We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Easy to get to, local services. Check in was a breeze, room very clean, bed outstanding. John the night host extremely helpful. Due to severe weather at next stop, had to cancel reservation past the cancellation time. John called the facility, explained the situation and cancellation was made without penalty.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less customer noise. Always make reservation directly with the facility, not on...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

We are glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay. Thank you for taking time out of your schedule to respond and let us know how we are doing. Have a safe trip and please call next time you come inot town!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

195 - 201 of 325 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel welcomed my two little doggies with open arms, treats and little bags to pick up poop! I LOVE IT!!! They are accustomed to traveling and not all hotels are this generous about pets. Most people take pets now and it is very nice to find such accommodations!!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Gowestoldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

So happy to hear that your stay was a pleasant one! Most Best Westerns are dog friendly so keep that in mind over your travels. Please call next time you come into town so we can get you set up. Be careful on your way to your next destination and we'll see you next time around!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Hotel was adequate for our stay, updates would improve future stays for all. Room was clean however did have a distinct odor. not terrible but not pleasant either. Close to White Sands Nat'l Monument which was our main purpose to stay in the area. Breakfast was typical however adequate. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Marie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Thank you for the valuable feedback. We will use this information to address the issue you experienced (probably the cleaning chemicals) and address it accordingly. Please call us on your next visit and we will make sure you are in a room to your satisfaction. Please have a safe trip to your destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

front desk did excellent work; lots of personality; gave us a pet room; cleaning service spent time getting things done for us and were so sweet; supervisor walked by and shoved a heavy box into our trunk

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Phylis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2013

Happy to hear that your stay was a good one. I will pass the nice comments on to our staff! Please give us a call on your next visit and have a safe trip to your destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

One of the best staffs anywhere. I found check in and check out very efficent. Hotels seem to be hotels, but the staff here makes it enjoyable. The people seem to actually enjoy what they are doing. The cleaning crew does an excellant job and seem to enjoy their work. I think that makes all the difference in a place to stay while traveling. Nice to see.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Jerome N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

So glad you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate you taking time out to give us your valuable feedback. I will pass this information on to our staff. Please give us a call next time you come into town and we will give you the same service you always get here!! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Everyone of the staff I have dealt with has been very helpful, and friendly, the rooms are lovely and clean, my husband says the breakfast is quite good also. We consider this as our 'local' hotel just for weekend getaways, and it's very close to very good restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank Marcella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

We appreciate the time you took to let us know how we are doing. Thank you for your kind words. We look forward to your return in the future and please call if you need anything!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I believe the first impression is the most important. starting with the desk clerk of course. she was so attentive and called to make sure our room was everything we needed and all thing were in working order. thanks for a great stay

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank 414,123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2013

Thank you for the extremely nice comments and we are sure glad you had a pleasant stay. I will inform the front desk staff as this type of feedback is always very motivational. Please call us next time you come into town and have a safe trip to your destination!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
153 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
661 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Sands Motel
White Sands Motel
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Address: 1021 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Desert Aire Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range: $57 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this dog-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Magnuson Hotel & Suites proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Dogs are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing