We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best REAL food in Alamogordo”

Margo's Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #45 of 89 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Reservations
Blue Hill, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best REAL food in Alamogordo”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

Ok, Margo's is nothing fancy and the food is good Mexican, not great but priced accordingly. Service was friendly and food came quickly.

Alamogordo is overrun with fast food franchises. Our hotel clerk, when asked where to eat, said "all there is is fast food". We don't do fast food so that puts Margo's in the 5-star category for Alamogordo!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nus2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    30
    35
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“MMMM Mexican”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Great menu and friendly staff....The Mexican rice is awesome and the place always seems to be buzy .

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BevLowton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“went there because of the travel book”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The trsvel guide recommended this as a valuable good place. I must admit that the prices have slightly increased compared to the ones on the book. I have personally had a nice meal. By reading the other reviews, and the travel book I use, I should say that this restaurant most probably offers New Mexican cuisine rather than 100% Mexican food, but I am not the right person to tell it.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelersAngelsTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant!!!”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

DISCLAIMER: I last visited this location SEVERAL YEARS ago. The food at this restaurant is absolutely OUTSTANDING and reasonably priced!!!! The interior of the restaurant is comfortable and homey and customer service has always been AMAZING!!! I left Alamogordo several years ago and since leaving, every Mexican restaurant I have visited after Margo's, I have always compared to Margo's!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRODD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not what I'm used to from Albuquerque area”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

SALTY! 3 people at the table and each one of us had food that was SALTY! The chile was not hot, and the red tasted more like tomatoes that chile. Friendly staff though. Also the wine selection is only the St. Clair and sister vineyards and all their wine is sweet. However, the horchata has free refills! It is a very popular place with the locals, but I will go someplace else next time I'm in town.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NMFireHorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Margo's Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Margo's Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing