We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprised that I did not have to bring my own towel”
Review of Motel 6 Alamogordo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Alamogordo
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Reviewed December 3, 2010

Paid over $ 50,- First room that we were given was not ready (beds did not have sheets or blankets, room had not been cleaned). We had to go back to the reception to get the key for a different room that had a problem with the lock (it took between 5 and 10 swipes to open the door while pushing the handle hard) Only bathroom amenities that were offered: towels and 2 pieces of soap. when I asked for some shampoo and a toothbrush at the reception it was "No, we don't have any...." Blankets were very thin and we felt cold in the night, carpet was dirty, shower curtain had some fungus, shower head was rusty. Swimming pool was closed. Window A/C - heater unit provided unhealthy dry air with a burnt smell. Unfriendly receptionist. We were happy to leave. Coffee in the morning tasted terrible, made me want to throw up.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flyhi152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 99 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2010

I came to Alamogordo for 2 nights on business. I figured that most of the motels would be the same so I booked here because it was the cheapest. It's in a convenient location to get to White Sands, but was really noisy because of all the traffic and construction. We didn't get much sleep the first night because of this and were woken by someone mowing the lawn right in front of our door at 6:30 A.M.

We were pretty frustrated and spoke to the woman at the front desk. She was unapologetic, but offered us a room on the other side of the building for the second night. We moved our equipment up the stairs and around to the back. The next morning we were again woken up early by people mowing on the other side. I didn't bother to say anything that time since the woman I'd spoken to previously didn't seem to care.

Maybe if you're a sound sleeper or have some earplugs this might be an okay place. I'm sure they don't mow everyday, but I won't be back.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cemie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

Overall there is not much choice in Alamogordo. So I picked the Motel 6, since I have good experinces with them.
The service was very good, very friendly. The room was nice. Parking easy.
The hotel is on the southeast end of Alamogordo, but the town is easy to reach (and it´s a good starting point to White Sands NP).
Unusually the wifi was free, good conection. The bed was a little bit hard, but the stay was ok.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank defMunichCanyonRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

I had stayed at this location in Feb of 2010 and it wasn't bad but when I came back in July it had really gone downhill. I was given room 129 which is on the bottom floor and there was a room above me a little ways down that had a broken window that they had only fixed with cardboard and duct tape. I opened the door to my room and the place was a mess. The bed looked like the comforter was just pulled up there was hair and crumbs all over the table and in the bathroom, the floor was horribly stained. Since I was traveling alone I decided to check to make sure the window locked and it didn't. The entire locking mechanism was busted. I called the front desk and asked to switch rooms and I was told that I needed to wait for maintenance to come fix it. She stated that it would be 5 minutes. I told her that I need to leave shortly to meet someone for dinner and she assured me that they would be there. Thirty minutes later and no one was there and I went to the front desk and was told curtly that I couldn't change rooms and that I needed to wait for maintenance. I decided to check out. I will not go back. I travel to Alamogordo twice a year for an event and there isn’t much to choose from that accepts dogs. I also understand that the manager they had has left and the crew now is completely inept. It was family time when I checked in. Multiple people and children behind the front desk and the woman working kept getting distracted talking to her friends and the kid. Granted it is a Motel 6 but does everything that's inexpensive have to be bad???

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bcmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2010

Wel, you get what you pay for, i payed 51 dollar, for a to queen bedroom. and that was that it was. It was clean and i have not so much to complain about.
I only think the checkin lady's where a bit...how should i say this, not really intrested....
They just continued with there personal talking with me in the room, and they were not very friendly. But then again, what can people expect, it i a good choice if you're on a budget and want to visit the white sands, this motel lies in the south side of town...
average is the right word......

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bergen74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2009

Very basic but clean. Cost us $39 + tax so you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lvera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in June, they did mess up my booking , having me for one night instead of 2 and upped the rate due the digital TV switch over, go figure!

the rooms are clean and a it's a good location for white sands, close to many restaurants so plenty of fast food / diner choice.

So fine for a short stay

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bluestorm2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
380 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#9 of 13 in Alamogordo
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Alamogordo

Address: 251 Panorama Blvd, US Hwy 70/80 at US Hwy 54, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7255
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range: $44 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Alamogordo 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Motel-6, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Motel 6 Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Six Alamogordo
Alamogordo Motel 6
Alamogordo Motel Six

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing