We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I like Carino's” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carino's Italian Restaurant

Carino's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 88 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Price range: $7 - $17
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: New, Opened June 4th
ALAMOGORDO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I like Carino's”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really like Italian food, and it isn't at Carino's. But, for some reason, the concoctions are really good. I'd prefer a good antipasto salad or Italian sausage with green peppers - standard Italian fare. But this is still better than Olive Garden.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank ERIC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    76
    61
    18
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good late night choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Seeking a meal after an event we found all the local restaurants closed so we tried Carino's which is open until 10 or 11 pm depending weekday or weekend. Pleasant atmosphere and decor and help. We were pleasantly surprised by this chain. Good bread with olive oil dipping sauce. We had salads and pizza which we enjoyed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ECandC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice staff, but should lay off the sauce a little...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Very friendly staff, including our waitress Heather with her charming British accent. Service was fast and prompt.

Only small complaint is: they really need to lighten up on the sauce for the pasta. My girlfriend actually couldn't finish because it was just too rich to the point of slightly unpleasant.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank prufrock1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good supper stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

This Carino's is brighter and more open than others I have visited. We were overnighting in Alamogordo en route to the Trinity Site Tour in Tularosa the following morning.

Our server was prompt, attentive, and helpful. We had Italian nachos and the house-special chicken lasagna with Hatch chiles. This dish tasted really good; we were not able to finish the single-serving lasagna and nachos (to be fair, I did have salad as a side).

Have the Italian sodas if you go. The hot fresh bread with herbed oil made a fine appetizer.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SRHays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
252 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Nice Decor, Good Food, Heavy on Pasta Selections”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a nice, modern Italian (chain) restaurant. It was an open floor-plan with a spacious ambiance. The food was prepared well, and very tasty. However, the bulk of the menu focused on pasta dishes, so if you are looking for that calorie/carb contained meal, you will definitely have to settle for a salad or a plain chicken breast. If memory serves me accurately, there were no steaks on the menu. Worth the visit if you are craving pasta/carbs.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CJ5687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carino's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Carino's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing