We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good but but expensive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Las Cruces, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good but but expensive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Perhaps it was the timing, but this is not a $90 hotel. The pool was great. Customer service was very good. The smoking rooms had plastic butt receptacles in front and they smelled bad even to walk past. Besides that rooms were comfortable, nice beds, clean. check in is 3 and check out is 11.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how your stay went. Please keep in mind that the check in time is 2 PM so next time you visit you can get into your room a little earlier! Let me know if you have any other questions or concerns and thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    84
    66
    20
    22
See reviews for
102
74
22
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

On Labor Day weekend almost all hotels in Alamogordo were full, so options are limited. Got a 2-room suite with queen and sofa bed for 2 nights. Our cattle dog cost us $10/night more. Sofa bed needed to be fixed as the corner was no longer attached to the frame. Funny smell in the room caused us to purchase Febreeze and candles. Came in late second night and found empty tissue box in the bathroom had not been replaced, no shampoo replacement either. However, we were too tired to call the front desk for this right away. Told them about these items when we checked out. People at the front desk are very friendly and helpful. Skip the free breakfast in the morning -- the orange juice was really water with a bit of juice, tables are not cleaned right away and nothing is refilled quickly. Also, the coffee in the room and in the breakfast area is awful. But with limited options in the area, this is probably one of the best motels you will find.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMFireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
I am so sorry to hear that the service you received was less than perfect. Had we been notified at the front desk, we certainly would have addressed the issues you encountered immediately. I am going to look into the orange juice situation in our breakfast and make sure it is being made correctly. Thank you for your feedback, it is extremely helpful to ensure future guests a more pleasant stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

Great customer service. Rooms are clean, grounds and public areas always in order. I have stayed numerous times at this BW and cannot say enough about the staff-always courteous and willing to go out of their way to make sure the guests are comfortable. Great rates, great rooms and great employees

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank houston32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words! We appreciate you taking the time out to let us know how we are doing. Your feedback helps us make sure we continue to deliver the right accomodations for future vacationing and business guests. Please let us know if you need anything else and call us when you come back to town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Everyone who works in this hotel from the Front desk to the Grounds keepers to the House keepers and everyone in between is friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable about the area. Rooms were spotless and comfortable. Continental Breakfast was set up buffet style not just toast, coffee and cold cereal. I HIGHLY recommend this motel if you are staying in New Mexico even if business is 2 hours away the next day.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Alessio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
It is guests like you that make all of our efforts well worth it! Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us went. Your kind words will be passed on to the entire staff. We will continue to provide the best service possible and hope that your next stay with us is even better!! Thanks again and please let us know if we can be of any assistance!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

The pool was great. Breakfast was good with hot chocolate packets available (always a bonus!) We did laundry and found the facilities to be just right. The staff was friendly. This was a very nice stay for us.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
We are happy to hear that your family enjoyed your recent stay with us! Nice to hear that you all enjoyed the pool (the kids just love it!). Your feedback is appreciated and helps motivate us to continue trying to be the best we can be. Thanks again, and please call next time you come our way!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The staff was friendly and accomodating in every way. My grandson was especially impressed with the free fruit in the lobby. He also appreciated the outdoor heated pool, unusually deep at 9 feet. The room was very quiet, even though we were next to the guest laundry.The bathroom was small, but the shower had lots of pressure, and plenty of hot water. Breakfast was good, and there was ample room for everyone to sit down. My husband was very impressed with the number of housekeepers and maintenance employees keeping the hotel shipshape. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsMarx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Sincere apologies for the delayed response.
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how your recent stay with us went. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words will be shared with the entire staff. Please let us know if you have any questions or concerns and give us a call next time you visit Alamogordo. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Only 15 minutes from White Sands National Monument, with complementary saucers for sledding on the dunes. Comfortable beds, free breakfast, and proximity to other restaurants in Alamogordo. Quiet complex with a heated pool, rooms were simple but comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank sundollsweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to let us know how we did during your recent stay! Sorry for the delayed response as we encountered some technical problems but are back on board now.
We're glad you had a quiet stay with us and look forward to your return. Please call us if you decide to come back into town or have any questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
0.1 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#9 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Address: 1021 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Desert Aire Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this dog-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Magnuson Hotel & Suites proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Dogs are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing