We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best bang for the buck” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
austin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“best bang for the buck”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the perfect place for our family trip to New Mexico. They were easy to work with, our room was spotless and the kids were happy. It made a good jumping off point for exploring the rest of the area, close to Cloudcroft and Ruidoso. The mini fridge was great to keep cold drinks for the evenings. I will staying there again in November.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mllsssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    102
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
118
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The White Sands Motel is a good value for money stay not too far from the center of Alamogordo. Rooms nice and clean with all the amenities you can expect in a smaller motel. Area and motel rooms seem to be refurbished quite recently.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bilello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

My companion insists in opening a window to sleep comfortably, which she had to because the ac was exceptionally noisy in such a small space. I could hear the night traffic while somewhat asleep though we were on the side where the lobby is located, just a couple doors down. We stayed in Alamogordo the longest for White Sands' Moonlight activities so I checked the other motels nearby the following day. For just a bit more money, we decided to stay at the Best Western next door instead. Yes, management was nice; however, a good night's rest should not be compromised. I will note that this motel allows its customers to use their disks to slide down the sand dunes because I later spotted a stack of them. Not knowing that, I had bought & sold back a disk from the shop at the Park. The room had new furniture & appeared to be recently painted; that room could have benefited from a much quieter ac.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettyg223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Our room was small but spotless. It was updated and had a microwave and fridge. Our room was set back from the highway so it was quiet. It was a good value and I would stay here again. The continental breakfast is skimpy -- just cereal and muffins-- but ok for the price. With the money you save, you can go out to eat.

There are lots of restaurants within walking distance.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank riverspud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We wanted to hit the white sands monument on the way back from Grand Canyon on spring break and needed a good place to stay. Most hotels were expensive considering there is not much else to see here. Read the reviews and found this motel to be updated, friendly and reasonable. The motel is run by a family, who were very courteous. The room was that of a route 66 style drive in motel and was very clean for its age. Free coffee upfront and danish. The pancake house across the street was very good and this motel is close to the entrance of white sands park. They also lend bobsleds for your use on the sand dunes, preventing you from renting or buying. We came in late and were leaving early since this was kind of a rest stop in between two full days of driving. Great value and just what you need. Nothing fancy but not bad on the pocket book.

Room Tip: They also have a room that will accomodate large family - two rooms adjoining for a few bucks more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Randy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

The staff was very friendly. I was running later than expected and they held the room for me until I arrived. The room was small but very clean. It's just right for a one or two adults. The price was worth it.. A simple continental breakfast. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank donna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Scott, Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Stayed here one night on our way to Silver City. It was quiet clean easy check in. The room was small but comfortable. In front of our room was a table and chairs and got to enjoy the evening breeze. We heard a little bit of road noise as we were in room 17 facing the highway mostly trucks with loud exhaust or those idiots that think everyone likes to hear and feel there radio. Overall no complaints towards motel I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank itsnotmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Property: White Sands Motel
Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing