We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Sands Motel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

My family stayed here in August so we could go to White Sands Nat. Park. We arrived fairly late and were greeted with free sleds to use at the dunes and a clean family room ( 3 beds) for the night. Would recomend to a family staying in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WLBTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    102
    20
    4
    0
See reviews for
75
118
32
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Super comfortable beds, the prices were very reasonable, and the location is great for visiting White Sands National Monument. We found the in-room air conditioner to be very loud and interfered with our sleep.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAW12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
122 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

The staff here are so friendly. I called an hour before my arrival to have them turn on the air and fridge. My room was clean and cool when I checked in - 15 minutes early. They offered us sleds to use at White Sands National Park - saving us 28$ - how nice. We rented a family room, which exceeded my expectations. It was so nice to send my girls to their own room to chat and play while I relaxed. This is a great place to stay - great value - wonderful locally owned small busisness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent value. I would definitely stay here again in a "family room." The rooms are nice for the price. Breakfast was decent. Soaps and shampoos were really cheap and the wi-fi was very shotty, but I would still stay again if I were passing through.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VatoElvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Centro, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The glitz of a bright flashing sign advertising a hotel or business anywhere other than the city of Las Vegas, Nevada is normally an ominous sign; however, if you're looking for great value and a good night's sleep in the city of Alamogordo, New Mexico, turn towards it.

The White Sands Motel, centrally located in Alamogordo, New Mexico is a very basic hotel. No fitness center, no five star amenities; just a clean room with a comfortable bed. In addition, there is wi-fi, a television (with the basic channels one has come to expect with cable,) a fridge and microwave.

Arriving from Cloudcroft and headed towards White Sands National Monument, my stay at the White Sands Motel occurred on July 12, 2012 and was but one small part of a larger road trip through the Southern part of New Mexico. I was accompanied on this trip with my wife and three-year old son.

After my one day stay in Alamogordo, what I can honestly say is this- if you're looking for a five star hotel and all of the amenities that such establishments have to offer towards their clientele, you won't find one in in this city. However, if you're looking for great value and a safe, clean, good night's rest, you needn't look no further.

Dennis M. Price

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank mrelcentro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2012

The reviews on trip advisor were all very positive and the room was clean, but the decor and linens are dated. The hotel looked freshly painted on the outside. The bathroom included original 50s style tile and there was one outlet located on top of the light fixture, so it made it tricky to get ready in the morning. The towels were clean, but stained and very thin - could use some updated linens. We were located on the back of the property with a view of a fence.

The room was fine for one night, but on a return trip, I would try someplace else

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingE-MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

All the GOOD reviews we've read here on trip advisor were right. It was GREAT! We loved the family room having a seperate area for one of the beds. The light sleeper in our group was very appreciative of that. :-) You can't price for the amount we had in our group. The room was spotless. It was very quiet. Staff and other guests were so friendly! Also, a beautiful view of the mountains was nice to wake up to. It was within walking distance of tons of restaraunts. This is the only place I'd stay in Alamogordo!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NMTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alamogordo hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnuson Hotel and Suites Alamogordo
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Alamogordo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
Hampton Inn Alamogordo
#3 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#7 of 13 in Alamogordo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Alamogordo
Super 8 Alamogordo
#1 of 13 in Alamogordo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Sands Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Motel

Property: White Sands Motel
Address: 1101 S White Sands Blvd, Alamogordo, NM 88310-7251
Location: United States > New Mexico > Alamogordo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Alamogordo
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alamogordo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — White Sands Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Sands Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Alamogordo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing