We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for Money--100% Recommended”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hoka Island Villa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Raman kr singh,

Nice place to hangout- and the evenings at HOKA is the best part of the Resort. 100% recommended for the family, friends and couple too. safe and Secure for the Indian as well as for foreign Tourist.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 64Raman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear 64Raman, Your initial visit & that you are now a regular visitor is a pleasure for us & motivating. Your concise review shows us as we are. Thank you once again & we look forward to your next visit.
Warm Regards
The Hoka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 221 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed at this place in December 2013. I had chosen this hotels after reading TripAdvisor comments and ratings. We had exactly same or better experience than what we expected for. You get best of both worlds homely atmosphere and hotel comforts. Excellent but non intrusive service, good food and best ambiance. Owner makes special efforts to see that you are well looked after. Highly recommended for more than one or two days stay!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vinaya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Vinaya K, thank you for your review giving us an excellent rating. We apologise for our delayed response. Its great for us to know that you appreciated the non-intrusive service & atmosphere; as these are the very qualities that we strive to maintain in the social space that is the Hoka, & what differentiates it from the rest. We look forward to your next visit.
Warm regards
The Hoka Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I chose this hotel from the net as its tarrif matched my budget and it was declared the best hotel in Diu by Holiday IQ. When we entered the hotel through its small entrance , it looked very much different from other hotels, I even doubted whethere we came to the right place. It's very unconventional in its decor and arrangement, approach of its young staff. In the entrance itself you'll get its restaurant cum chatting place in open area. The main attraction of this restaurant is a series of paintings of Ms. Valleri Puri (whose brother is owner of this hotel) as well as its fresh, tasty food. The hotel doesn't have much space but each and every inch of this hotel is cleaverly utilised and very artistically decorated. It doesn't look like a hotel or resort, it's appearence is of a home of someone who has rented its rooms to guests. Its compund reminded me the Arvinda's Bhavan in Shakespeare Sarani in Kolkata. Its gate, its colourful walls, floors remind you the portugese culture. So I recommend the Hoka resort as one of the attractions in Diu. Only negative side is that the rooms and toilets are very small in size.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopadgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear gopadgupta,
yes you are right in review as you write that our hotel does not give the feeling of a hotel.... Well it is a little villa & the paintings, fresh food & the many spaces to lounge around do differentiate it from a normal hotel structure & ambience.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the excellent rating that you have given us.
regards
the hoka team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What else one tourist want from a hotel/resort? Loved everything about this place - Food, rooms, pool, bon-fire, carrom board, sitting arrangement & staff service. Well managed resort. My family holidays were really made perfect by Diu beach & Hoka resort! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Mee Tea,
Its always great to get an excellent rating from a guest & so thank you very much. At the Hoka, nothing gives the team more satisfaction & a sense of fulfilment than a satisfied guest who has enjoyed her/his time spent with us. Your feedback via this review is valuable to us thus.
Thank you & we off course look for another visit from you.
warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was an awesume experience in hoka resort..
Enjoying beer in the pool at midnight 12 am..
service provided was too good..
The surrounding area is just adorable and fantastic...
The food provided here is too costly and not worth eating. .

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dhruval P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear Dhruval P,
thank you for your review & happy to know that you liked our place. As regards your disappointment with our food, we would be happy to know if there was any specific reason for your dissatisfaction; as usually guests rate our food & beverage standards as among the best.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Door sign at Hoka reads - stay with people who care - my 4 day stay showed it to be more true here than any other I stayed with previously. Rooms are about 20X12 ft with furniture just right for the floor space. Rear door opens to a small sit -out and space outside it is as neat as the front. Bath fittings pleasant and work well.
Dining area is a covered courtyard up front with reception and kitchen and bar counters on the side. Kitchen is well lit , clean and one can easily see the folks cooking. It is well vented , no odor noticeable in dining area. It is good to be able to see the kitchen .Workers are well trained , pleasant to talk to and appear to be proud of their work . Menu is not crowded but every meal is well done and well served - well worth the money and satisfying to eat.
Right outside one can see a well designed wooden garbage bin with closable top so as to hold the disposables until picked up by city service and without being vandalized by dogs . This suggests the owners care about proper waste disposal. Wall decor is pleasant both in rooms and dining area. Trees inside property have been allowed to remain with proper openings on top enriching the ambeince.
Place is near the beach front making it very convinient to access the waters for swim.
Road noise from three wheeled chhakadas can be annoying in the dining area and so also the aircrafts landing , takeoffs. Drinking water is RO processed and safe. Bath water appears to have some unpleasant odor.

Room Tip: small place with just ten rooms , probably most are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gsharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear gsharan,
I do remember the 4 days in December '13, that you spent with us & your review indicates that you enjoyed your stay at the Hoka Villa. This off course is something that makes us very happy; apart from the fact that your descriptive review is one which would be of help to readers. Am glad that you noted the way we handle the waste generated; in fact the Hoka is the only hotel which has, since its inception in 1997, strived hard to ensure segregation & ensure composting to what ever extent possible.
We look forward to your next visit.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Read a lot of great reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor & based on those reviews I booked the hotel. Now let’s make one thing very clear. This hotel is a very good hotel with a very different ambience compared to other hotels, which I liked very much, but still it has glaring shortfalls in some areas & definitely doesn’t deserve to be ranked the 2nd most sought after place in Diu.

First let’s discuss the positives:
- A great place if you wish to have a relaxed stay. Just check-in & unwind yourself.
- Staff is great. Helped us a lot & even arranged a cake for us on our anniversary.
- Food taste & quality is simply awesome. One of the best you can get in Diu.
- The whole ambience of the hotel as well as the restaurant feels like you are in some old Portuguese villa with a Susegad lifestyle. We loved it.

Now the negative points which dragged my rating down:
- We went there with a feeling that this hotel would be something special or something “hatke” but got nothing like that. Felt the same like the others except for the ambience.
- Very expensive when we compare their rates with the facilities they provide. Facilities provided are strictly basic but they charge a star hotel’s rate.
- Owner says that they do not provide room service to create a homely atmosphere. Good point. This saves them a lot of money in terms of waiter salary. Then why don’t they pass on that monetary benefit to their customers? Why do they charge even more than a full service hotel?
- Rooms, linen, etc. were ok & nothing to write about. The major problem was with the noise filtered inside the room & more so in the bathroom. I was extremely surprised to hear the level of outside noise inside our rooms even though the door was tightly locked. We could hear even the whispers of our neighboring room occupants whenever they crossed our rooms or were standing in front of their room doors. The hotel really needs to check on this. Also, you could hear people bathing, singing & doing stuff that people normally do in a bathroom from all occupied bathrooms once you are in the front passage. That was really hilarious till the time we sensed that if we could hear them, they could also hear us.
- TV has only a few channels which have clear reception, rest others either do not get broadcasted or have so bad reception that you cannot even recognize the channel logo, leave aside the programs. Ex. Colors. If you are charging a star rate then you need to provide star services too.
- Restaurant menu is basic but food is awesome. The food is the highlight of Hoka, although expensive. Kudos to the chef & his team! Now the issue is that they would prepare according to the raw material availability & not according to the menu. Are you kidding me??? Twice we got a rejection when we requested for any item consisting prawns as they were not available with them. Thanks to the nearby Rasal Resort who were always ready with everything available in the menu (that too much more extensive than Hoka), we were able to satisfy our taste buds.

At the end, I would like to suggest the owners to provide services which justifies your tariff. Your food quality is not going to hold on to your customers for much long if you keep providing such basic services. All in all, a good hotel with good ambience but very basic facilities at this price range. There are other better full service hotels available in Diu at this price range.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor facing the pool. It is more noise free compared to the ground floor ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sumit_bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear Mr. Sumit , As with all other guests who take the time to write a review about us, we thank you. Unfortunately you have narrated an incorrect fact & misleading to other readers.
To quote from your review: “Owner says that they do not provide room service to create a homely atmosphere”. “Good point. This saves them a lot of money in terms of waiter salary…”.
This is incorrect & very unfortunate as I, the owner, whom you quote, have never met you, nor spoken to you. This appears to be your personal view & a conclusion drawn by you. And you wrongly derive, that the Hoka is attempting to save on waiter’s salary. Inspite of being a low revenue restaurant, our salaries are the best in Diu & comparable to the best elsewhere.

Room service would actually imply increased earnings for us. And so would adding on a host of other ‘facilities’ that some guests perceive as value addition. The list is long. But we chose not to offer room service, at least presently, for a few reasons, which we think, are helpful towards the Hoka ambience & functionality.

A personalized & friendly social space and simplicity are far, far harder to create, to maintain & so rare to find in the homogenous mass of hotel services today; And these are the very qualities for which guests appreciate & seek properties such as the Hoka.
We may offer limited room service, at a future date; but that would be determined by reasons other than salaries of waiting staff etc.

We have a nice dining area, & at the Hoka the guests are encouraged to use this & join other guests. As mentioned in the room information notice, we are more than happy to serve those guests with special requests, in their rooms.

The Hoka restaurant serves fresh vegetarian food & seafood that it can ensure the freshness & other quality levels. We do not have an extensive menu, & will continue to do so for reasons of quality. Unlike big towns or cities, seafood supplies are dependent on boat landings & not on a supermarket/market place. And so if sea food/prawns mentioned, if not freshly available; will not be served.

Yes, sometimes some rooms bear the brunt of other noisy guests. We intend to address this & make some changes in the near future. In the meantime, if some guest choses to sing aloud in the shower..we let it go..as long as the lyrics are good & in reasonably melodious tone!

We are sorry that you feel that you did not get value for your money. You have also mentioned in your reviews that you would recommend other places to stay & eat as they offer far better value.

Inputs from guests are a crucial source of learning for us. Improvement is a continuous process; so we constantly seek guest feedback, which is invaluable. And so once again we thank you for your useful comments/inputs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diu hotels
0.5 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
Krishna Park Resort
#10 of 16 in Diu
19 reviews
4.8 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#8 of 16 in Diu
82 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#9 of 16 in Diu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Diu
4.7 mi away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 28 in Diu
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoka Island Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoka Island Villa

Address: | Nagoa Beach, Diu 362520, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Diu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diu
Price Range: $69 - $1,032 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Hoka Island Villa Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing