We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best outdoor experiences near Alamogordo”

Oliver Lee Memorial State Park
Ranked #5 of 18 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oliver Lee State Park includes historical exhibits and some of southern New Mexico's finest views.
ALAMOGORDO
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“One of the best outdoor experiences near Alamogordo”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is just a first class place if you Natural History and new Mexico. Hiking, picnicking, it's all here.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ERIC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    33
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Trail in Town”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wow! Who would have thought that there's a trail right "around the corner" of Alamogordo. I decided to take a group of my airmen to this hiking trail during one of many Resiliency Day training. It doesn't seem like it looking from a distance, but the hike is very scenic and interesting. We climbed rocks, ran into a small stream, and took many pictures. Not an easy hike but not difficult either.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank travcav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Level Contributor
72 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A great hike and rv spot”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

The view from the hiking trail is epicly cool. It has rv facilities. It also has some educational oppurtunities on natural history and local history. It's not an easy hike though for the view, it's steep and some of the rocks are slippery so if you hike often I'd say it's a difficult hike if it rains cause the rocks get slippery.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ShakoNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encinitas, CA
Level Contributor
253 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“peaceful, beautiful”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

we pulled in after dark, set up and showered and went to sleep. Aside from the stars and wonderful quiet we didn't realize the beauty of the place until the sun came up the following morning.
There are large asphalt pads and close hook ups. Nice bathroom and shower facilities. Removed from road and railroad noise.
And did I mention the starts?

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank motherHEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrizozo, NM
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oliver Lee Memorial State Park”
Reviewed April 23, 2012

An enjoyable outing. Trails to hike They have camping, picnicking, group shelter, wildlife viewing, rv dump station, restrooms/showers, visitor center and more. There was a charge of $5.00 per vehicle. We took the lower trail and walked along the stream. Plant life in the open areas and also in the Desert Garden. Be sure to take water with you and a snack bar. We enjoyed ourselves and being outdoors. Don't forget the sunscreen.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank skippyangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver Lee Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oliver Lee Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing