We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shivalik Chandigarh” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shivalik View
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
New Delhi
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shivalik Chandigarh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Shivalik is a no frills hotel, located in the heart of Chandigarh. Rooms are ok, and food is ok too. Nothing spectacular. But, the location makes for most of the good stuff. Since it is a Government owned Hotel, you can expect to experience a laid-back staff.

All in all, a place where you could stay with your family for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rdhawan15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    135
    86
    23
    12
See reviews for
82
24
28
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

it is under renovation. still pretty good. includes break fast and dinner by default. roof top eating place excellent. centrally located. part of a local hotel chain, owned by tourism department. would recommend for both holiday and business visitors

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramnathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

The rooms were very big and so were the bathrooms . But somewhere class was missing for the money you pay. The rooms had old electric plug points which some were defective. Very expensive for the facilities you get in the room. The buffet spread for both lunch and dinner spread could have been better. Was definitely expecting more value for the money you pay (Rs. 6200) for double occupancy

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tripkart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at the Shivalik View on 29 & 30 June 2012 to attend a conference at nearby Taj Chandigarh.

Reservation over the phone was a breeze (less than 90 seconds actually) once I managed to get past the ninja switch operator who just wouldn't forward my call to reservation until I told him what my purpose of ringing was. I mean, why would anyone ring a hotel reservation? But anyway, it was a humourous experience nonetheless!

Check-in was again a breeze - less than 5 minutes from saying 'Good afternoon' to my being in the elevator enroute to my room.

This hotel has me stumped.

Its neither a bad hotel nor is it a good hotel. And, yet, in many ways, it isn't average either.

For those who travel a fair bit will find it dated, lethargic, trying to be something which it once may have been but hasn't been able to retain etc.

Don't get me wrong. My room was spacious. Had most of the mod cons we expect from a 4-star property, but yet, something was amiss. And, that something, after all these days, I feel is competitiveness and contemporaniety. Its almost that this hotel is only there because its there. Its not as if it wants to be there! I don't know its history, but I have a strong feeling that its seen much grander days before being swamped by other 'younger and more relevant hotels'.

The linen was spotted and stained. Flooring was marble. Whilst this was great in the sweltering 40+ degrees heat outside, it would be horrendous in winters I imagine. The upholstery in the chairs, the table wood, glass etc, bed side tables & lamps, wardrobes were not just too plain. They had also seen much better and happier times! But now, its time to retire them gracefully and bring in new stock.

The bathroom had been re-done but not finished thoroughly. The 1-inch high marble strip between the shower area (no bath-tub in the bathroom) and the rest of the bathroom just isn't suitable to contain the water in the shower area. And, the shower curtains don't go all the way to the hapless marble strip.

Consequently, 30 seconds into the shower, the floor is all wet (and I mean really wet), and the water is then transferred to the room's marble floor with good ol' feet while walking! And, unlike a carpet floor that can soak water, marble doesn't like water which can potentially cause a slip hazard. So, instead of keeping your shower mat outside the shower (as you normally would), I suggest that you keep it outside the bathroom door. This will ensure it remains dry and your feet don't wet the precious marble floor!

The restaurant (rooftop Chinese restaurant (I forget the name) hasdbeen converted into an Indian restaurant serving buffet meals. My package included breakfast and dinner. Both were served in the same restaurant. And, both were equally apologetic.

It seemed as if this hotel's kitchen and its creativity are trapped in a time warp. And, that too, a time of almost 30 years ago.

The dinner buffet was equal to or worse than an above average wedding caterer in Delhi. Except that most such caterers in Delhi would outperform the hotel in number of dishes, taste, imagination, and presentation.

The 3 'western salads' that they did include (2 pastas and 1 potato) in the dinner buffet had probably been there the previous night, or were leftovers from an afternoon assignment. They had definitely seen a better time before being locked in the cool room until their release for the dinner buffet.

And, to top it, restaurant service reminded me of the laid back, lethargic, almost non-present service in some of Delhi's clubs during the mid 80s.

Breakfast buffet in the morning was no different and equally un-spectacular in all respects.

Check-out was again quick - less than 5 minutes - which included receiving the bill and making the payment.

I would go back to this hotel because the room package includes breakfast and another major meal (however non-eventful both those are). And, when travelling for business, its a great headache to not think about dinner arrangements, getting ready to go out, local transport etc

But, chiefly, I would go back to this hotel because of its central location - literally 7 minutes walk to Sector 17 market and Chandigarh bus terminal - great to catch a Haryana Roadways Volvo bus back to Gurgaon for only Rs 620 each way. Its a great travel option considering Shatabdi tickets are not always available, and a return flight ticket now costs more than a 2 night stay at the hotel.

Would I go there with my family - No. There are much better options in its and slightly higher price range. And, particularly because renovatoins are being carried out, and their swimming pool is still a 'hole in the ground' - literally!

Room Tip: Advisable to pick a room that isn't facing the main road (front of the hotel) and preferably in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GauravSareen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chandigarh
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

The property is under massive renovation. Everything is in make shift arrangement. So, stay there only if you want to be very very centrally located. Otherwise you may prefer some other hotel. The property is otherwise nice, clean(not very clean) and decent. Do try our the new Cloud 9 restaurant. The view is amazing from there.

Room Tip: prefer rooms facing the parade ground. They are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanChd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
178 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

The single rooms are tiny (so I've heard), but the double rooms are as big as suites! In fact they are definitely bigger than the suites at The Taj next door! lol
Super service / staff and the rooftop bar is pretty nice in the evenings.
Rooms and loos are very clean and the lighting is superb!
Room services is prompt and the buffet downstairs is not too bad either!

Its located quite close to Sector 17 (main shopping area). You can walk it there in about 5-10minutes.

Room Tip: Pick a back facing room for the greenery!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jensom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
205 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

This is now a much improved property run by CITCO.The overall look of the hotel,attitude of staffs and service quality has improved tremendously since December 2012.I visit this hotel very frequently.Was little disappointed during my last visit in December 2011 but during my recent visist in April 2012 I saw tremendous change in the hotel .It is now much improved hotel.Renovation work is going on since last two years and it is still not complete.Their fitness centre and swimming pool is yet to become operational.It is stretched too long now.
uality of rooms ,food quality and overall hospitality is now much better.
Hotel is centrally located and the surrounding is very very green.

Room Tip: Choose a room on higher floor with balcony to enjoy the greenary of Chandigarh
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DilipKeshary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.9 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.3 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#5 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#20 of 98 in Chandigarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#7 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing