We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun B&B in Alamogordo”
Review of Tavares Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavares Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Alamogordo B&B and Inns
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fun B&B in Alamogordo”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the lovely and unique Tavares Inn for a night during our honeymoon. We knew we wanted to see White Sands National Monument and this B&B had so much more personality than any hotel around. Debbie was incredibly friendly and knowledgeable. We loved that they had an all-hour indoor pool to use, honesty bar and pool table. We only wish we had more time to enjoy all these things! We stayed in the small downstairs bedroom, which worked perfectly for us. The internet was a bit slow in there, but was faster out in the pool area.
Breakfast was a feast. Started with a wake-up call at our room with tea, juice and fruit, and followed by more eggs, potatoes and bacon than we could eat. Finished with an apple blossom, we were stuffed.
If ever I passed through Alamogordo again, I would definitely stay at the Tavares Inn!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed at the Bed and Breakfast of Robert and Debbie Tavares. This place is special in so many ways from the beautiful views of the mountains to the beauty of the home both inside and outside. Our hosts were wonderful and the home itself was so clean with a great decor. We would not hesitate to recommend Tavares Inn to anyone who is looking for a first class place to stay while in Alamogordo.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 633David
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tavares Inn is a gorgeous family home that has been turned into a B&B. Bob and Debbie were excellent hosts, and in our situation they were very gracious in providing us as much information as possible about the local effects of the govt shutdown, and allowing us to cancel inside of the 72-hr cancellation period, if needed. We came through Alamogordo anyway, and this was a wonderful place to stay-MUCH better than a local hotel experience would have been. Their pool allowed for a luxurious end to a long day of driving, and we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive bar choices. We slept well and were then sent off with a delicious hearty breakfast of fresh eggs, bacon, fruit salad, and a decadent apple tart. The perfect way to start our next day of traveling.

We would highly recommend this place, unless you don't like animals. They had cats, fish, a talking parrot (who entertained us during our swim), goats, chickens and likely others that we missed. We loved the animals and will stay here again if ever in this area.

For helpful information about visiting White Sands during the government shutdown, see our White Sands National Monument review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheCuriousTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We recently stayed here, and had a wonderful time! The hosts go out of their way to make you comfortable. For example, Debby brought fruit, coffee, and juice to our room every morning. We were then able to relax on our patio, listen to the birds, and look at the mountains! We were encouraged to use their indoor pool, which we did after visiting White Sands Monument (which is very nearby.) The breakfast was huge and delicious! Any questions, including restaurant recommendations, were gladly answered.
We highly recommend this Inn.

Room Tip: Both rooms upstairs are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinwantagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

This place is just wonderful. Our room was very adequate- lots of room in the closet for our suitcases & such. Debbie and Bob have made it a place to relax and feel comfortable, but it is all done with class. We loved the location out of town a bit- the mountains closeby- their assortment of pets- having space to do as we needed- the lovely furnishings- and on and on. They not only have class- they provide a breakfast out of sight-and they offer their own personal kindnesses. Totally super.

Room Tip: We had one of the upstairs rooms and we were very happy and comfortable, and we were there for 4 nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carrollton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a beautiful room with access to the patio under a huge willow tree and with an incredible view of the mountains. Lots of critturs and livestock, perfect weather and accomodations. If you go, be prepared for breakfast. Not for bird style eating. We ordered our eggs over easy, and the plate came with 4 eggs, done perfectly, about a quarter pound of potatoes, a slice of ham you could serve for dinner for 2 and toast. This after fruit and juice and bottomless coffee. Ranch style cooking and very good. A bowl of oatmeal serves like 2 meals. What doesn't get eaten goes to the chickens. Homey, warm, and friendly, with a beautiful setting. Don't miss wrestling with Rocky- the resident house kitten( they also have several outdoor cats). He's a hoot. Play a few games of pool, or jump in the indoor pool. This was our honeymoon and we got to share the patio with friends who have special needs children. They soaked in the peace and quiet like sponges. So di we. Bob and Debbie are very gracious and personable. We'll be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
493 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in many B&B'S ant this topped them all! The place is absolutely gorgeous. The furnishings and decor are
lovely. It was clean and comfortable. The amenities were amazing. We had a large flat screen TV in our room which is unusual. The attention to detail in every way was amazing. We are sorry we did not plan more than an overnight visit because we did not have a chance to walk the grounds, take a swim in their indoor pool and use their workout room. The breakfast was unbelievable with three eggs (from their chickens), a choice of meats (I chose the ham and it was a ham steak), potatoes (delicious), toast, juice, a large fruit cup, and a baked apple pastry. What great hosts too. They went out of the way to welcome us and make us feel at home. I do not understand an earlier review that had a negative description of Bob, a perfect gentleman and host who was very respectful of us and our privacy! And Debbie was the perfect hostess, lovely in every way! Don't miss this place. It is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michelewave04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
3.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
7.0 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavares Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavares Inn

Property: Tavares Inn
Address: 153 San Pedro Dr, Alamogordo, NM 88310-9560
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alamogordo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing