We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience_White Sand, NM, USA” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of White Sands National Monument

White Sands National Monument
Ranked #1 of 20 things to do in Alamogordo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors to this endless waterless sea can enjoy driving, hiking, visiting a museum and sledding down the huge dunes.
Noida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome experience_White Sand, NM, USA”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

I visited this place during my stay at Las Cruces in the winter of 2010. I spent the entire evening at this awesome place exploring various sand patterns and enjoying changing landscape with the sun. Unforgettable experience.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loves_to_travel20130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,229
    415
    52
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Island in the Desert”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Passing through the area on way home from Las Cruces. Had always heard of White Sands so knew we needed to stop. What a pleasure to see the pure white sand and so well maintained. Would stop again although I have now seen it. Great little museum and very nice gift shop. Clean restrooms. A place you can see quickly or spend a day.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Clark Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Whitest of the White”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My family and I had a blast at White Sands National Park! I have to admit I wasn't the most thrilled to stop here being that we were on a road trip and this was just a stop along the way to our destination, but upon seeing the seemingly endless expanse of truly white sand dunes everywhere, I was overcome and felt the insatiable desire to stop our vehicle and climb to the top of some of the dunes. The view of the massive sky coupled with the pure white sand was so amazing that I walked around too much and too far and ended up getting a sunburn and being near exhaustion by the time I made it back to the car! I didn't mind either of these though because I was having too much fun to care!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“White Sands is always a pleasure to visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We visited on a full moon evening when the park stays open till midnight. I'm an avid photographer and enjoyed being able to stay late and get in some night shots. Worth checking out on full moon nights. Tried to get back in on saturday when they were having a balloon festival and the line at 6am was three miles long and not moving. I'd skip that event which has no reflection on the park itself. We skipped that and went to Las Cruces and Rockhound SP near Deming instead.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arlon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Marys
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular natural landscape”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Watching the video was the key to appreciating the natural wonder of this area so take the time to see it first. When you realize how this area came to be, you will truly enjoy its wonder.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vickie L L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Sands National Monument also viewed

 

Been to White Sands National Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing