We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel in a beautiful city” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Taj Chandigarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taj Chandigarh
Ranked #7 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A good hotel in a beautiful city”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Taj at Chandigarh was once the only 5 star hotel in this beautiful city and had a monopoly of sort which they enjoyed for years. Now that many new and better 5 star hotels have come up, there is an urgent need for Taj to upgrade and refurbish to keep up with the name. But that doesn't mean that the hotel or the service is poor. However in order to claim being a Taj property and a 5 star one, they better do it at the earliest. My stay in the last week of January was otherwise fine and the food was also good. the breakfast menu was also good and the staff were very attentive and caring.

Room Tip: The hotel is close to Sec. 17 market which is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maheshshivam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking out time and posting your review in Tripadvisor!!

Our endeavor is to provide world class experience to all our guest in every aspect. You will be happy to know that we are in process of a phased refurbishment plan, starting from the rooms to restaurant. Soon you will see a fresh face!!

We appreciate your positive impression about the hotels food, service and courtesy of our associates..

We look forward to welcome you soon!!

Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    458
    429
    179
    46
    43
See reviews for
253
131
95
580
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

I'm Sitting in room number 637 and writing this review in frustration because there is a party downstairs and the noise is just too much. Reception would not answer the phone nor would the duty manager.

1) Wanted to call the hotel and confirm the booking a few days earlier. I tried the whole day and spent so much time waiting on the call and no one would answer. Later it got transferred to the common taj customer care who informed me that this is small team and they struggle to answer the calls. Horrible excuse.

2) Check-in took 15 mins and was given a room in the smoking floor despite explicitly mentioning in the booking form for a non-smoking room. The room was small and the mirror had a crack.

3) Was shifted to 637 upon requesting for a room change and this room was good and spacious. Only to realise later that the noise would play the spoilsport (happening right now as I right this)

4) My 4 year old son was playing int he lobby and touched a light (pretty much within the reach of a 4 year old). The light was too hot and the poor thing was crying for a long time. I had to take him to the wash room and run cold water on his palm.

Worst night ahead of an important official event tomorrow in which I'm a speaker.

Will not come back here to Taj Chandigarh again for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

This property doesn't deserves to be a Taj property, here are some specifics from my experience at this property which made it a very bad experience:
1.) There were no road signs mentioned to help with finding the hotel even very near to the property, even when you enter the hotel the MAIN sign of the hotel is covered by trees and other objects so one doesn't even know they are at the Taj until you enter the property.
2.) The rooms were very poor, there was an empty beer bottle lying behind the curtains in my room, the carpets in the room were completely worn out and they seemed pretty dated, the beds were not made properly in the room.
3.) The air conditioning was not working properly in my room.

Only pros:
1) The hotel lobby area is well lit and has a good ambiance
2) Breakfast buffet in which we participated was good-> good options, good food.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aish G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

I and my husband stayed at Taj Chandigarh for 1 night in Dec 2012. I must say we were quite shocked and later unhappy about the entire stay. The experience was not something worth a five-star property, let along Taj group of hotels. We stayed here on 31st Dec. We arrived at the hotel around 10 PM. There was a long queue for our car to get inside, and once we reached entrance gate, we were told that car parking is full due to some party, and our car will be parked outside. This surprised us, since as guests with rooms, we should have been given priority vs people who had come for couple of hours. We then entered the hotel, and to our utter surprise, we found that the hotel was conducting a New Year Party right in the lobby, in open hall with no partition !!! ( they had just put some branded boards as partition). The entire lobby was full of loud music and drinking and dancing people. A good way for the hotel to mint money by organizing a new year party in lobby when they don't have a hall, and completely disregarding the comfort of the resident guests.
With this loud music as a background, we went to the reception desk, to face a blank staff who were either disinterested to welcome us or tired. It took 5-10 minutes of shouting on top of our voice ( to be heard above the loud music) to get our check in done. Occasionally, we had to write on paper since the noise was too much. Our luggage took another 10 minutes to come with nobody having a clue to get it in. After this harassing experience, we were shown to our room. We were on 4th floor, room no 401. The room was smelly, there was only one pair of slipper & bathrobe, toiletries were not kept. In short, we were taken aback by the state of the room. To top it off, the noise from the open-air New Year Party was coming loud and clear in our room (even after we shut our door). When we asked the porter till what time the party will go on, he seemed least concerned and said 'till late hours'. We then immediately called Housekeeping to get room freshener and toiletries. It came after 20 minutes , after 3 calls. By that time we began to wonder whether we were actually in a Taj hotel or some random place. Thankfully the music stopped around 2 AM, and we were able to sleep. We were in no mood to try breakfast in the morning after such an experience. The checkout as expected was slow and the staff did not seem concerned to even take feedback.
Overall, a bad experience. It might be decent as a 3 star business hotel, but do not expect five star services. The hotel abysmally falls short of the standards of Taj group of hotels.

Room Tip: Do not stay if you expect five star services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RashiSethiaMittal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baughurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
165 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Chandigarh is the only truly planned city in India and worth a visit for that alone. The Taj is well placed next to the Rose Garden and close to the lake and Rock Garden.

The room felt a bit tired - my TV and phone didn't work and the AC was flaky. The public areas aren't too bad though. There are a number of bars and restaurants serving a range of cuisines. Staff are generally very good and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MWC2409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for sharing your thoughts and insights from your recent stay at Taj Chandigarh.

My team and I truly regret the inconvenience you encountered during your stay with us.

Please be assured that we have reviewed our process and made necessary corrections to ensure that all our guests enjoy rooms that are comfortable and in good working order.

We very much appreciate your feedback on the choices of restaurants and the courtesy and competency of our team.

Thankyou once again for staying with us, we hope for another oppurtunity in future to welcome you back and deliver a better stay experience to you...

Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

A good hotel to stay at, if business is the purpose of your stay in Chandigarh (and I wonder why else would one go to this beautiful, boring city?). Got upgraded to a luxury room/suite on check-in by Mr. Amrinder, which already set the bar high. My chauffeurs were given good spots to park the cars. The room was very spacious and well laid out, and the colour palette of the marbles and wood in the rooms and throughout the lobby area are rather classy. The service everywhere from the valets to doormen to the concierge to the laundry attendant is super, which is what you would expect in Punjab! Bad bits (and they're quite a few of them) - the rooms have spotlights everywhere and make the room look dark and dull and some rather ugly blue reading lights. The elevator has a knack of breaking down which it did while I was in it. The beds are not at all comfortable and the pillows are either springy or lumpy - they probably haven't changed these since they opened. The worst part of the hotel was the Indian restaurant - while the food and service were ChandiGood!, the decor was ChandiYuck! It's a lobby restaurant serving Indian food, and they've got these disco lighting contraptions that change neon colours. Not cool!

Location-wise, The Taj is bang in the middle of a small city, so you can get to practically anywhere in 5-15 minutes which makes this place a huge winner. All in all, worth the stay!

Room Tip: Higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BombayBiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your generous comments for Taj Chandigarh...

Whilst we are glad that our facilities, service, food and location met your expectations; we regret the shortfalls in lighting and bed comfort in the room.

Please be assured that your feedback and suggestions are of great importance to us and the same have been taken up for necessary delibration.

We hope for another oppurtunity in the future to welcome you back and deliver a seamless experience.

Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Taj even though my first impression was what made me book this old property. The property is a bit dated however everything else about our stay was excellent - very friendly team who were willing to help with any request - even helped to dress me in a sari for a wedding function. Good gym equipment. Excellent massage at the spa - good food. Location is good and central - we used the Hotel car which was reasonable. My only comment is that the night rates were a bit expensive booked via hotels.com when comparing to other hotels in the region they might have some stiff competition when it comes to value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for posting your reviews on tripadvisor.com.

Please be assured that your feedback and suggestions are important to us and it has been taken up with the concerned departments for necesseary delibration.

I greatly appreciate your positive impressions about the hotels food, spa equipment, location and the overall services from the staff.

We look forward to welcome you back soon...

Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#3 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#2 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
7.7 mi away
Park Plaza Zirakpur
Park Plaza Zirakpur
#1 of 18 in Zirakpur
4.0 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Chandigarh

Property: Taj Chandigarh
Address: Block No.9 | Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
#5 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandigarh, the capital of the states of the Punjab and Haryana set at the foothills of the majestic Himalayas, was planned by the French architect Le Corbusier after India’s independence. The young-at-heart, fast-growing and progressive city is striking for its urban planning, impressive buildings with brise-soleil facades, well-organized sectors and broad tree-lined avenuesTaj Chandigarh celebrates the dynamic spirit of Chandigarh in its sophisticated architecture and interiors. The newly built hotel, located in Sector 17, the city’s prime business and shopping area, is a comfortable 30-minutes drive from the airport and a 15-minutes drive from the railway station. Taj Chandigarh is the city’s finest hotel and is well suited to both business and leisure travellers to Chandigarh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Indian Hotels Company Limited, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Taj Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Chandigarh Hotel Chandigarh
Taj Hotel Chandigarh
Chandigarh Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing