We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were not disappointed”
Review of Victor's

Victor's
Ranked #54 of 312 Restaurants in Candolim
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We were not disappointed”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is our first visit to Candolim and we were recommended Victors by many of the regulars. We booked for New Year's Eve well in advance as he gets booked up quickly. Victor and his son gave us a warm greeting and although the restaurant is very simply furnished its the perfect setting for a romantic meal. We had prawn pâté with toast for starters and crayfish for main course (pre ordered) We haven't had a bad meal whilst we have been here but this was the best, the crayfish was cooked in a garlic sauce to perfection. As we were close to the beach we were able to enjoy the magnificent firework displays going on around us. Our only regret was that we hadn't booked again before leaving as the seafood platter was highly recommended.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DJC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    28
    13
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Victor's is an excellent little restaurant, well it's more of a shack really. We visited twice during our two weeks in Candolim, on the first occasion we shared a prawn pate to start then I had the tiger prawns and my boyfriend had the red snapper. On the second visit we had a curry and a steak. followed by the chocolate mousse and creme caramel dessert. All of the food was excellent - the steak in particular was perfectly cooked. We'll definitely be back next time we're in Goa.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jo_b_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Seafood at its Best”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and I booked a meal at Victor's for our last night in Goa, based on Trip Advisor ratings, and we were not disappointed. We didn't have starters, but I had the Barramundi and my wife the Seafood Platter, followed by a creme brulee and pineapple fritters (shared as usual). We both had the local Indian Madera wine to accompany. My fish was fresh, generous and delicious, and the fish platter (almost enough for two) had a really good selection of different items - stuffed crab, tiger prawn, mussels, red snapper, sharkfish, and barramundi. The creme caramel was obviously home-made and was superb. The food was relatively expensive by Goan standards, but marvellous value compared with the UK.

We were served by Victor's son at 'front of house', and later met Victor the chef as well. The clientele all seemed to be British.

The actual 'shack' has five black-glass tables on hardstanding, a proper WC, and the kitchen area shielded off by blue fabric. We had the usual Candolim early evening power-cut but cooking continued under emergency lighting with no fuss. Can't comment on the view as it was dark. We happended to share the eveining with the last night of the Sunburn Festival along the beach so background music wasn't a problem!!

I would recommend this without hesitation

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caramel_Catz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Taste and Value”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We heard about this restaurant through word of mouth and luckily we did as its a tiny shack with 6 tables and you wouldnt give it a second thought. He only has 1 sitting a night so you go the previous day, tell Victor what you'd like and he cooks it for you the following night. We had the prawn toast to start, lobster and red snapper - we struggled to eat it all and including drinks the total bill came to £25. The lobster filled the plate and it was so rich in flavour, both were served with rice, potatoes and veg. If you go anywhere, go here!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emmat1869
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Food Of Gods !!!!!!!!!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

First impressions,we were a little shocked as the restaurant is nothing but a tarpaulin tent type shack, with only 4 tables. After a short wait the first course was served,Dressed crab with toast,believe me it was yummy. Then it was time for the mains, i had Baramundi and my O/H had Tiger prawns, with a side dish of the best tasting Bombay potatoes in the world,OMG the food was to die for, we thought we had gone to heaven it was that nice. Best food we ate in 2 wks in Candolim..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Glyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victor's also viewed

Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 
Calangute, North Goa District
Calangute, North Goa District
 

Been to Victor's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing