We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A descent business hotel”
Review of Taj Chandigarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Taj Chandigarh
Ranked #7 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A descent business hotel”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Stayed in March 2013 with family for one night while enroute to Kasauli. It's a nice decent business hotel with a very very nice location. Staff is warma and courteous as you'd expect. The pool side was clean and I was very well attended to. In the morning, the buffet was the usual eggs and south indian stuff. All in all a great hotel to stay at

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShikharJoshi11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Taj Chandigarh, it was indeed a pleasure having you with us.
We very much appreciate your feedback from your stay and are glad that the good services delivered by my capable team contributed towards your overall positive experience.

We endeavour to deliver the highest standards of service to all our guests at all times.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    457
    192
    49
    46
See reviews for
292
142
100
613
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Taj Hotel staff welcomes with so much warmth that you are sold to their service right at the entrance. They make sure that you properly attended without wasting any time. I really love to stay in Taj hotel chain but in Chandigarh i didn't get that great feeling as the hotel property and service looks very average that other places i have stayed. You may try other 5 stars at same or lower cost in chandigarh, however its not that bad either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iMNasir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Trip advisor. As a group we are particularly dedicated to listen to the voice of our guest which is the best barometer for us to enhance our service and quality.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your recent stay experience with us. I would like to urge you to share your feedback with us in detail so that corrective actions can be taken on the same.

Please feel free to contact me directly on tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com, my team and I look forward to continuing being of service to you as a valued guest.

Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My first stay in this hotel was in 2006 and since then have stayed a number of times and found a consistency in the service standards....in fact the experience always gets better.

Staff is courteous and always ready to help.Always been on business trips so its like coming HOME after the days work.

Rooms are comfortable and functional. Need to be brightened up a bit.....
Have always enjoyed the food spread. The personalised touch in the services is heartwarming.

The location is excellent and you are in the centre of city which is very helpful.
Recent visit restored and further enhanced the earlier held trust in this excellent property of Taj and its staff. The overall experience is like a refereshing cup of Tea after the days work !!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MG_del_2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Taj Chandigarh, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found consistency and improvements over the years.

It pleases me enormously to know that the Taj hospitality, services, rooms and food were much appreciated by you. Also it is good to know that the location of the property is convenient for our guests.

I trust that the Taj Chandigarh charm will attract you soon and it will be our pleasure to delight you yet again.
Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Check-in was fast and efficient but we had to extend our stay due to illness and due to poor communciation between reservations and reception, we were asked to check out repeatedly-which was not a good exerience.Reception did call a doctor to our room and bought medication for us which we appreciated a great deal.Food was excellent and decor was superb.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ranjeetha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. As a group we are particularly dedicated to listen to the voice of our guest which is the best barometer for us to enhance our service and quality.

Whilst we are glad that the food and décor at our hotel was much appreciated by you, we are very sorry to learn of the inconvenience caused to you and your family.
I would like to thank you for complimenting the front office team for the exemplary service done by them.
My team and I look forward to continuing being of service to you as a valued guest.

Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambala, India
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were 3 couples and had reserved 3 rooms..
Location is excellent and Room view was also very good
Room service was very poor.
Nothing special for welcome of guests.
I got my full luggage after approx. One& half hour and that too after repeated calls on reception
We asked for a Extra beddings, that too was Not upto the mark.
Our food was being served approx 45 mins after our order.
overall it was a hopeless experience. .

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapilgupta9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback on Tripadvisor.com. As a group we are particularly dedicated to listen to the voice of our guest which is the best barometer for us to enhance our service and quality.

We regret the inconvenience caused to you with regards to your recent stay experience with us. Whilst we are glad that the hotel’s location and room view was much appreciated by you, we are very sorry to learn of the service short falls with regards to the concierge, housekeeping and in room dining services. I would like to assure you that I have made a note of this and would take it up with the concerned departmental head for immediate rectification.

We endeavour to deliver the highest standards of service to all our guests at all times. My team and I sincerely hope that you will grant us another opportunity in the future to extend our true and warm hospitality to you. Thank you very much for staying with us and for your feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2014

If you ever plan a trip to Chandigarh, stay at Taj Chandigarh will make your stay remarkable. Along with the warmth of the Taj experience, a touch of Punjabi hospitality is a feather in the cap. Recently on a business trip to the Chandigarh, I stayed in Taj Chandigarh and checked out with an overall comfortable experience. Apart from the lavish interior of the room, the hotel offers a great choice of cuisine ranging from oriental to Indian and the flavors energize you in your each and every bite. The 24 hours functional cafeteria is not only a good meeting place but also offers a good refreshment be it in their cafe or in the cozy comfort of your room. Their business center is well equipped which only requires you to carry your personal material of discussion and the staff present their is well trained as they are particular about your requirement at every moment, be it coffee with snacks or something part of your meeting in process. A day in your business trip usually ends up keeping you exhausted, but after spending some time in their LAVA bar, you would never realize how your mind goes on chilling as their fine range of cocktails and one of the best wine collection calms you down. Of course, business trips are not just strictly commercial, one always wishes to explore a new destination, the location of the hotel is so prime that the main attractions of the city are just minutes away, be it Sector 17, the symbol of Chandigarh which is couple of minutes walk from the hotel, or the rock garden where the shuttle takes you in minutes. I would always recommend Taj Chandigarh, whenever one plans a visit to the planned city of India. The overall experience was incredible.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taman786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Taj Chandigarh, we are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found it to be remarkable.

Thank you for your kind feedback with regards to the hotel, staff and facilities at Taj Chandigarh. It is of great importance to us when our guest takes time to let us know about our services and quality. As a group we are particularly dedicated to listen to the voice of our guest which is the best barometer of our services.

We truly appreciate your recommendations as we all look forward to having you back at Taj Chandigarh soon. Our management and staff will be delighted to be of your service and I am sure you will again have a memorable and enjoyable experience with us always.

Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The rooms are very comfortable like they ought to be in a Taj. But overall, the property is not like your typical premium Taj. The lobby is small, the ceiling heights are low, the bar and restaurants are too simple... but somehow, it all combines well into a warm and pleasant experience. And the location bang in the city centre helps. Finally, the room rates are a pleasant surprise considering its a Taj with its excellent manpower and services. Totally recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotoShirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Taj Chandigarh, it was indeed a pleasure having you with us.
Whilst it is disheartening to learn that you were not quite satisfied with the look and esthetics of the restaurants and the overall design of the property. We very much appreciate your feedback with regards to your overall stay experience with us. I am particularly glad that the good service delivered by my capable team contributed towards your overall positive experience. It is also good to know that the location of the property was very much appreciated by you.

It was a pleasure having you with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Surinder Singh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#3 of 100 in Chandigarh
459 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#4 of 100 in Chandigarh
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
640 reviews
3.0 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Chandigarh

Property: Taj Chandigarh
Address: Block No.9 | Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
#6 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandigarh, the capital of the states of the Punjab and Haryana set at the foothills of the majestic Himalayas, was planned by the French architect Le Corbusier after India’s independence. The young-at-heart, fast-growing and progressive city is striking for its urban planning, impressive buildings with brise-soleil facades, well-organized sectors and broad tree-lined avenuesTaj Chandigarh celebrates the dynamic spirit of Chandigarh in its sophisticated architecture and interiors. The newly built hotel, located in Sector 17, the city’s prime business and shopping area, is a comfortable 30-minutes drive from the airport and a 15-minutes drive from the railway station. Taj Chandigarh is the city’s finest hotel and is well suited to both business and leisure travellers to Chandigarh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Taj Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Chandigarh Hotel Chandigarh
Taj Hotel Chandigarh
Chandigarh Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing