We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A TAJ of a different kind”
Review of Taj Chandigarh

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Taj Chandigarh
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A TAJ of a different kind”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

I have been to several Taj hotels but this one felt a bit different. The rooms were not as big as meant to be but the hospitality and the food makes up to that pretty well. I really liked the breakfast provided. The gym instructor was very helpful as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SachinG163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thankyou for taking out time and posting your thoughts on the tripadvisor.com.
It was unfortunate that you were not cent percent satisfied, but your positive impression about the hotels Hospitality, food and Fitness advisor will surely motivate and encourage us.

I look forward to welcome you back to the Taj Tradition and ensure a delightful stay.

Warm Regards
Anil Malhotra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    445
    186
    47
    44
See reviews for
272
138
100
598
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ludhiana, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2013

It was the first time i booked a holiday package from Rpc for us @ Hotel Taj Chandigarh.The natural beauty with greenery made the vacation rich with great moments,one we never had before.I travel a lot but the Taj hotel is a very good ,neat & clean hotel.I took a room on 4th floor with the beautiful balcony view.The staff was very co-operative and helpful. Roooms services,food and hospitality were wonderful.
Overall my best stay till now.
now.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalwinderLDH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature.
Your comments will go a long way in motivating our associates and employees.
We look forward to welcome you again soon...
Warm Regards,
Anil Malhotra
tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia, Moscow
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Besides a very comfortable stay at the hotel, I particularly enjoyed dining at the hotel's in-house restaurants. The' Dera' (indian cuisine) was a treat beyond compare. The jumbo prawns and kebabs were cooked to perfection. The meal was served piping hot as it should be.
The restaurant staff were knowledgable ,courteous and extremely attentive to every detail , during the meal. No self-respecting connoisseur of indian cuisine, should pass up the opportunity to dine at the ' Dera' , Taj, Chandigarh.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature.
Your comments will go a long way in motivating our associates and employees.
We look forward to welcome you again soon...
Warm Regards,
Anil Malhotra
tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Every aspect of this fine hotel is commendable. The lobby is large , airy and well laid-out. The guest rooms are fitted to suit even the most discerning traveller. The rooms were as clean as a whistle, bathrooms fitted with all the amenities required for a comfortable stay. The bed was a treat , with squeaky clean sheets & luxurious pillows. Rooms were cleaned regularly on short notice.Thoroughly enjoyed my stay at the hotel,would return to this property as my first choice in Chandigarh. I would like to thank the professional staff and the General manager , in particular, for their very warm hospitality.

Altaf.S.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AltafDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature.
Your comments will go a long way in motivating our associates and employees.
We look forward to welcome you again soon...
Warm Regards,
Anil Malhotra
tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2013

The Taj Chandigarh has been the best hotel I have ever been to so far. I travel a lot in US for business a lot and stay in very good place but the Taj Chandigarh has been the best experience. My lugagge was taken from me as soon as I stepped out brought to the room, my checkin was smooth, I ate at black lotus and it was good chinese after a while. The laundry service was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank riaz1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest
We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgement of such a positive nature.
Your comments will go a long way in motivating our associates and employees.
We look forward to welcome you again soon...
Warm Regards,
Anil Malhotra
tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Compared to other taj hotels this should be a 3 star, maximum 4 star! But never ever a 5 star??
1.) room is clean but when it comes to details like towels, warderobe, etc its dirty! Dust in warderobe was reported but the manager said, yes we painted and after 3-4 days this dust shall be removed by themselves!!!!! Have never met some dust disapearing by themselves? Did you?
2.) service is fine but I feel to have to load every service person who I meet with some tipps every time? Why they charged me for water or 650 rs for just a plain rice in my room? I dont know???
3.) SPA should better lose this name, gym and steam bath only, thats it! Outdoor pool fine but now its cold!
4.) breakfast is a great disappointment, I am not friend of large buffets but this one is absolutely small compared to the size of hotel?? Waiting for omelet and juices around 25 minutes, 35 service persons but just 3 organized and professionals waitress would do a much better job, kitchen is overloaded and not organized, plates finished, water finished, bread finished, ....... NO GO FOR 5 STAR...

I will never come back to this hotel, even if it would be for free! Other taj hotels I visited excluded!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bmaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback in the trip advisor.

Allow me to apologize for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay experience with us. Please be assured that the concerns has been taken up with the departmental heads for immediate deliberation and rectification.

Your patronage at the Taj is extremely important to us and we hope that this incident will not cause you to look unfavorably at Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. We regret for the inconvenience and look forward to welcome you back.

Thank you
Anil Malhotra
Tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Candolim, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile


We had a one night stop over on our way to shimla...
Here's how.horrible this place is-
5*outside and the guard tells u that there is no parking....
No valet and no courtesy.....
So u park ur car at the paid parking in front of the horrible hotel and carry ur luggage to he hotel to be told( extremely rudely) that the gate is for exit( at late evening and fog the lack of light makea it difficult to read the sign if it is written). The rude guard did.not offer to ask sm one to help with bags insted is so rude it made me wanna shout at him.

So now we drag bags to the other gate and the gates are shut as if ensuring no one comea in(wasnt a hotel meant to be welcoming???????) and then the ppl at the desk appeared after 15 minutes!!!!!

We moved to the.hotel room which was not like a taj room- we had a very ordinary breakfast Buffet and went ahead to the car which had to be cleaned as it was not parkes under any cover...

Dint feel like a five star stay..... The experience was horrible the stay was so ordinary, breakfast wAs so ordinary anz there is no parking and no manners in the staff.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTaj, General Manager at Taj Chandigarh, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank-you for posting your review in the Tripadvisor.com..

Objective Feedbacks such as yours help us improve our existing process and ensures guests have a memorable experience every time.

We have noted your dissatisfaction towards the mentioned points and we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you.

Please be assured that corrective actions are being put in place.

Please do write back to me directly on ‘tcgm.chandigarh@tajhotels.com’

Your patronage at the Taj is extremely important to us and we hope that this incident will not cause you to look unfavorably at Taj Chandigarh and Taj Hotels Resorts and Palaces. We regret the inconvenience caused and look forward to welcome you back soon…

Warm Regards,
Anil Malhotra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
1.7 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#2 of 100 in Chandigarh
417 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#3 of 100 in Chandigarh
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 100 in Chandigarh
610 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
0.6 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#22 of 100 in Chandigarh
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taj Chandigarh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taj Chandigarh

Property: Taj Chandigarh
Address: Block No.9 | Sector 17 A, Chandigarh 160017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
#5 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Taj Chandigarh 5*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chandigarh, the capital of the states of the Punjab and Haryana set at the foothills of the majestic Himalayas, was planned by the French architect Le Corbusier after India’s independence. The young-at-heart, fast-growing and progressive city is striking for its urban planning, impressive buildings with brise-soleil facades, well-organized sectors and broad tree-lined avenuesTaj Chandigarh celebrates the dynamic spirit of Chandigarh in its sophisticated architecture and interiors. The newly built hotel, located in Sector 17, the city’s prime business and shopping area, is a comfortable 30-minutes drive from the airport and a 15-minutes drive from the railway station. Taj Chandigarh is the city’s finest hotel and is well suited to both business and leisure travellers to Chandigarh ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoftTaj, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Taj Chandigarh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Chandigarh Hotel Chandigarh
Taj Hotel Chandigarh
Chandigarh Taj Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing