We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A model budget motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A model budget motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I stayed at the White Sands Motel for two nights @ $50 per night. The White Sands Motel is an example of an exemplary budget motel.

Here's what I loved about the White Sands Motel, none of which you can take for granted in a budget motel:

Clean
Mini fridge
Microwave
Free wifi (secured and fast for my needs)
TV
Coffee maker
Deadbolt + locking door knob
Shower curtain with a crisp, bright design
Ample-sized desk for laptop or meal (only one person, tho)

Extra thoughtful touch: A power strip on top of the desk so no need to crawl around floor or behind clunky furniture for a free outlet

Extremely comfortable bed (although bed comfort is such a personal thing, it's difficult to standardize the concept)

Attractive building exteriors and landscaping
Burly ice maker
Air conditioning
Pleasant management

The breakfast is OK, nothing special, but the value of the place isn't in the breakfast, it's in all the details above. In fact, most "free" breakfasts are of dubious value. (For a great breakfast, cross the street - carefully - to the Waffle and Pancake Shop that is next to the Denny's. Good food, good service, good prices.)

The motel doesn't have a swimming pool, but for me, that's not important.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Livingrootless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poolsharkpatel, General Manager at White Sands Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Sir,Thanks a million for taking the time to write your great review.We appriciate it alot.Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    102
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
76
119
32
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, NM USA
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

I NEVER would have stayed at a motel except for the reviews on this site. I am so glad we took the chance! Very few hotel rooms comfortably fit a family of five with teenagers. The family suite had a separate room for the kids (a big bonus for me) and was very clean. The price was impressively low. The room had a fridge and microwave, very handy when traveling. I would certainly stay here again. The whole family gives it five thumbs up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamogordo, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

Says it all in the title... you don't need much more than that. Have been travelling around 4000 miles across the US and it's by far the best motel we've stayed in. We stayed inn the family room which was quite large with 3 double beds. Also being able to borrow sand boards free of charge is an added plus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a charming, non-chain hotel to stay while you explore white sands monument, this is it! The staff was do friendly and even had sleds for us to borrow for sledding on the dunes! Great place, definitely recommend! For dinner we loved the Hi-Di-Ho Drive-in just up the road...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ge0rgiaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious and well kept although they are dated. The motel was centrally located. It worked perfectly for our long weekend. Internet did not work very well but we dis not spens muh time in pur room. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location is great for visiting White Sands. It's nothing fancy, but for $40 (one person) and $50 (two people) a night it was a deal. The rooms were clean and simple. There was a chinese restaurant conveniently located next to the hotel, although we didn't eat there. We tow motorcycles on our trips and there was ample parking for our set-up. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 15 and 18. I've posted pictures of room 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Japanesejockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family stayed here in August so we could go to White Sands Nat. Park. We arrived fairly late and were greeted with free sleds to use at the dunes and a clean family room ( 3 beds) for the night. Would recomend to a family staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Property: White Sands Motel
Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing