We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Noor-e-elahi” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Kohinoor

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Kohinoor
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
bhagalpur,bihar
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Noor-e-elahi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

kohinoor is the noor(eyes) of Diu.we feel homely as well as ecstasy of life.the hotel consist of all means and resources of entertainment and recreation.A MUST VISIT AND STAY.you can enjoy swimming pool,water-park and delicious continental food here.

Room Tip: facing swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pkjjwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    41
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
46
17
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Hi all,
I spent a few days in Mid-October in Diu, for some urgent business. In the rush I did not check hotels or made any bookings. A friend arranged for a pick-up car at the airport. The driver took me around town and having seen the various hotels, going by his recommendation and hotel appearance, I chose to stay at the impressive Azzaro Hotel & Spa. However no rooms were available as a conference had virtually booked every room! Fortunately, right across the road was the Kohinoor Hotel. The hotel had an impressive looking front facade, reminiscent of Goan architecture.
The immediate impression was of a clean, well-kept property and the staff were professional and very helpful. They spoke several Indian languages and more importantly for me, English as well.
At check-in they found me an executive room and my bags were quickly whisked away. A prompt glass of cold water appeared from nowhere, a very welcome sight as Diu was torrid at 3 PM in the afternoon.
The room was opened in advance and both the fan and AC had been started prior to my getting to the room. The attendant pleasantly offered to unpack my bag (an unusual request in India), and showed me around the room. While I was getting my bearings and making a few phone calls, I was pleasantly surprised to get a lovely Masala Chai and a few biscuits to the room.
My executive suite was well furnished, comfortable and somewhat stylish, to the level of a 4 star hotel. The amenities were good. The room was large and spacious, clean and the mattress was thankfully new. The bathroom facilities were excellent, with soft cotton towels and scented shower/bath gels, soaps and shampoos.
The exterior was lovely, with well kept gardens and an impressive swimming pool. The pool area was really nicely put together with a few open air western style tables. Here cold beer and snacks were swiftly delivered to thirsty yet happy holidaying folk and the odd "suit".
The atmosphere was lovely, and as the evening fell upon us, it became obvious to me that this was truly an Idyllic place to bring your partner for a week.

The restaurant is a pleasant air-conditioned addition to the hotel. The staff were again professional and the service was excellent. The food did not disappoint and there was a wide selection of Indian and western meals to order. The bar menu was v.good with an excellent range of spirits. I would have liked to see more of the single malt whiskeys, but clearly this did not detract the offering.

The hotel has an efficient communications system and I was able to move around Diu and the surrounding areas without difficulty. transport is cheap whether you take a rickshaw or an AC Cab. It is closely located to the airport and perfect for a quick getaway. Equally it is near enough to Tallo (beautiful lake), and in the outskirts of Diu City. You can easily go to visit the Fort, the beautiful church and Portuguese style houses or take a dip at Nagoa Beach!

The decor of the place including the lightening will impress you and clearly some thought has gone into the making of this hotel. It seems to me more of a family business, with that personal touch that makes for a happy place, rather than a nameless and faceless corporate venture.

My recommendation: Thumbs up whether you are bringing your sweetheart for a passionate weekend, your family for a well-deserved break or a business trip.

I thought the staff deserved a hefty tip.

Room Tip: Choose an AC suite on the top floor, Mine was in the corner, room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Amir G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
Level Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

Hi,

I visited this hotel during August 2011 with my family. I had checked reviews at trip advisor before booking the hotel and was satisfied with the available reviews. However, on day 1 of reaching the place when we went for the dinner (included in our package), I was shocked to see that it was served in a large hall with no tables but only small chairs and coffee tables arranged randomly. Imagine the site of attending a wedding in Gujarat with guests just taking any available small chairs and tables and making their own arrangements.

Rooms very decent however, bathroom were not properly cleaned. It did not have any ventilation thus used to stink on every usage. Most surprising thing was they dont provide remotes for AC! Our room balcony was facing the water park and was dirty and smelly. Water park was under maintainence.

Food quality was very very average with flies in sandwich on some occasions. Room service was prompt but had very limited items available. Also, they were very expensive if you compare with the Hotel Azarro which is just opposite to this hotel.

There were multiple occasions when the reception, room service gave us bills with errors in values and totals thus we had to be very careful. During check out their credit card machine malfunctioned and it seemed it was being used for the first time. We were invoiced even for items that were included in our package like morning Tea / Coffee.

On the positive side, they have a nice swimming pool and beer and snacks being easily served next to the pool. Rules were also enforced for usage of pool which was heartening to see. They have a large garden which is well maintained.

Overall, it was a hotel with good infrastructure but very bad management. I would never recommend this hotel for the price we paid. Maybe if you can get it for 2000-2500 per night it may be a good deal.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank call_gaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

there was good service for food and room accommodation facility. . All rooms and suites are furnished to the finest standards of luxury with complete amenities. Rooms are designed not only for their comfort and style, but also for maximum convenience. All rooms combine contemporary elegance with facilities beyond expectations.

Room Tip: room was clean and all facilities in attach bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arvinda_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ahmedabad
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2011

Good stay. the location is good on airport road. Spacious area of the hotel. The rooms are well located. Service is good enough. But more politeness and instant response woua have been preferred. A clean and calling swimming pool. But the environment is not taht calling. Rooms are good but typical smell of a hotel and first entry give a repelling effect.

Food is good. But overall good stay for a day or two. But beach is far oof and u have to walk r move by a vehicle.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyingbirdahmedabad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2010

Was visiting diu on friends recomendation for the fiirst time.....a little apprehensive.but was totally overtaken by the beauty of the place and most important the hotel we stayed in...hotel kohinoor ...very beautiful property...good rooms ,hygienic and clean and most important the best food u can possibly think..since i was with my kid their waterpark ,gamesroom andpoolkept him busy while we had a great time at their Ayurvedic massages and great evening walks on beautiful roads of diu....it's actually a paradise unknown to many but unforgetful once u visit it....already planning to go with a large group of friend vey soon....but undoubtedly staying at the hotel....a sure recommendation.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PadmajaBatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2010

We were 4 people who visited the Hotel as Family. Pros are the swimming

pool, beautiful lawn and 24hr service. Resturant had great food. But the

rooms need more cleanliness. We had to call the housekeeping guys to spray

some room freshner too. The hotel is located in city center and is the best

hotels in diu the only draw back is it dose not have beach adjoined to it,

but the hotel pool is good.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank alokmisra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diu
0.2 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
Krishna Park Resort
#11 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.1 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#8 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Fern Residency Somnath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
1.0 mi away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 26 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Relax Inn
Hotel Relax Inn
#16 of 26 in Diu
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kohinoor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kohinoor

Property: Hotel Kohinoor
Address: Fofrara-Fudam, Diu 362520, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Diu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kohinoor 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Kohinoor Hotel Diu
Hotel Kohinoor Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing