We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

New Mexico Museum of Space History
Ranked #3 of 18 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum complex includes the space museum, Planetarium, IMAX® dome theater, Hubbard Space Science Education Facility, and the International Space Hall of Fame.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was interesting to learn about space, but I think they need a bit more up to date on the IMAX movie stuff. Quite out dated!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sarispe123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    163
    73
    11
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“We had a great time!!!”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Initially, after looking at the rockets and ships outside, we thought it would be a typical museum. What really made this a great museum was the scientist who worked with the kids and demonstrated how certain laws of physics worked while making it fun. The exhibits were fine but I think the "Future" exhibit was incomplete when we were there. Still, the family had so much fun.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank goodhelmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas USA
Level 6 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lot's of interesting info & exhibits”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Learn about our nation's space exploration program from early rocket tests to the present and the important role the Alamogordo/White Sands area has played in the space program. Kids and adults alike can find something of interest in this well thought-out museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank LonghornDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Best kept secret in New Mexico”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We took our three sons (12, 5, and 3) on a Monday morning during Spring Break. They all had a GREAT time looking around outside and running around. Inside the museum was really interesting for all of us as well, though my youngest did get bored about half way through. Surprised we hadn't read more about this place--what a gem! Great way to spend a couple of hours.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank mom2dzbnwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
378 reviews
217 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
“Nice museum on space”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stopped here on our way through Alamogordo as we love space exhibits. The outside grounds have several space and airplanes to see that were interesting to see. We didn't view the inside exhibits as we see that in our homestate of Texas at NASA in Houston. We did watch the IMAX movie on Air racers. The IMAX was tiny compared to the big ones we have been to in our cities and we didn't find it very comfortable. We also thought the prices were very high compared to the value.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BushkaTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Mexico Museum of Space History also viewed

 

Been to New Mexico Museum of Space History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing