We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed reactions”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hoka Island Villa
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Mixed reactions”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

This hotel was booked influenced by the sheer great reviews on Tripadvisor. The room that they initially offered was on the ground floor and kind of damp. Construction work was going on in the adjacent room. After a trip outside, I saw there are slightly cheaper and better options but they were not available. Anyways, once we came back we asked them to change room and the room on the top floor was better. However, next morning we were again woken up by construction noise. COLORS channel on cable kept going off and coming back after delays. The pool wasn't very clean as the filteration device wasn't working. There is no room service. Also, the food is priced slightly on the higher side and takes a lot of time post order to come at your table. For enjoying seafood take a trip downtown. I am rating them average as there are limited options in DIU near Nagoa, so you can stay here.The people working there were courteus.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MumbaiTraveller007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Sir, thank you for your feedback, which we have looked into:
Whilst we try our best to avoid inconvenience to guests, some times maintenance work is unavoidable. At such times we inform the guests & timetable the work so that it least disturbs. There was unfortunately & inadvertently construction noise in the morning; however this work was stopped as soon as you brought it to the staffs notice.
Unluckily also, due to your request for a change in your reservations dates at a very short notice; the reservations staff were unable to ensure you quieter rooms. In keeping with the hotel transparency policy, the reservations staff informed you, that you did not have to pay any advance, implying that you were at liberty to assess us on arrival, even though a room was reserved/held for you. You visited other hotels & only then decided to stay with us.

Non-stop & continuous rain during the monsoons does lead to some dampness in some rooms.

The Hoka Island Villa is a small hotel & apart from providing good TV sets & peripherals can do little to ensure discipline in cable networks such as COLOR or any other TV channel.

To our best knowledge, our swimming pool filter was working & the pool very clean. However as we have a number of trees around the pool; quite often guests perceive the leaves as that the pool is not clean. We have trimmed some branches of the trees to the extent possible. The pool is however maintained at very high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    101
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
87
57
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I consider myself meeting my neighbor, he told me - he has friend in Goa who is a hotel manager. And I called up the number he gave me. I didnt even know where I was going, thats how I landed to Hoka resort. Now its my fav hotel in Diu.

Very clean, One of the best food in DIu (not the best location, not not bad too - I think thats the reason it pushes at no 2 on tripadvisor rating), good room services.

I am going there again next month.. :P

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ajay_Dabhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hell Ajay_Dabhi, thank you for the 'Excellent' rating you have given us. We look forward to your next visit.
Your views on why we rate at nos. 2 is interesting & partly true. The Hoka offers a slightly different format for leisure. One that endeavours to lay more stress on creating a friendly social space & personal interaction; as against increased hotel 'facilities' & frills offered elsewhere.

Then again the Hoka is a stylised 17 room hotel as against the 3 to 4 star property(s) listed alongside & thereby completely different formats of hotel.
The Hoka format isn't necessarily the better for some; however many more prefer the Hoka way. And so as long we are nos 1 for the guests who chose to visit us; we'll stay the course & stick to our number ! :-)

Thank you once again
regards from all at the Hoka, Diu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The place is great as is its team and its captain. Recieved quite a welcome in a quiet corner of nagoa beach. The food is awesome u must taste chicken dahiwala and chicken kasuri murg. The beach is just a walk from hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bikerpahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear bikerpahari,
We remember you & your friends well & thank you for rating us 'Excellent; & also writing a nice review. Very glad that you enjoyed the food.
regards from,
All at the Hoka, Diu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have visited the hotel in July with my husband. It was unplanned trip so we made booking on the way over the phone after reading trip advisor reviews. We had reached in afternoon. The staff was very cooperative and friendly. We got the room on first floor in front of swimming pool. Although room was wet but manageable. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was awesome esp tamarind fish, loved the taste. We did not use the swimming pool but it was so cute. It was raining that time and the they had provided umbrella to visit outside. Nagoa beach is 2 min walking distance from the hotel. Overall very good experience, will definitely visit again to hoka Resort.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Payal212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Payal212,
Sorry about this delayed reply to your warm & nice review of our property. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us & in Diu, inspite of the wet weather. Actually Diu has a charm of its own in the rains, as the island turns green & interspaced with sunshine it makes it all worthwhile.
Good food is part of a good holiday & so we are very glad that you found the Hoka fulfilling its role here!
We look forward to you next visit.
Regards
All of us at the Hoka, Diu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed there for 4 days and we spent around 25k pr couple. Still no regret and willing to send another 25k in next trip to Hoka. All the time eating, boozing etc etc. It is not home away from home. It is actually better then home. The staff is fabulous (specially Dipankar & chef), food is incomparable, place is unique. We never expected such treatment in place like Diu. I have been there 50+ time and these is first time, I am writing a feed back for any Diu Hotel. I have been to places anyone can imagine but these one in amongst the best of best. Food, drinks, tariff is much expensive but I am willing to pay double for everything as I have become the newest die hard fan of Hoka. Radhika resort, you got a competitor...Shyam

Room Tip: Dont fight with the staff, neither argue. They will do whatever you say without any hesitation. Lets...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shyam02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Dear Shyam02,
Thank you for taking time to write a review & also giving us an excellent rating.
The Hoka endeavours to be a personal & friendly space in which you can relax & enjoy with friends & family; And so we are truly glad when a guest writes in to tell us that they enjoyed the ambiance & staff interaction.

Thank you once again for your very warm, informative & friendly review. And we look forward to your next visit.
regards
All of us at the Hoka.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

A perfect place to relax, a small home away from home.....Few points:

Staff - don't really treat you as a customer, always got a smile on their faces...always ready to go out of their own way to take care of you
Food - The BEST in Diu, and their menu is not static....and they can customize also....
Location - 3-4 minutes from the main Nagoa beach yet not on the beach thus avoiding the chaos of the crowd

It has become my fixed destination in Diu (2 times already out of 3 times I have been to Diu) :)
During our last trip, my friend and his family was with us also, their first time in Diu and they got hooked to Hoka :)

Love You Hoka....Keep Going Aditya
(by now the owner has become a personal friend of ours)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SumanaSumitro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear SumanaSumitro,
Thank you for your valuable & informative review.
I personally remember your queries on the phone prior to your first visit about 3 years ago; trying to ascertain if the Hoka was what you needed for a laid back holiday. Social media wasn't happening in a big way then.. & so you took your chances in deciding to check out the Hoka.
And so we were delighted when you told us that the Hoka turned out among the better & warmer places that you had experienced for a long time & just what you were looking for..!
We'll continue in the same vein..keep it simple, honest & genuine; The qualities you mentioned that you most liked about the Hoka..apart from the food off-course.

Thank you once again from all of us at the Hoka,
warm regards
Aditya Dogra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We went to this resort at the start of August and believe me its an awesome place to stay at. The rooms are big, clean and just enough space to adjust in. The food is bit expensive but I thoroughly loved the food either be the breakfast or lunch. Tastes awesome. The resort is just 2 mins far from the Nagoa beach which makes easy for one to to fro. The swimming pool is small but having beach around I bet you wont want to be in there. Also the people at reception are decent and ready to help with all the information required. All in all a must / best place to stay whenver in diu. Bingo !!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anju86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Ms. anju86,
Thank you for writing a review giving us an 'excellent' rating. This was your first visit & we are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay & appreciated the Hoka kitchen.

Your giving us a 'Bingo' rating was truly delightful. for all of us at Hoka.! In fact maybe we could ask our guests to rate us along such lines. :-)

regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Diu
0.9 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
Krishna Park Resort
#10 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
4.8 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#8 of 17 in Diu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Ankur
Hotel Ankur
#15 of 17 in Diu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.2 mi away
The Fern Residency Somnath
0.1 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Diu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoka Island Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoka Island Villa

Property: The Hoka Island Villa
Address: | Nagoa Beach, Diu 362520, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diu
#1 Best Value Hotel in Diu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Hoka Island Villa Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing