We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do stay here if you can!”
Review of Tavares Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alamogordo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tavares Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Alamogordo B&B and Inns
Sarver, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Do stay here if you can!”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Debbie and Bob, you have a great B&B, we wished we lived closer, as we would do weekend getaways with you. From the minute we arrived, and until we left the next morning, we could not have asked for anything more. On arrival Debbie provided us with a great tray of cheese and crackers, and whatever we wanted to drink. We had a great room, with a patio, that we enjoyed our morning coffee and fruit on. Breakfast....BEST ever, so much food and delicious. They have great indoor pool, with a bar area that you can get beer, wine, pop. I had the pool to myself while my husband watched the football game, floated around sipping a glass of wine. The house is gorgeous, the grounds and animals, the mountains, just a beautiful area. This was well more than I was expecting and hated to leave! Thanks again Debbie and Bob. We had a great time, Your apple tartlet you packaged up made a great snack on the way to the caverns.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank nursedeb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    4
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Pacifica, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

If you are coming for either the white sands (just 10 short minutes away) or even carlsbad caverns (definitely worth the commute), this place is truly the only option. No where else will you find a better combination of comfort, hospitality, and value than at the Tavares Inn. An open bar, indoor pool, and 1st class pool table are just the tip of the ice berg. The house is spacious, clean, beautiful, and conveniently close to the white sands. The breakfast would rival (Im sure top) any local restaurant. The host and hostess were friendly, helpful, and respectful of our privacy (hardly ever saw them). I highly reccomend this place to anyone and everyone traveling through!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cliffsidetrips3175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had booked for 2 nights - but when we arrived we immediately asked if we could stay for one night more...

Absolutely lovely. As all is already said about Debbie and Bob and the animals and the incredible breakfast, I don't have to repeat it. Everything is true! When we departed they even gave us ice packs for our ice container in the car so that we didn't have to bother with thawing ice there.

I have no idea why one of the reviewers told strange things about Bob. We always had our absolute privacy whenever we wanted. No one was ever sneaking behind us!

The only downfall was that we did not get the room with the balcony which I would have loved. As we were the only guests at the time and they said they would upgrade us I could not really understand that. Our room was nice and spotlessly clean, but quite small.

Nevertheless: Thank you Debbie and Bob!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Reiseprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

There were so many enjoyable elements to our experience at the Tavares Inn in Alamogordo NM that it's hard to select a starting point. But since the human factor is the priority of travelers, I'll start with the hosts. Bob & Debbie both greeted us as we drove through the gates and pulled up to the front door of what can best be described as their "estate." It's basically a two-story pleasure palace on a large swath of land nestled up against the Sacramento mountain range. The property features an indoor heated swimming pool with adjacent open-design shower, a nearby pool (billiards) table, a long bar stocked with beer and wine, five restaurant-sized guest tables, an upstairs professional weight machine gym with mirrored walls and well appointed guest rooms. Ours had at least a 46-inch flat-panel LCD television setup featuring DirecTV, a full shower/tub combo, a firm queen-sized bed covered in ornate throw pillows and a beautiful bedspread, and a walk-out balcony with table and chairs to take in the mountain view and the doves flitting from tree to tree in the late-day sun. Shortly after arrival, Debbie sought out our preferences on breakfast time and breakfast choices. She presented us with freshly cut cheese with nuts, crackers and assorted munchies. As the sun set and the Moon and Venus became prominent in the western sky, Bob gave us a guided tour to introduce his flock of egg-laying chickens, a collection of a dozen goats (tasked with keeping the grass short) and Chico the docile miniature horse who recently turned 20. Another distinctive feature was the presence of a collection of outside-only house cats who have been taken in by Debbie over the years after their previous owners had abandoned them. They appear to get on remarkably well and come in all colors. But the award for most memorable non-humans went to Butter and Pickle. Butter is short for "Butterscotch," the domesticated goat who loves to have her photo taken and Pickle is the house parrot. When we were departing, we said "goodbye" and he said "hello." Yes, as in The Beatles' tune. Perhaps he wanted us to stay longer! At the top, I said I was going to focus on the humans but it wasn't hard to get sidetracked. The breakfast was a two-egg cheese omelet for me and scrambled eggs for the wife, with English muffins and wheat toast, plus potatoes, pink grapefruit juice, regular and decaf coffee, as well as cut watermelon topped with whipped cream. We were offered the coffee on a tray to the room prior to breakfast but preferred to come downstairs to learn more about the hosts and their remarkable property. Bob told us that he has enjoyed a wide variety of experiences, from rodeo rider to horse trainer and USAF air traffic controller to businessman. They've owned the property since the 1980s and obviously love being B&B hosts and making sure guests are happy. We were only able to stay for one night, since we were doing our usual "one state in one week" vacation, but Bob told us that many guests stay for a week to enjoy the fresh air, abundant sunshine and varied recreational opportunities. As we left, I told Bob that I might just be coming back to pick up where we left off. Additional pointers: use of a GPS navigation device to find the Tavares Inn is highly recommended since it is several right and left turns off the main highway. Slow down to a crawl just before reaching the entrance to the property as there is a serious dip in the paved county road. If at all possible, arrive before sunset for this reason and to avoid getting lost. Have Bob's cell phone number handy if you require last-minute directions. He walks around with his cell phone in his ear, just like the characters in episodes of "24."

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David200111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

We spent one night here while exploring the area. We had a beautiful room with an ensuite bath. We were awakened to coffee, juice and fruit brought to our room. We could have fed a family with our breakfast and seconds was offered.An exercise room and indoor pool were available for our use as well as other amenities. All for a very low price. A very nice couple with a very nice property. Next time we will stay longer. Thank you Bob and Debbie.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

I can truly understand why the previous reviews are so complimentary of Tavares Inn.
My girlfriend and I visited recently and immediately agreed that the place looks and feels even better in person than the website reflects! Immaculately clean, interestingly decorated and spacious!
I cannot imagine anyone being disappointed in the breakfast, unless they are counting calories. If that's the case...don't even come downstairs!! Huge, delicious breakfast. Including eggs from the chickens on the property! There is a difference!
Bob and Debbie have built a beautiful home and they are meticulous in their attention to detail.
Which is why it was so disappointing to discover crunchy, inadequate pillows and a so-so mattress in the Geronimo Room. We seriously considered purchasing additional pillows at the local Wal Mart and donating them to Tavares. Overall, though, the room was comfy and clean.
Debbie was a perfect host. We arrived a few minutes early and found her padding around in her socks, taking care of her morning chores. She was friendly, available and helpful (gave advice about local eateries, etc.) and respectful of our privacy. We were seriously thinking about adding a night to our stay after we arrived.
And then there was Bob...
It felt like every time we turned around, he popped up unexpectedly, and invited himself right on into our conversation...and hung around! We began to feel like his expectation was that we were there to visit with him. The first time (while we were privately strolling the grounds), it was a little surprising, but no big deal. After a while, it became annoying (while we were enjoying alone time in the lovely indoor pool--here comes Bob!Seriously?). Eventually, it was a little creepy (he was here, there, everywhere! day time, nightime! ugh!).

So, Tavares is truly a gem as B&B's go. It was delightful to see all the details they've paid attention to. The crunchy pillows could have been overlooked were it not for us wondering where Bob had his webcam plugged in since it became obvious that he had an interest in EVERYTHING that happened on his property.
I imagine Bob is accustomed to meeting all sorts of folks at his place and there's a chance he meant no harm, but any lodging proprietor should know how to read body language and respect the privacy of guests if that is their desire. By the time we left, we were pretty fed up.

As for the "pet friendly" aspect: you got that right. More than 30 feral cats and good half dozen dogs, roam the property, but I have to say they stayed out of our way and I didn't feel imposed upon by them at all. It was cool to see they have a loving place to call home...and it wasn't near me! =)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maljazur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, SK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Ourselves and another couple found this B&B on the internet and booked it for one night. We were so pleased with it we decided to book in for an extra 2 nights. When you stay at Bob and Debbie's Tavares Inn it is like you are one of the family. They even invited us to partake in their Thanksgiving supper on the last night of our stay. If you have never stayed at a B&B this is not the one to start at because you may never find a better one in your travels. We were treated to an "eye opener" in our room prior to going downstairs to the largest breakfast we have ever had occasion to find anywhere. Bob is an excellent chef and the amenities of the house (indoor pool, pool table, exercise room, comfortable beds, etc) are second to none. You are truly treated as one of the family.

Room Tip: The Santa Fe room upstairs has balcony access and faces north. There is a desk on which to work at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank freddie302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alamogordo
3.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
3.5 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
369 reviews
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
149 reviews
15.1 mi away
Summit Inn
Summit Inn
#3 of 3 in Cloudcroft
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tavares Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tavares Inn

Property: Tavares Inn
Address: 153 San Pedro Dr, Alamogordo, NM 88310-9560
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Alamogordo
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing