We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best hotel in town - except” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alamogordo
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best hotel in town - except”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

I've been staying in Alamogordo for business over the last 10 years. I've tried many of the hotels in town which have become dated and beds are worn. Since comfort away from home is a top priority for me, I prefer newer hotels with newer beds. The new construction also shields you from some of the desert bugs that make their way into older buildings and creep through the night.

The suites at the Fairfield are spacious and very comfortable. The normal rooms are small and give me a cramped feeling. I prefer to pay a little more if I am there for more than a few days.

The hotel has a modern decor and the lobby is kept clean. Breakfast is decent for this type of hotel.

The exercise room is "good enough" to maintain a simple fitness routine and I wouldn't expect much more. If you need more space, free-weights, dumbbells, etc. you should not expect to find it at a hotel this size and should pursue a local gym.

The pool and spa were cloudy and foamy and seem to be this way every time I've stayed here. As a home spa owner and frequent swimmer I would never enter a public pool where I cannot see the bottom. This pool seriously lacks chlorine and is not sanitary. The chlorine should be adjusted every night but this is not done since it is just as cloudy first thing in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sb_calif0rnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. Fortunately, we were able to correct the cloudiness in pool. Our facility uses bromine instead of chlorine and our Maintenance staff ensures all levels are where they should be each day. We appreciate the feedback and I am glad you were able to enjoy the hotel. Please come back and see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    87
    27
    10
    7
See reviews for
98
78
8
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Crossville
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a recent weekend trip. The room we had was very small. The room itself was fairly clean. The hallways really need a good cleaning. The carpet was grungy and the furniture in the elevator lobby showed excessive wear. The staff was pleasant and helpful. The noise from the room above was annoying and it seemed to be coming from general movement about the room not any boisterous activity. This would not be my first choice if we return to Alamogordo. The hot drinks that were provided for breakfast were never hot and at one point barely lukewarm. The pancake machine was pretty cool!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Basiajedna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for the quality of service you experienced. I want to assure you that these issues have been addressed! We have taken several steps to help ensure these situations don’t happen again. We hope with our continued efforts to improve the quality of stay for our guests, you will give the Fairfield Inn & Suites another try if you find yourself in the Alamogordo area again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrhardt, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

Here are the details:
Staff:
Very friendly at the check-in.
Room:
New clean and modern rooms with enough space for my family (4 Persons).
The room had a flat screen TV, a refridgerator and a coffee machine.
The beds are very good and comfortable.
The air conditioning and the bathroom were clean.
Hotel and lobby:
The lobby was very nice and modern to sit in and read a newspaper.
The hotel has an elevator, so you have no problems to get in an upper floor with your luggage.
The hotel has free WiFi and an exercise room.
Breakfast:
A lot of different cold and hot food, we liked it.
Pool:
Great indoor pool, well heated, large jacuzzi for chatting and relaxing and outside a barbeque area.
Parking:
You can park in a safe parking lot in front of the hotel.
Area around the hotel:
Shops and restaurants are nearby.
The hotel has a good connection to the Highway, the city and it is easy to find

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing such detailed information about our hotel. I am glad to see that our staff was able to deliver great service. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

An engaging receptionist, Josh answered our questions about the beautiful lobby fish tank, the interesting fake flower arrangements and some local restaurants. Our clean, commodious, well appointed room remained quiet. The ample free breakfast featured the usual suspects and endless refills. No vegan-compatible milk, which probably disappoints maybe 2% of the market.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Quentin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share this with us. We are always looking for new ways to improve our service to best accommodate our guest. We appreciate all suggestions. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travelling through Alamogordo, NM and staid the night at the Fairfield. The staff was amazing, helping with some local color and ideas. The hotel is a newer model, very clean and well kept. Greatly beat expectations in the middle of NM! One of the best Fairfields ever. Also, cannot recommend the White Sands Park enough it was great. Amazing.

Room Tip: suite is fantastic - great king bed and plenty of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. It was a pleasure having you stay with us. White Sands is such an amazing place to visit. We hope to see you again during your next trip to Alamogordo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Point, New York
Level Contributor
189 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

The fish tank in the lobby is absolutely gorgeous! As were the rooms...very comfortable beds and pillows, nicely done bathrooms with a rain showerhead. Breakfast was standard hotel faire. There are restaurants close by that are convenient. We did not try the pool, spa, or fitness room.

Room Tip: Away from the ice machine. Top floor for great sunset/sunrise views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrb415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The room was great: spotless, very comfortable bed, modern style, and new TV. We got upgraded (Marriott Gold members) to a room with a jacuzzi, making it even better. The hotel is as close as you can get to White Sands NM, which we visited - the hotel even has saucers you can borrow (for free!) for sledding on the dunes. The lobby is nicely decorated, with a huge fish tank. It's also walking distance from Chilis and Applebee's, as well as some other restaurants - no need to get in the car for dinner. About the only negative was that breakfast was just average: not bad, but no better than other places.

This was one of the best "small-town" hotels I've ever stayed in. The next time I go to White Sands, I'm staying here.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank santacruzer_95060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie M, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share this with us. I am glad you enjoyed our hotel and Alamogordo. We are always looking for new ways to improve and we appreciate your comments. Thank you for your loyalty and we look forward to seeing you during your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 14 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.3 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#9 of 14 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 14 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn Alamogordo
Days Inn Alamogordo
#8 of 14 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Address: 300 Panorama Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7236
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing