We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best BBQ in the Tularosa Basin”

Can't Stop Smoking BBQ
Ranked #3 of 88 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Alamogordo, New Mexico
Level Contributor
99 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best BBQ in the Tularosa Basin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Hands down, some of the best smoked brisket in southern New Mexico. The smoked half-chicken is also incredible! They also have tri-tip on the menu, which is unusual outside of California. Their sides are unique as well, my favorites being the garlic potatoes and green beans. Make sure you try the jalapeno cornbread, too!! The service here has always been quick and friendly. They go out of the way to make sure you are satisfied.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelinMan94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    51
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hennef, Germany
Level Contributor
161 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

We arrived hungry, but it was 15 minutes before closing and we expected to be turned away. Instead we were invited in with an apology that some of the items were sold-out. It was no problem for us to stay while they cleaned up behind the counter. I had a pulled pork sandwich, coleslaw, and peach cobbler. I tried the baby back ribs that my son ordered. It was all good and I would eat there again. The highlight was the friendly service! Thanks!!

Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroeville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great bbq choices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

We were really hungry after a day at White Sands NM and this was perfect. Lots of options with amazing sirloin tip. Sides were awesome and the staff was extra friendly and helpful, despite the fact that they were closing in 30 minutes. Seek this place out - it is off the main drag in Alamagordo. The only thing that was missing is BEER. BBQ just needs beer!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robNrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best barbeque I have had in texas and at a great price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

My family and I drive up to Alamogordo from El Paso every couple weeks. We almost always eat at Can't Stop Smokin. I have eaten at a lot of chains like Rudy's and Famous Dave's and over paid for sub-par BBQ. Can't Stop Smokin' is by far better than those...by a lot and even tops most of the family restaurants. It also is extremely well priced. There is an amazing variety of cuts and proteins available. You definitely get what you pay for here. There are also descent sides, desserts, and ice cream available. The only slight draw back is the the inside dining area is kinda small and usually full. There is outdoor space that would be able to seat more once it warms up. A day of barbecue and sledding at White Sands makes Alamogordo a great break from El Paso.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FoodieVacationer458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“pit bbq at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This was a clean place with all the ambiance of the off-the-road locations, and the spices on our babyback ribs were terrific, including the Classic Sauce. Great outfit.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Can't Stop Smoking BBQ also viewed

 
Alamogordo, NM
 

Been to Can't Stop Smoking BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing