We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfy for a family of five!”
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Sands Motel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I NEVER would have stayed at a motel except for the reviews on this site. I am so glad we took the chance! Very few hotel rooms comfortably fit a family of five with teenagers. The family suite had a separate room for the kids (a big bonus for me) and was very clean. The price was impressively low. The room had a fridge and microwave, very handy when traveling. I would certainly stay here again. The whole family gives it five thumbs up.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NMmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (322)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 322 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2012

Says it all in the title... you don't need much more than that. Have been travelling around 4000 miles across the US and it's by far the best motel we've stayed in. We stayed inn the family room which was quite large with 3 double beds. Also being able to borrow sand boards free of charge is an added plus.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matei B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

If you are looking for a charming, non-chain hotel to stay while you explore white sands monument, this is it! The staff was do friendly and even had sleds for us to borrow for sledding on the dunes! Great place, definitely recommend! For dinner we loved the Hi-Di-Ho Drive-in just up the road...

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ge0rgiaMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012 via mobile

The rooms are very spacious and well kept although they are dated. The motel was centrally located. It worked perfectly for our long weekend. Internet did not work very well but we dis not spens muh time in pur room. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

The location is great for visiting White Sands. It's nothing fancy, but for $40 (one person) and $50 (two people) a night it was a deal. The rooms were clean and simple. There was a chinese restaurant conveniently located next to the hotel, although we didn't eat there. We tow motorcycles on our trips and there was ample parking for our set-up. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 15 and 18. I've posted pictures of room 18.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Japanesejockgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family stayed here in August so we could go to White Sands Nat. Park. We arrived fairly late and were greeted with free sleds to use at the dunes and a clean family room ( 3 beds) for the night. Would recomend to a family staying in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WLBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Super comfortable beds, the prices were very reasonable, and the location is great for visiting White Sands National Monument. We found the in-room air conditioner to be very loud and interfered with our sleep.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
392 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#2 of 13 in Alamogordo
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing