We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but good”
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 28, 2013

This hotel is just what the other reviewers have stated. The owner is friendly and goes out of his way to make sure you have everything you need. It could use some updating (old TVs), but then the rates would probably go up. Bed was comfortable, and paper products soft. Breakfast is cereal and packaged Danish. Good location for White Sands and walking to Applebees or Chilis.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank ilive4sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (319)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 319 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

Decided to stay here after reading the Trip Advisor reviews. They do it justice. Good rooms close to a selection of eating places. Location is very convenient for visiting the White Sands and the shopping in Alamogordo. Highly recommended for anyone doing a road trip through New Mexico.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave_Maggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

I was traveling from Salem, Oregon to Mobile, Alabama and stayed at this motel on my way to Roswell. I had researched it and read very good reviews. I'm glad I trusted them, this is one of the cleanest, the most comfortable motels I've stayed in. Great customer service, wi-fi, continental breakfast, HBO (and other cable options that some chains don't even have). Thank you, White Sands Motel, I needed this great experience on my long trip!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebiG258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I much prefer giving my custom to local businesses and this place didn't disappoint. It's an older motel, but has been well maintained and upgraded. We were given a room at the back well away from any traffic noise. Room was well-appointed and spotlessly clean. The owner was friendly and helpful and breakfast was also provided.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giantaxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We made an overnight stopover at the motel between white sands and Carlsbad Caverns. Room was clean with good wifi access. Owners were extremely pleasant and helpful; morning continental breakfast was filling. Only crib was the noisy air conditioner. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desieurojunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Thanks to trip advisors reviews we stay here and enjoyed our stay. Staff was extremely helpful and friendly. We borrowed sleds to go to White Sands. Stayed two nights. The hotel is a nice Route 66 establishment .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnlyAunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a wonderful stay. Very clean and everything functioned well (internet, shower, etc). We had the opportunity to speak separately with the husband/wife owners. A very nice couple who immigrated to the USA a number of years ago and are battling the stiff competition from the chains. For those who are old enough (we're in the mid 50's) to remember when motel's were the only choice you should relive the experience here. You won't go wrong. I realize there are places in the US where motels have a bad rep and people chose the safe route with a Hampton or equivalent. No need to do that here. They have a convenient location and and also serve a simple continental b-fast in the a.m. Also inexpensive rates for those on a budget.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JaredSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing