We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place to Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Diu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hoka Island Villa
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Diu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I enjoyed Monsoon package with my family on 16 & 17th july 2013 at Hoka resort . it is just 2 minutes walk to the Beach, very good staff, Deluxe Rooms are spacoius and attractive , specially I enjoyed hours in the swimming pool with my Son. Food was good and staff was co operative. Only they need to cover the restaurant to avoid insects in night.

I recommend all to stay in the resort.

Good Day

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ankur1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Ankur1978,
Thank you for rating us 'Excellent' & providing a review with photographs. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your Hoka experience as we intend keeping it the same!
The advent of the first rains in June / July bring in flying insects in their first two or three days. After that the problems ceases. But yes, we are looking into how we can enclose a part of our open restaurant.
Thank you once again & we look to your next visit
regards
The Hoka team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for The Hoka Island Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 219 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

we staid their for a night but horrible, rooms are stinking, swimming pool water i think they change every month that dirty, owner was their but event he's not listing, not bother what customer are complaining, service was at toss, dont go by seeing photos on web. lots of other options are available in same price

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank BHAVENDRASINH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in Hoka resorts with my family for one night on 25th May 13. The good points of the resort is the location(close to Nagoa beach....and yet peaceful) and the tasteful manner in which the place has been designed. The food was really tasty and the enough options were available to choose from.The rooms were large enough but lacked proper storage space. The one thing that hurts maximum is the non availability of room service. Only readymade tea/coffee is served at fixed times....which may not be to everyone's taste. A hot water kettle along with tea/coffee sachets would be a wise value addition. Even for meals, the arrangement is in a covered area that can get really hot and humid in summers. This can become a rather uncomfortable proposition specially in the afternoons. The small swimming pool was reasonably well maintained. Overall the experience was satisfactory...but could have been better,

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rajat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2013

Dear Mr. Rajat, thank you for your review. We had noted your suggestion, in the hotel feed back form, of providing an electric kettle in the rooms, and are seriously considering it.

Whilst it would be possible to enclose the dining area and air condition it; this would however also take away a very nice & natural setting/ambience...which most guests do enjoy & prefer.
We are trying to find a aesthetic solution wherein we can install a sort of a temporary AC enclosure during the humid months...but it will take a while. We look forward to a visit from you again.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This property is Diu's answer to Goa's Laguna Anjuna.
Nice natural setup(You will find the Hoka tree in the reception)
Collonial style structure.
A small invited swimming pool
Friendly staff.

Need to improve:
A collection of Bar.
A more Room service.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rahul_thaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Rahul,
thank you for your feed back. And we are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Whislt we would really like to, & need to, improve on many parameters; a lot of our regular clientele , & us included have consciously tried to keep 'room service' not a part of the facilities. It would increase our revenue but really am not sure how it would affect the cross section of the Hoka guests. Self service, dining area, limited room service are all a part of the Hoka experience. Just walk up to the bar & ask for your drink or snack..its a different feeling & probably more relaxed. But if thats what the market demands..well in the long run...lets see how it goes.
Thank you once again for your good review.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We opted for this resort based on the reviews we had read. We had stayed here for 3 nights in November 2012.

When we reached the hotel, it was under renovation and hence, our stay was not as comfortable as we would have liked it to be. The rooms are quite small as compared to other hotels. Also we could not use the small swimming pool they had. They also did not have any indoor games or play area for children.

The food was excellent and it was such a cozy feeling to sit under the shade of trees for your breakfast and lunch.

The staff was extremely helpful and would go out of their way to meet your requirements.

The beach is just 2-3 minutes walk from the hotel. We used to go for morning walks on the beach - it was so peaceful.

We plan to return to this resort on our next trip to Diu.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chandramohanamritkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Mr. Chandramohan, it is indeed very nice to receive a review from you. The time you were here, we were at the end of renovation work. However we do remember & appreciate your patience inspite of some inconvenience. We are glad you did feel looked after & that you would visit us again. Thank you once again for your balanced feed back.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We did not stay here (though my husband was very keen on it) beacuse the rest of the family felt the rooms were small and not as luxurious as Azzaro's. But we had almost all our meals here- it serves the BEST food in Diu. The owner, Mr Aditya Dogra, has trained his staff very well. I loved the food there!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DeepMp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear DeepMp,
it was a pleasure & a nice surprise to meet you, & your family. Thank you for your excellent feed back about our food. We plan to add a few more dishes to our menu..but still small & simple..as thats the combination that turns out fresh, clean & tasty food. We do hope that your husband is not 'vetoed' the next visit :-) . Wishing you, husband & your two bright boys all very best.
Regards from all of us at the Hoka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Rarely have I come across a hotel/ resort that has a great living experience (through its service and location) and also serves delicious food. Hoka is the place. Chill out, relax and eat gratifying sea food and when you're done with that, suit up for a stroll to the beach, its right around the corner! We had the pleasure of also meeting with the owner who took us through the history of Diu and how it came to be what it is now. A fine gentleman who has taken good care to groom his staff, who is not only but also very courteous. The reservation was quick, through phone and email. The response on emails was prompt. The staff arranged for the bike and car rentals too (paid separately). The resort is very clean and the pool is reasonably sized for 2 families to enjoy in the water and well maintained. And for people who would fly in to Diu, you just have to walk to the place from the airport (it is right next door). Even in harsh summer, Diu was nice and relaxing and of course Hoka enhanced the experience for us. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the ground floor near the pool, with a sit-out. Definitely try the fried fish and t...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aanujj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hokadiu, Owner at The Hoka Island Villa, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2013

Dear Anuj Malhotra,
we are always a little curious (& apprehensive!) about how a 'first-time' visitor/guest views us as a hotel. Because the Hoka is a little different then what the market tends to define. And so getting a thums up and finding someone appreciate what the Hoka is trying to do is a definate 'wow' factor for the Hoka team. Thanks & look forward to have you & your wife visit us again soon.
regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Diu hotels
0.9 mi away
Krishna Park Resort
4.8 mi away
Apana Hotel
Apana Hotel
#7 of 16 in Diu
82 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#10 of 16 in Diu
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kostamar Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Hotel Cidade de Diu
4.7 mi away
Hotel Apaar
Hotel Apaar
#2 of 28 in Diu
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hoka Island Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hoka Island Villa

Address: | Nagoa Beach, Diu 362520, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Diu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Diu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Diu
Price Range: $30 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
The Hoka Island Villa Diu, Daman And Diu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing