We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Green Cheese Burgers”
Review of Hi-D-Ho Drive In

Hi-D-Ho Drive In
Ranked #4 of 89 Restaurants in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Between Richardson Motors & Papa Johns Pizza, Gotta look you might miss us! Pets welcome.Outdoor dining only yes it's hot its summer, yes there's some flying insects, were outdoors!! If you want $3.00 burgers go to McDonalds.If tattoos offend you or short shorts, not for you.If you can wait for a good meal, yes, If you want fancy dining, not for you!Smoking is ok.
Columbus. Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best Green Cheese Burgers”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I love Hi-D-Ho. I don't know if Leslie still works there but I went to high school with her. Love the cherry limeades and the green chile cheeseburgers. They are not super fast but every burger is freshly prepared and they are so good!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    22
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Alamogordo
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Lunch”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

I'm not a drive in person. Good for the on the run person. Food was ok. Just not what i wanted. I would go again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Butch4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A lot of hype but nothing too special”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband and I came to Hi D Ho in alamogordo, NM expecting the best burger we've ever had. We're new in town so thought it'd be nice to try an "amazing home town burger place". Ordering was easy enough then we waited. And waited. And waited. 50 minutes for two burgers and two fries. It was not busy and the girl taking orders could've done a better job at keeping us updated with the progress. If she did that we wouldn't have been so unsatisfied. Then we drive home to eat and it was nothing special. 16$ for so-so burgers and squishy fries. Probably wont be going back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

This place has great burgers! The tiger burger is huge and good. Try the green chile.

Service is fast, don't expect fancy service. You will be in and out pretty quick!

Helpful?
Thank shernandezjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Burger Joint”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

A great classic Drive-In burger joint. Ordered the Tiger burger and was not disappointed. They have an outdoor seating area between the two sides of the drive in areas where you can order and eat from your car if you prefer. The Tiger burger, fries and onion rings were all delicious and would recommend them over the standard fast food burger chains if you are in the area. If you are a local, visiting or passing through the Hi-D-Ho Drive In is the place to grab a burger in Alamogordo.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hi-D-Ho Drive In also viewed

 

Been to Hi-D-Ho Drive In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing