sequence is inevitable for better understanding of this review and most importantly, the Reviewer. Please note that ....we are not saying we should have been rated "top" by the reviewer, judging by his review. As we all know, every person is unique and is free to reveal his experience !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

I read reviews on internet n booked this hotel. Its a family run business managed by Anthony n his family. Anthony is a very cool n nice person. He arranged bike for us. Though our room was at the back ,Anthony was just a phone call away whenever we needed any help.
Rooms are very clean n cozy.
This house is surrounded by lot of trees so you can just simply seat in the balcony n enjoy the cool breeze.
The room was cleaned on regular basis.
Lot of good restaurants are at a walkable distance.
The best point is LOCATION of this property. I liked condolim and Sinq beach n they are too close to this place.
If you want to be on clean n calm beache then condolim is the one to be at.
I would recommend this guest house to anyone looking for peaceful stay and best location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 221PoonamK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

I was promised by Anthony (the owner) that I would get a clean room and he kept his promise. He took very little time to get our room ready even though we had come in few hours earlier than originally planned. This is one of the few hotels in Goa which is managed by a local family themselves and they give personal attention to their guest. They give you valuable suggestions for an enjoyable stay in Goa.The hotel itself is in a very peaceful and green surroundings. My family was very happy to stay at this place and would love to come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhataria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Mr. D'souza is quiet, polite and a nice person. The property is excellent in every way. Our room was spacious, very clean and had a balcony overlooking the woods. A short walk to the beach. Few restaurants available nearby.

Our stay was marred by a power outage resulting in worst last night in the sweltering heat. The property needs a generator for emergencies like this. The service is average as the phones were switched off.

There were no staff during our stay as Anthony was taking care of all the duties with help of his family (sister and mother).

He had gone to attend a wedding and none to help during the power outage.

Recommend that the property be managed professionally instead cutting corners to save on capital & cost

Though our experience was marred by power outage (hope infrequent), I would recommend this to anybody.

I would stay here again and prefer this than higher priced Ginger - Goa any day

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJP-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DsouzaGoa, Owner at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your time reviewing our property and all the good you have said about us.
Now for the second part......at D'souza's, nobody ever gets a surprise ! This means that the Guest is well informed about the facilities available at the guesthouse. Since you booked your 2 nights holiday with us directly, our Terms and conditions(T&C) were sent to you alongwith room confirmation, wherein we mentioned that we have no power back-up facility. We never hide the facts ! We never did. Our accomodation prices are reasonable so that people with a small budget can afford. Let me say that 99% of the guesthouses do not have power generators. We cannot give Hotel service (power generator) for guesthouse price. Possessing a generator will increase the accomodation cost. When a property has back-up, they will charge at least 5 times more than our present cost( considering the type/quality of accomoadtion we provide) . We have no plans to put up our tariff as of now.

During your long 2 nights stay, you have said that the rooms are very clean. Just me, my sister and mother cannot work to maintain such cleaniness of a huge property with no helpers. The bigger Hotels have their staff working 24 X 7. Our staff are not here to cater 24 X 7. Our staff works only during the day and take night off. At other times we are always available.
Here are the facts of the case........you would leave in the morning only to return in the evening. So, how do you say that we have no staff ? A bad guess, huh ? I don't blame you, as you have seen only us then. This is service sector and for your information, our service is extended to the guest at all times, with or without staff. We are never ashamed or feel it below our dignity to serve the guest personally. This would be a privilege for the guest to be served by the owners. You should not be worried whether we do it or someone else does it. You should be worried about, whether you get what was promised to you for the price paid. Whatever we promise, we fulfill ! That is our guarantee ! But if people are looking for more and beyond, then we do not cross our limits.

We also informed you through our T&C that this was not a starred Hotel, where facilities and service cannot be compared (like phones "ON" 24hrs). I can't remember seeing any guesthouse with intercom.
When you make comments about " No Power Generator" kindly consider the accomodation cost as well. When we say no back-up, it simply means no back-up. We don't do magic.

On that fateful night, there was a power cut in the entire coastal area (this is a very rare incident). So everyone was suffering( except starred hotels). The voltage had dropped and when I returned home , I tried to do everything possible. The electricity department expressed their inability to do anything at that time of the night, as it was a major problem. This was beyond my means or even maintenence man(if we had any).

You just cannot expect those faclities provided by starred hotels in a guesthouse by paying peanuts ! If we do this, the starred hotels will go out of business. You knew that such a facility did not exist with us, and still you complain.

Anyway,this is not new to us as we have 2% locals complaining even after being informed(includes NRI's as well). We don't understand how to tackle a problem of this wierd nature even as we look at 100% guest satisfaction by attempt to reveal the truth.

Suggestion : We suggest that you choose a starred hotel where you will not have any reason to complain about. But remember, price will not be the same ! The famous saying goes like this....."You get what you pay".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

Everything is good about the hotel. Especially the way Antony receives people is very good.
Pros: Has good connectivity to all places. Condolim beach is 7 mins walk. Very calm location, no traffic horns.
Cons: Only 1 thing i did not like is "OUTSIDE FOOD NOT ALLOWED".

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Raja Shekhar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DsouzaGoa, Manager at D'souza's Holiday Homes, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
To understand your Review better, perhaps we need to take a look at the background story. Upon arrival in Goa, you took a local bus to get to the Candolim. You did not call us for directions and alighted somewhere in the middle of Candolim by mistake, thinking that the Hotel would be around. At this point, you called us and during the conversation, your cell batteries drained. Luckily, you found a kind hospitable local Goan nearby(who knew our Hotel) . But Alas ! the Hotel was at quite a distance. You requested this Goan gentleman to call us and you put forward a request for a pick-up, although taxis were available around(this was your cost saving technique). We oblighed to your request and sent a plush car for your pick-up(no fare was charged--that was a free ride to the Hotel !!! ). During the stay, we kept asking you if all was ok( we do this, just to make sure that everything is going well and the guest is satisfied for what is paid). Your reply was always positive. But suddenly your review has left us perplexed.

Anyway, your statement is general "outside food" and not specific about " the type of Food" you are talking about. We do not have a restaurant, so this cannot refer to our food. Your statement can be interpreted in 3 different ways:-
CASE 1. You wanted to cook your food in the room
You booked a non-airconditioned room with us for 2 nights in November 2013. And during the holiday, perhaps you wanted to cook(to save spending on Restaurant food). However dear, we do not allow cooking in the room. If I was on a holiday for just 2 days, I would spend my time, visiting places around rather then cooking. I would think of cooking at home.
Around the Hotel, the place is teeming with good multi-cuisine Restaurants.
Our Advice: Carry your own cooking equipements along while on a holiday and use them outside the Hotel premises. And there can be a lot of saving !!!

CASE 2. Your intention to bring Restaurant food in the room.
Are the Restaurants disallowing people to eat in their premises now??Hmmmm, I did not hear of any such cases, ever. I have always seen customers eating aorund Restaurant tables. If so, then why bring Restaurant food in the room ??? What's the logic ?? Is it for the sole purpose of licking the containers clean so that every rupee paid is recovered ? or did you face starvation for not being allowed to bring Restaurant food in the room ?Huh ?
In the earlier years, our clients(local people only) who brought Restaurant food and eat in the room, left the room messy, filthy, smeared even the walls and bed linen with food( made us wash their plates and leftovers).
Our Advice: Do not visit such Hotels ever.

CASE 3. You wanted to bring fruits, pasteries, biscuits, canned fruit juices, beverages, soft drinks, alchohol, chips, nuts or similiar food items in the room. Well, all these are safe and we will never object if brought in the room. Every room has a refrigerator. Do you think they are show pieces ??
Our Advice: When you review a property, be clear and specific in your statements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Candolim
0.2 mi away
Marquis Beach Resort
Marquis Beach Resort
#13 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vivanta by Taj - Holiday Village, Goa
0.4 mi away
Whispering Palms Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Santana Beach Resort
Santana Beach Resort
#4 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,620 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fortune Acron Regina
Fortune Acron Regina
#3 of 64 in Candolim
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casablanca
Casablanca
#21 of 64 in Candolim
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'souza's Holiday Homes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'souza's Holiday Homes

Property: D'souza's Holiday Homes
Address: 141 D'souza's Holiday Homes House No Fort Aguada Rd, Candolim, Bardez 403515, India
Location: India > Goa > Bardez > Candolim
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Candolim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — D'souza's Holiday Homes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
VERY CLEAN rooms, reliable and hassle free service is all we offer our guests. Situated in a quiet and peaceful end of Candolim at Dando Bardez-Goa,more towards Fort Aguada, and 5 mins walk to the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your D'souza's Holiday Homes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D'Souza's Holiday Homes Goa/Candolim

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing