We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love space stuff, but this was just 'meh'” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Mexico Museum of Space History

New Mexico Museum of Space History
Ranked #4 of 20 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum complex includes the space museum, Planetarium, IMAX® dome theater, Hubbard Space Science Education Facility, and the International Space Hall of Fame.
central coast
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“We love space stuff, but this was just 'meh'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had high hopes for our visit here after others remarked the collection was heavy on early space stuff from the Gemini and Apollo eras. Not so much, really. The collection was OK, but not presented in a way that made it easy to appreciate.

The "Space Hall of Fame" was just plaques along the stairway ramps. And didn't seem to take into account many of the more important figures in Space History, or at least not in a balanced way. We enjoyed the model satellites inside, and were glad our volunteer told us we could visit the remains of Ham the Space Chimp outside.

The most interesting thing really was the missile garden and the sled in the shed out back.
Those decelleration experiments look really scary. Whew!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank chuttipen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    157
    65
    9
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama, Panama
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ageing museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Good addition to any tour of white sands dunes. Well explained, presents the whole space race of the 50s and 60s, but looks like it could use a good refresh. Kind of lost in time.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gregoire M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
“Different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The building is out in the middle of know where as I recall, but once you enter the front doors you are met with a spectacular collection our older space programs. The atmosphere is inviting, fresh, and educational. Lots to see and experience. Certainly worth the trip. You will leave with a broader respect of our historical space program.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank randyv78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElPaso, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“First Rate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

With White Sands National Monument and The Missile Range just down the road, Holloman AFB (home of the Stealth Fighter) just ouside of town, Alamogordo seems like the perfect place to build a space museum. The museum houses many space travel artifacts, exhibitions and displays that outline the history of space flight. Complete with a Moon Landing Simulator and the International Space Hall of Fame, the museum is well worth the admittance fee and a couple hours to get a first rate view of the history of space travel!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Other travelers mentioned little hands on activities for kids, true.
Lots of good displays and information I have not seen elsewhere.
The exhibits outside were great! The gift shop was small

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Txtravelersx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Space History also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Space History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing