We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caliche's Frozen Custard

Caliche's Frozen Custard
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

I take my daughter here a few times every summer and we are never disappointed. The custard is delicious and the hot dogs are a great value! Also, the mint iced tea is a favorite during the hot summer months.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelinMan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    48
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Too Good!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Never heard of frozen custard. Very good, very rich. Made with buttermilk. Could not finish all of it.

Helpful?
Thank Vicki062
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“memorable specialty ice cream dish”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

(Never knew others called ice cream custard-) Learned there is one other in Las Cruces. I ordered a memorable ice cream dish that had mango & chopped pecans as the primary additions to a most delicious vanilla ice cream that I've had in recent memory. They also had odd concoctions including green chile, but that might satisfy the more adventuresome. What I appreciated the most of this business is that it focused on highlighting its regional flavors in a creative way.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bettyg223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious custard”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Unique and delicious! We only had the custard, but it was incredible the way they mix in the toppings. They don't skimp on the toppings...we had pecans and blueberries coming out of our ears!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RedSox4Life15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ice cream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

very good food, and very friendly people. the custard is great, and since there,s no baskin robbins or dairy queen. it,s an enjoying treat.. wish they had more of a food menu.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank daniel u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caliche's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Caliche's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing