We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Picture in a picture”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hoka Island Villa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
Kolkata
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Picture in a picture”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I chose this hotel from the net as its tarrif matched my budget and it was declared the best hotel in Diu by Holiday IQ. When we entered the hotel through its small entrance , it looked very much different from other hotels, I even doubted whethere we came to the right place. It's very unconventional in its decor and arrangement, approach of its young staff. In the entrance itself you'll get its restaurant cum chatting place in open area. The main attraction of this restaurant is a series of paintings of Ms. Valleri Puri (whose brother is owner of this hotel) as well as its fresh, tasty food. The hotel doesn't have much space but each and every inch of this hotel is cleaverly utilised and very artistically decorated. It doesn't look like a hotel or resort, it's appearence is of a home of someone who has rented its rooms to guests. Its compund reminded me the Arvinda's Bhavan in Shakespeare Sarani in Kolkata. Its gate, its colourful walls, floors remind you the portugese culture. So I recommend the Hoka resort as one of the attractions in Diu. Only negative side is that the rooms and toilets are very small in size.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopadgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
Dear gopadgupta,
yes you are right in review as you write that our hotel does not give the feeling of a hotel.... Well it is a little villa & the paintings, fresh food & the many spaces to lounge around do differentiate it from a normal hotel structure & ambience.
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the excellent rating that you have given us.
regards
the hoka team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    101
    14
    5
    1
See reviews for
92
57
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

What else one tourist want from a hotel/resort? Loved everything about this place - Food, rooms, pool, bon-fire, carrom board, sitting arrangement & staff service. Well managed resort. My family holidays were really made perfect by Diu beach & Hoka resort! :)

Room Tip: Rooms on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MeeTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Mee Tea,
Its always great to get an excellent rating from a guest & so thank you very much. At the Hoka, nothing gives the team more satisfaction & a sense of fulfilment than a satisfied guest who has enjoyed her/his time spent with us. Your feedback via this review is valuable to us thus.
Thank you & we off course look for another visit from you.
warm regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It was an awesume experience in hoka resort..
Enjoying beer in the pool at midnight 12 am..
service provided was too good..
The surrounding area is just adorable and fantastic...
The food provided here is too costly and not worth eating. .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dhruval P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear Dhruval P,
thank you for your review & happy to know that you liked our place. As regards your disappointment with our food, we would be happy to know if there was any specific reason for your dissatisfaction; as usually guests rate our food & beverage standards as among the best.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Door sign at Hoka reads - stay with people who care - my 4 day stay showed it to be more true here than any other I stayed with previously. Rooms are about 20X12 ft with furniture just right for the floor space. Rear door opens to a small sit -out and space outside it is as neat as the front. Bath fittings pleasant and work well.
Dining area is a covered courtyard up front with reception and kitchen and bar counters on the side. Kitchen is well lit , clean and one can easily see the folks cooking. It is well vented , no odor noticeable in dining area. It is good to be able to see the kitchen .Workers are well trained , pleasant to talk to and appear to be proud of their work . Menu is not crowded but every meal is well done and well served - well worth the money and satisfying to eat.
Right outside one can see a well designed wooden garbage bin with closable top so as to hold the disposables until picked up by city service and without being vandalized by dogs . This suggests the owners care about proper waste disposal. Wall decor is pleasant both in rooms and dining area. Trees inside property have been allowed to remain with proper openings on top enriching the ambeince.
Place is near the beach front making it very convinient to access the waters for swim.
Road noise from three wheeled chhakadas can be annoying in the dining area and so also the aircrafts landing , takeoffs. Drinking water is RO processed and safe. Bath water appears to have some unpleasant odor.

Room Tip: small place with just ten rooms , probably most are pretty good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Dear gsharan,
I do remember the 4 days in December '13, that you spent with us & your review indicates that you enjoyed your stay at the Hoka Villa. This off course is something that makes us very happy; apart from the fact that your descriptive review is one which would be of help to readers. Am glad that you noted the way we handle the waste generated; in fact the Hoka is the only hotel which has, since its inception in 1997, strived hard to ensure segregation & ensure composting to what ever extent possible.
We look forward to your next visit.
regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Read a lot of great reviews about this hotel on Tripadvisor & based on those reviews I booked the hotel. Now let’s make one thing very clear. This hotel is a very good hotel with a very different ambience compared to other hotels, which I liked very much, but still it has glaring shortfalls in some areas & definitely doesn’t deserve to be ranked the 2nd most sought after place in Diu.

First let’s discuss the positives:
- A great place if you wish to have a relaxed stay. Just check-in & unwind yourself.
- Staff is great. Helped us a lot & even arranged a cake for us on our anniversary.
- Food taste & quality is simply awesome. One of the best you can get in Diu.
- The whole ambience of the hotel as well as the restaurant feels like you are in some old Portuguese villa with a Susegad lifestyle. We loved it.

Now the negative points which dragged my rating down:
- We went there with a feeling that this hotel would be something special or something “hatke” but got nothing like that. Felt the same like the others except for the ambience.
- Very expensive when we compare their rates with the facilities they provide. Facilities provided are strictly basic but they charge a star hotel’s rate.
- Owner says that they do not provide room service to create a homely atmosphere. Good point. This saves them a lot of money in terms of waiter salary. Then why don’t they pass on that monetary benefit to their customers? Why do they charge even more than a full service hotel?
- Rooms, linen, etc. were ok & nothing to write about. The major problem was with the noise filtered inside the room & more so in the bathroom. I was extremely surprised to hear the level of outside noise inside our rooms even though the door was tightly locked. We could hear even the whispers of our neighboring room occupants whenever they crossed our rooms or were standing in front of their room doors. The hotel really needs to check on this. Also, you could hear people bathing, singing & doing stuff that people normally do in a bathroom from all occupied bathrooms once you are in the front passage. That was really hilarious till the time we sensed that if we could hear them, they could also hear us.
- TV has only a few channels which have clear reception, rest others either do not get broadcasted or have so bad reception that you cannot even recognize the channel logo, leave aside the programs. Ex. Colors. If you are charging a star rate then you need to provide star services too.
- Restaurant menu is basic but food is awesome. The food is the highlight of Hoka, although expensive. Kudos to the chef & his team! Now the issue is that they would prepare according to the raw material availability & not according to the menu. Are you kidding me??? Twice we got a rejection when we requested for any item consisting prawns as they were not available with them. Thanks to the nearby Rasal Resort who were always ready with everything available in the menu (that too much more extensive than Hoka), we were able to satisfy our taste buds.

At the end, I would like to suggest the owners to provide services which justifies your tariff. Your food quality is not going to hold on to your customers for much long if you keep providing such basic services. All in all, a good hotel with good ambience but very basic facilities at this price range. There are other better full service hotels available in Diu at this price range.

Room Tip: Get a room on the first floor facing the pool. It is more noise free compared to the ground floor ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sumit_bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Mr. Sumit , As with all other guests who take the time to write a review about us, we thank you. Unfortunately you have narrated an incorrect fact & misleading to other readers.
To quote from your review: “Owner says that they do not provide room service to create a homely atmosphere”. “Good point. This saves them a lot of money in terms of waiter salary…”.
This is incorrect & very unfortunate as I, the owner, whom you quote, have never met you, nor spoken to you. This appears to be your personal view & a conclusion drawn by you. And you wrongly derive, that the Hoka is attempting to save on waiter’s salary. Inspite of being a low revenue restaurant, our salaries are the best in Diu & comparable to the best elsewhere.

Room service would actually imply increased earnings for us. And so would adding on a host of other ‘facilities’ that some guests perceive as value addition. The list is long. But we chose not to offer room service, at least presently, for a few reasons, which we think, are helpful towards the Hoka ambience & functionality.

A personalized & friendly social space and simplicity are far, far harder to create, to maintain & so rare to find in the homogenous mass of hotel services today; And these are the very qualities for which guests appreciate & seek properties such as the Hoka.
We may offer limited room service, at a future date; but that would be determined by reasons other than salaries of waiting staff etc.

We have a nice dining area, & at the Hoka the guests are encouraged to use this & join other guests. As mentioned in the room information notice, we are more than happy to serve those guests with special requests, in their rooms.

The Hoka restaurant serves fresh vegetarian food & seafood that it can ensure the freshness & other quality levels. We do not have an extensive menu, & will continue to do so for reasons of quality. Unlike big towns or cities, seafood supplies are dependent on boat landings & not on a supermarket/market place. And so if sea food/prawns mentioned, if not freshly available; will not be served.

Yes, sometimes some rooms bear the brunt of other noisy guests. We intend to address this & make some changes in the near future. In the meantime, if some guest choses to sing aloud in the shower..we let it go..as long as the lyrics are good & in reasonably melodious tone!

We are sorry that you feel that you did not get value for your money. You have also mentioned in your reviews that you would recommend other places to stay & eat as they offer far better value.

Inputs from guests are a crucial source of learning for us. Improvement is a continuous process; so we constantly seek guest feedback, which is invaluable. And so once again we thank you for your useful comments/inputs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Just a 5 mts drive from the airport amidst a Hoka Palm grove. Greeted by courteous staff they quickly brief and make you feel at home. The rooms are basic but have all needed amenities.
The Cats eye restaurant has an exhaustive menu offering mouth watering seafood Indian Continental and Veg options. A well stocked bar keeps the spirits flowing.
The pool is functional how ever the beaches are pristine and safe to swim in. Just a short walk from the resort you must enjoy the glorious sun rises n sets.
Best place to let your hair down and sit back n relax. The beach has exciting water sporting options at a reasonable cost.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jaytee62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Jaytee62,
An excellent review from a Top contributor, is indeed valuable to us. Seeing that you have travelled extensively both domestically & internationally & stayed in myriad hotels of high standards; your appreciation of the Hoka services serves as a good inspection report for the Hoka team.
Thank you for writing a review which is informative & conveys a picture to readers of the review.
We look forward to another visit.
Regards
All at the Hoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

I went to Diu in the 1st week of December 2013, to catch up with friends. A beautifully colored door welcomes you into a vividly and brightly colored lobby cum open restaurant hence not stuffy. got the room in the 1st floor and the stairs leading was so colorful. The rooms were comfortable with an AC and TV and adequate plug points to charge your phones/cam. The bed was well and neatly laid out and the rooms were clean.The toilet was clean and big in size.
The Hotel has a cute pool at the back with a nice brightly colored sitting area and a few tables to sit around. its a fun pool. The restaurant is up front and has a good menu catering to all tastes for both Indian and continental palate. The menu is simple but the food was excellent, both vegetarian and non veg.
The service is excellent and friendly. If you stay long enough they get to know your preferences and prepare it the way you want it. My friends and I were there for 4 nights and it was the most relaxing holiday we had. 10 of us met up and had a good time.
The beach was just round the corner 250 mts. Though it does not face the sea its still alright. The bar is well stocked with enough beer and other drinks to chill you.
We have been meeting every year in so many places and this has been the best meet ever, most relaxing. Diu is a must visit place for the best, clean and quiet beaches. Lovely waters.
Diu has the cutest airport ever. must see.
Thanks Adithya ( the owner) for the wonderful holiday ever. hope to visit Diu once again and definitely stay at HOKA.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank venky266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Mr. Venkatesh, thank you for the time taken by you to write a most personal & expressive review; which gives an idea of the property & also conveys a lot about the ambience of the Hoka. That you spent 4 days with 10 of friends & enjoyed your stay, is a wonderful feedback for us. As the Hoka motto goes..'stay with someone who cares..' And yes we do. Thank you once again for the excellent rating. And we definitely look forward to a return visit.
warm regards from
All of us at the Hoka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diu hotels
4.8 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#7 of 16 in Diu
81 reviews
0.9 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
0.1 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 27 in Diu
133 reviews
4.6 mi away
Dream Vision Guest House
4.6 mi away
Hotel The Grand Highness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoka Island Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoka Island Villa

Property: The Hoka Island Villa
Address: | Nagoa Beach, Diu 362520, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Diu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Hoka Island Villa Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing