We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Camping”

Oliver Lee Memorial State Park
Ranked #6 of 18 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Oliver Lee State Park includes historical exhibits and some of southern New Mexico's finest views.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Camping”
Reviewed March 16, 2012

A great camping spot and a great place to hike. Learn the history about Oliver Lee while staying there.

Helpful?
Thank duepplestrasse5-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    34
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Great Hike”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We have done the Dog Canyon hike twice. It's one of my favorites - a little steep at the beginning but otherwise not too strenuous.

Helpful?
Thank NightCrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 565 helpful votes
“Better Than the Inca Trail”
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Better because Dog Canyon a shorter trail. I've hiked this 6 mile round trip section a dozen times and it never fails to impress. The trail starts right behind the ranger station and costs $5 per car. The initial climb is the most taxing and climbs about 500 feet. The vertical climb over the 3 mile length is 2,000 feet so it is not for your typically obese cardiac patient though stranger things have happened.

You will pass through 3 micro-climates. If you're lucky enough to go after a recent rain the trail is ablaze in wild flowers. I've seen hundreds of Tarantulas parading down the slopes oblivious to humans. I've seen wild goats, rattlers and coyotes. The trail ends at the back of a box canyon with a tall waterfall and the ruins of an old stone line cabin. I once attempted to climb the second half of the trail to Sunspot but halfway up the trail became little more than a crumbling gutter. The views are spectacular and change with the arc of the sun.

Bring water and high calories snacks with you. Temperatures are subject to rapid change so bring a cap and gloves in the winter. I've done the Inca Trail twice and I can honestly tell you that the Dog Canyon trail is its little brother.

There's an RV campground in the park and a small museum. If you do the trail on a weekday you probably won't see more than one or two other people hiking.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
58 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adequate for a state park”
Reviewed January 27, 2012

Oliver Lee State Park offers great views of the vast Tularosa Basin, and has an interesting visitor center. A small trail provides descriptions of desert plants. It has a small RV campground, and rugged trails into the hot mountains. Winter visits are recommended because of the heat.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank gmaneis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful camping sites!”
Reviewed June 25, 2010

Mountains all around and great trails. Water source on trail which makes pools. Nice to cool off. Saw wild Javelinas. Very cool! Stayed 6/8/10 and bath-house was under construction. That could be why there was only 4 campers there that night. We didn't know and had water at out site so we were fine. Would stay back here in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
3 Thank heatherjewett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oliver Lee Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Oliver Lee Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing