We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible....Crying for renovation”
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivalik View
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Horrible....Crying for renovation”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I arrived post the usual check-in time but the room was not ready. The hotel was busy with a local wedding group which could have caused the delay. There was a luggage screening machine at the entrance but no one to operate it. The lady at the entrance told me it doesn't matter and screening is not required. How can safety be compromised like this? I believe the public areas have been renovated but I was utterly disappointed when I reached my room. It was in a dilapidated condition. Rooms need to be scraped completely and done again. Basic cleanliness and hygiene was compromised. The washroom had used toiletries of the guest who had stayed before me. Linen looked worn out and needs urgent replacement. It doesn't give you a clean and fresh feeling. Floors have tiles which need major scrubbing grout removing.

Food was below average. Breakfast in the coffee shop looks unappealing. It was like a cheap banquet affair. I could figure out that they had a low paying group in-house and hence the breakfast variety and quality was compromised.

I will never stay in this hotel nor recommend this hotel to anyone. I had to change my hotel. There are much better options in the city at similar prices.

Room Tip: I would day AVOID the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gypsymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
it is with deep sense of regret that we learn t about the discomfort you were put to during your recent stay with us.
In fact it is our endeavor to provide flawless comforts and efficient services to our valuable guests like you. despite our best efforts some times due to technical/human error we are let down . However let us assure you that we shall not spare any effort to bring improvement consistently to provide best services in all respect to our valued guests.You would be delighted to know that steps towards your suggestions are on the anvil and hopefully we shall be able to provide you the best of facilities during your next visit.
we are looking forward your repeated visit in our Hotel and to extend our gracious hospitality.
Warm regards,
Umesh Mani Dikshit,
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    142
    93
    23
    12
See reviews for
85
27
28
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Nice stay with helpful staff.. Nice to have beakfast and dinner included with room cost - with good selection of food. Laundry service very good and quick. Taxi service helpful. Easy to get auto or bicycle rickshaw on the street outside the hotel. Good security - I felt safe. Having to pay for internet was not good and even when paid for it didn't always work. Having free internet for all guests would be so much better and simplier for all. Otherwise, very nice stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for sparing your valuable time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It gives us an immense pleasure & satisfaction to see that our guests enjoy their stay with us. It is always our endeavor to provide personalized services to all our guests. Your compliments have been shared with the entire team who were delighted to note that their efforts were so well recognized. Your suggestion to introduce complimentary Wi-FI usage to the resident guests has been brought to the notice of the Management for a favorable consideration.
Thank you again for staying with us . It will be our distinct privilege to serve you in the future.
Kindest Regards,
For Hotel Shivalikview,
Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This is the one of the very few hotels in my experience which offers complimentary buffet dinner! The rooms are really huge and comfortable. The buffet breakfast spread has good variety for indian palate. The service is courteous and the location is central! What more can anyone ask? The pricing is good but the only thing I have to comment is that this is a very old building and age is catching up with it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drdvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Dear Sir,
We are extremely delighted to know that you had a pleasant experience with us, during your recent trip to our "City Beautiful". At Hotel Shivalikview every guest is "Guest of Hon our".
We appreciate your all praise of our guest rooms and courteous staff. Your suggestion regarding the our Hotel's building old look has been brought to the notice of Executive Engg. , who would be taking appropriate action accordingly.
we once again express our gratitude for the review and would love to serve you again on your next visit to our " City Beautiful".
Warm regards,
Umesh Mani Dixit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013

The location is central near to sector 17. Hotel is neat and clean with swimming pool, Gym and all usual stuff. Price includes Breakfast and Dinner which is quite unusual and beneficial to the travellers. Breakfast is awesome with freshly baked croissant, muffins, fruits, northern India specialities, southern India items etc. Coffee is just superb. French fries/potato chips/wedges better than home. Food does not cause stomach upset because of hygiene standards. Room service very quick - 5 minutes. Bell boy attends in 5 minutes, rather less than that. Hotel has more capacity but apparently was not full. They need to have aggressive marketing like Pvt. companies. It should be full with such good facilities. Extra bed is costly and they do not insist that you have extra bed for your child. LCD TV and cable TV works fine. Airconditioning is just perfect and controls work here which sometime do not work in other hotels. Bathroom hygienic with clean towels. However the wardrobe was dusty which could be kept clean easily. Internet is charged at Rs. 112 per hour and Rs. 350 unlimited for day with 5 MBPS faster than MTNL. It could be free which everybody would appreciate and feel happy. Travellers can buy datacard instead. I used 1 hour internet to charge my datacard and saved further money.Soft drink 500 ml bottle is free/complimentary.......this is appreciable. Tea/coffee is available in room with electric kettle. The staff in Bazm restaurant where complimentary B/F and dinner is served, has very courteous/pleasant staff. They serve on the table also in the buffet system which is sometimes resisted in other restaurants. They do not bother/expect the tip in this regard. The walk outside the hotel on both the sides front and back is really refreshing.

Room Tip: Choose room in higher floor on the backside facing the green forest area. Do not take extra bed. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sg103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Sir,
This is with reference to your comments about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us. We are glad to note that you had a very comfortable and memorable stay with us.
We are indeed thankful to you for your encouraging review of our property and kind words of appreciation. We have shared your sentiments to the every member of our team which they have found very generous and very motivating.
Thank you so very much once again for recommending/appreciating us on this public platform.
We are looking forward your repeated visit to our Hotel and to extend our gracious hospitality.
warm regards,
For Hotel Shivalikview,
Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I stayed with family on 18th & 19th Sep 2013

Hotel is very centrally located in Sector 17. Good and helpful staff. Being a Govt owned hotel, i was surprised to see courteous and hospitable staff. Nice Rooms. Good Punjabi food. Naan reorders were delivered to table at lightning speed. Would like to stay again!

Room Tip: Excellent for Business & Family Stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chandraweb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Sir,
This is with reference to your comments about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us. while thanking you profusely for your continued patronage, We are glad to note that you had a very comfortable and memorable stay with us.
We indeed thankful to you for your encouraging review of our property and kind words of appreciation. We have shared your sentiments to the every member of our team which they have found very generous and very motivating.
Thank you so very much once again for recommending/appreciating us on this public platform.
We are looking forward your repeated visit to our Hotel and to extend our gracious hospitality.
warm regards,
For Hotel Shivalikview,
Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed for a night only. Was surpised to see the clean, fresh rooms with really good room service. Staff at reception really friendly. Food quality quite nice. Mr Narang, manager is gem of a person. Will again visit for sure.

Room Tip: Obviously rooms on front , on high floor. Try 5 th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 952KayDee333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Dear Sir,
This is with reference to your comments about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us. while thanking you profusely for your continued patronage, We are glad to note that you had a very comfortable and memorable stay with us.
We indeed thankful to you for your encouraging review of our property and kind words of appreciation. We have shared your sentiments to the every member of our team which they have found very generous and very motivating.
Thank you so very much once again for recommending/appreciating us on this public platform.
We are looking forward your repeated visit to our Hotel and to extend our gracious hospitality.
warm regards,
For Hotel Shivalikview,
Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

This hotel is centrally located in the sector -17 of Chandigarh and very close to all major business and shopping hubs.
This is now a much improved hotel with much improved service.
They have now come up with their fitness centre which is excellent having high class equipments and good trainers.
Their swimming pool too is operational now.

They need to improve on the spread of their buffet breakfast/Dinner which is included in the hotel tariff.Their new coffee shop is very good.The hotel is surrounded by total greenary on all sides.
They need to improve their bathroom

Room Tip: take room on higher floor with balcony to enjoy greenary all around
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shivalikview17, Guest Relations Manager at Shivalik View, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Keshery,
At the out set we would like to take this opportunity to express our sincere thanks for the kind patronage and support we have been receiving from your good self from time to time.
We are indeed thankful to you for sparing some time to comments about the services of our Hotel during your recent stay with us. while thanking you profusely for your continued patronage, We are glad to note that your over all experience with our Hotel was same what you had enjoyed before.
We indeed thankful to you for your encouraging review of our property and kind words of appreciation. We have shared your sentiments to the every member of our team which they have found very generous and very motivating.However your suggestions about the Menu planning etc has been brought to the notice of the Chef for the further improvement.
Thank you so very much once again for appreciating us on this public platform.
We are looking forward your repeated visit to our Hotel and to extend our gracious hospitality.
warm regards,
For Hotel Shivalikview,
Umesh Mani Dikshit
Guest Relation Executive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#10 of 100 in Chandigarh
640 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#20 of 100 in Chandigarh
287 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 100 in Chandigarh
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#5 of 100 in Chandigarh
965 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel City Heart Premium
Hotel City Heart Premium
#35 of 100 in Chandigarh
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 100 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing