We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very okay”
Review of Cidade de Daman

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cidade de Daman
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Daman
Reviewed September 27, 2012

i found the place to be non value for money. the rooms were big & spacious, moderately clean. the bathroom was small and stinky & dark - a stark contrast to the huge room. the view from the rooms is very okay. but they have a good restaurant smack on the beach where you can relax and enjoy a nice cup of tea.

Room Tip: ask specifically for sea facing rooms, atleast you will have a glimpse of the sea. 1st and 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purvi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 315 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

horrible experience,cheap interior,i booked sea view delux room its cost of per day is 3,700 rs,but i fully disappoint.
room was threadbare,
paint was crusted,this hotel is not 3* its type of guesthouse class.
there are four hotel at on beach jazira,miramar,searock and cidade.

beach of daman is very beautiful and desent,
u wil like to visit again and agan to daman but befor visit please do inquiry abt hotels

Room Tip: choose sea view
See more room tips
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank AbhishekDahod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

It is a good hotel
The factors that make it good are as follows
It has a good pool and you can enjoy swimming there
It is located in a central place
It has got internet access
It has a reasonably good restaurant along with a bar

Things to be careful about are as follows
Rooms are average in terms of space and cleanliness
So if you are looking for luxurious rooms, this is not the place.
May have some problem with room service when festival times are going on

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rahul_upadhyay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Ok so to clear things first the beaches in Daman are all rocky beaches... so dont go there expecting to walk around on the beaches, or on the waves or building sand castle... all that is pretty much out.. having said that Daman does have nice beaches with wonderful views of the horizon.. it truly is the Lands End view!

Cidade-de-Daman is a average hotel, the property though is good lacks maintainence the staff are too caught up in their own things to actually bother about the needs of the guests.. the food is over the weekend served as buffet.. which has a decent spread/ choices.. but is quite oily and heavy food..

The rooms are ok, lack maintainence, the loos had stained tiles and some places the tiles were broken also... the swimming pool needs a serious makeover and regular servicing...

I would only stay at this property again if this gets a serious make-over...

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PNB1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

I visited this place with my friends. We had booked 5 rooms in total. Rooms were average. Bathrooms faucets were old. WC of one of the rooms was leaking. We did not worry much about it since we had 4 other options. Bed-sheets seemed unclean. Food at the restaurant was at par with similar hotels/restaurants in India. I have not visited other hotels in Daman so I don't know how it compares with the rest of the places on Devka Beach.
Word of caution: check your food bill closely. We found more than 1 discrepancies. Also try to get booze from local shops that can save you some extra bucks.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brickt0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

I went there expecting something on the lines of Cidade de goa.. Not so good.. but was decent. Got a pool facing room. I booked a SEA-VIEW DELUXE room. The room was spacious.
Room service was decent. Food was not so good. It was on the spicier side. The Pool facing view and sea face from there was a welcome sight.. The pool was decent and they provided clean towels.
The bath fittings were age old and bit leaky. You get hard water in Daman and that adds up to the concerns of taking wash/bath there. They fitted 2 single beds into one ... that was a real pain in the back..

The hotel's one exit is on to the beach which looks good during high tides. The Dal fry and jeera rice is good. Sizzlers are decent. Some starters are filled with chillies so u gotta take care what u order.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Salilsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Visited time - 9 June 2012 and 10 june 2012

Location : Location of the hotel is good.

Food quality: It is the worst ever you have tested. Chicken biryani test like dal kichadi.
Service is pathetic. Food is very costly.


Room Quality: Ok ok, not worth the cost. The rooms are not maintained. Toilet in our room was leaking and there was no water in washbasin. Ventilation in the toilet is worst.

Room size and beds were good. AC quality is also satisfactory not good.

Overall not worth the cost.

you can get outside liquor in your rooms.

Room Tip: Look for sea facing room, as that is the only attraction in Daman.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank abhiag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Daman hotels
1.1 mi away
Silver Sands Beach Resort Daman
2.9 mi away
The Deltin Hotel & Casino
0 mi away
Sandy Resort
Sandy Resort
#4 of 17 in Daman
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Jazira
Hotel Jazira
#7 of 17 in Daman
110 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Sovereign
Hotel Sovereign
#5 of 17 in Daman
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Miramar
Hotel Miramar
#13 of 17 in Daman
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cidade de Daman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cidade de Daman

Address: Devka Road, Daman 396210, India
Location: India > Daman and Diu > Daman
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Daman
Price Range: $75 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cidade de Daman 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Cidade de Daman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cidade De Daman Devka Beach Hotel Daman

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing