We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on the way to the mountains from El Paso”

Memories Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 89 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
El Paso
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way to the mountains from El Paso”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I'm forever grateful to the friend who mentioned this place to me some time back, esp since it's not on the main drag (but only 1 street over). A "fixed-up" Victorian house, that even men having lunch have caught on to. My husband loved his oversized Reuben, and my soup-of-the-day cabbage with ham, and a great spinach salad were both fine. Service is good, with lots of local folks there. Prices reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank travelbooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    49
    18
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A nice change from chains”
Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and exceptional service. We were traveling with a group and each entree was fresh and delicious. Be sure to try the green chili chicken soup---it's so New Mexico!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Drrtsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We met friends for lunch and enjoyed the experience. Very attentive wait staff and lots of choices for lunch . Turkey croissant with baked potato soup and sweet potato fries were my choice! Delicious. Others had the Ruben, hot turkey sandwich and full turkey croissant(they offer 1/2 options so that was my choice). Good prices($8-9) and nice atmosphere. A bit noisy but they were full, so lots of conversation going on. Make reservations, even for lunch! Busy place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianegma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Stuffy atmosphere”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

It is an old house but not a quaint old house, just old. The menu was not inspiring and was somewhat expensive for Alamogordo.
Service was polite. We like a restaurant with these prices to be fun, entertaining and with interesting food. Went for dinner. Not a place for fixity children.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephentown, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mediocre Memories”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

This restaurant came highly recommended. I found the salmon to be over salted and lacking flavor.
Vegetables were most likely frozen and run of the mill. Even the garnish was a slice of orange with slip of kale. Prices were reasonable, restaurant service was good. Maybe the do fried food well.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scrubuggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Memories Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Memories Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing