We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motorcycle trip through Alamogordo, NM”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Motorcycle trip through Alamogordo, NM”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Best Western Desert Aire in Alamogordo, NM on our way to the Grand Canyon from San Antonio. We were traveling by motorcycle and we were able to park the bike in front of our room so we could see it from the window. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. Our only complaint was that the air conditioner was located in the back of the room near the bathroom so it took a little longer for the room to get cold. Breakfast was very good. There was a nice selection of hot and cold items. The hotel is located near restaurants and the highway so it is a great location.

Room Tip: Ask if the air conditioner is in the room or in the back by the bathroom. I don't know if all t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding your stay at our facility. The location of some of those A/C units were the only option when it came to installing the new refrigerated units. Next time you visit, please let the front desk know that you would prefer the A/C unit in the front of the room. We do have both available. Thank you again and please let me know if you have any other concerns or questions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    87
    70
    21
    22
See reviews for
104
78
25
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
lancaster, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Loved the hotel in Alamagordo, New Mexico. Best hotel I stayed at in a long time. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful, pool inviting, rooms and common areas clean and spotless. Breakfast was a hit with the kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sorry for such a delayed response. We have had some minor technical issues that we hope are behind us now.

We truly appreciate the very kind words regarding your visit to our facility. The feedback we receive from our guests really helps us improve in all areas of the hotel. Thanks again and please call us when you return so we may provide you with the same or better service you received on your recent stay!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level Contributor
188 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

A very nice hotel. It lives up to the Best Western standard. The breakfast was generous. Lots of restaurants and shopping nearby. Close to White Sands National Monument. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sounding like a broken record here but I do want to take a moment and apologize for our delayed response. We had some minor technical problems but should be back on track here now.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience regarding your visit to our hotel. We use all of the feedback we receive to improve and make your next stay even more memorable. Thanks again and please call when you decide to return to the area!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Highly recommend! Staff was ultra friendly. Pool was awesome, beds very comfortable, and room large. Some people do not like older hotels, but we love them. Walls are so thick we couldn't hear the young children next door. They are updating some of the rooms, and we found a spa room next door. Need to get that one next time!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank tiredmommyof2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Please excuse our delayed response as we had some minor technical problems regarding the system. Back up and running now!

We sincerely appreciate the time taken to give us feedback regarding your stay. Very happy to hear that your stay was a good one. Please call if you need anything or need to make another reservation. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
121 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

This is an older hotel. With several new hotels in town you might be tempted to pass it up, but give it a chance. They are also one of the few hotels in town that accepts dogs. The rooms have been updated and were generally nice. The front desk staff was excellent. Unfortunately housekeeping let me down. The first day they made the bed and picked up the used towels, but stopped there, not even replacing the towels they took away. The second day they skipped my room entirely. If not for that I would have rated the place higher.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HereAndThere79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Sorry for the delayed response from our end as we have been experiencing on-line computer problems regarding the sight. We're now back on and hope that our internal problem has been solved.

Thank you for your valauble feedback. We look forward to you returning to our facility so we can make it a better experience for you. We take each response and work towards improvements based on your comments. Thanks again and please feel free to call if you have any questions or issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is older but our room had been renovated. The bathroom was new tile and clean. Carpet was old so we wore flops but it did smell clean. Front desk was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was standard and clean. We loved the waffles.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
desertaireinc, Guest Relations Manager at Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for the nice comments regarding your stay! Hopefully the next time you visit, we will have fresh new carpeting in the room.
Sincerely,
John Presley
Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
144 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
364 reviews
3.4 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
647 reviews
0.0 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#9 of 13 in Alamogordo
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo

Property: Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Address: 1021 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310 (Formerly Desert Aire Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Alamogordo
#5 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this dog-friendly Alamogordo, New Mexico hotel located at the crossroads of Highways 82, 70, and 54 near Holloman Air Force Base, White Sands Missile Base and New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Guests staying at this Alamogordo hotel will be conveniently near the New Mexico Museum of Space History, White Sands National Monument and the Holloman Air Force Base. This New Mexico hotel is also near the White Sands Missile Base. The Magnuson Hotel & Suites proudly features 92 well-appointed guest rooms and suites, each equipped with cable satellite television and wireless high-speed internet access. Guests can begin the day with a complimentary hot breakfast before taking a dip in the seasonal outdoor heated swimming pool or working out in the fitness center. This Alamogordo hotel is ideal for guests visiting family and friends at nearby New Mexico State University in Alamogordo. Dogs are welcome with a small fee. Guests staying at the Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo will be minutes away from a variety of local events including the White Sands Balloon Invitational, Oktoberfest and the Gus Macker Basketball Tournament. This hotel also offers convenient access to skiing in the Sacramento Mountains and golfing.The Magnuson Hotel & Suites Alamogordo is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Alamogordo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de and getaroom.com so you can book your Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Alamogordo
Alamogordo Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing