We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Place to Stay - Good Service - Great Food!”
Review of Shivalik View

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Shivalik View
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Chandigarh
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent Place to Stay - Good Service - Great Food!”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

I stayed here last year in the suite and it was an amazing place. The flooring was wooden, the room size was big and the bathroom was lavish. Overall the best place to stay if you are new in Chandigarh. The restaurant has some great menu in breakfast and the buffet on weekdays are just made for pocket conscious people. Buffet is available only for 400 / head which is not expensive.

The room service was quick and the lobby area was also clean. The best part is the location of the hotel as it is in the center of city and all markets are close to the area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harmeet Singh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    139
    90
    23
    12
See reviews for
84
26
27
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dehradun, India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Well...well....welll.... what should I write in the first ever review for a hotel I've been frequenting for the last 12 years. I can only say its changing. Both for the good and the bad. This is a government hotel and mind you the Government part stops at that. Nowhere in this country have I found such a well maintained hotel both in facilities and services. The rooms are the biggest you would find anywhere; with courteous staff; good menu and the restaurant; and efficient service. I have been witness to many small changes in the hotel during the last 12 years. However, this time the change is big. The investment is being done on the interiors of the complete hotel. Most of its has been finished and a lot still remains. This visit of mine was after a gap of almost two years.. What I found was that though the new changes like wooden flooring, wall paneling, led lamps; lcd tvs are good; the old time charms (utilities) are found missing. Like in the toilet the new glass sink is totally useless and clumsy to use; the storage options in the rooms are miniscule; the buffet lacks the variety and things like these. But still overall the place is the my and my families favorite one. In fact my 6 yr old daughter, who's been staying here since she was 06 month, would not take even the Taj in place of this property. They now even have a new addition, the Rain Forest restaurant, for the kids and their parties, wherein all animal and reptiles and bird and the entire African wildlife creatures are displayed.

Room Tip: The top floor rooms on either sides of the property provide a good view of the Chandigarh skyline. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank NavRitRaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
123 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Hotel is old but is under tremendous renovation....

Food quality needs to be improved.

Rooms are huge and AC worked perfectly fine.

We just hopped on for a night stay to cover Amritsar the next day

Will try another hotel next time in Chandigarh

(Hotel is located right behind Sector 17)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ram1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Stayed for 1 night en-route to Amritsar. Rooms are huge. Surprisingly Bkfst/Dinner Buffet was included in the room price. Food OK. Hotel Reception/Swimming Pool under renovation. Rainforest Cafe was a big hit with the kids. Value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samdelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This hotel is owned by CITCO Chandigarh Administration. It is a good Hotel, which has nice decent rooms and nice food to indulge in...The Biggest +point of this hotel is the Location. It is in the center of Chandigarh and is just easy to go anywhere from here.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

The room was clean and well done up (atleast we had a recently renovated room). Restaurant was ok...but the location of the hotel is excellent. Considering the tariff and room quality, I would recommend a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeenalS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The hotel has a grand entrance and the staff is very nice. I took a deluxe room and the size of the room was huge. The bathroom was so big that it was equal to the size of standard rooms in some hotels. The room service is fast and food is good. We had breakfast and dinner included in our package and the buffet spread was very good.
Apart from it the rooms have a LAN connectivity with good speed. They can improve by putting across a wi-fi point for each room which will help mobility within the room. this hotel is near to the bus stand and the sector-17 market. Over all a great hotel to stay in Chandigarh.

Room Tip: all rooms are good. but the standard room is a bit congested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank arpitmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
0.5 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
1.2 mi away
Hotel Mountview
Hotel Mountview
#19 of 99 in Chandigarh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The TOY Hotel
The TOY Hotel
#7 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
2.8 mi away
Hotel Rajshree
Hotel Rajshree
#4 of 99 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 918 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shivalik View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shivalik View

Property: Shivalik View
Address: Sector 17-E, Chandigarh 160017, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 99 Hotels in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shivalik View 3*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Shivalikview, Chandigarh is the best location for both business and leisure guests desiring a relaxed,elegant location in the heart of the Chandigarh. A contemporary business Hotel complementing the modern life style of the ' City Beautiful"; being 8 KM from the Railway station, 12KM from the Airport and with an easy access to the Shopping center and ISBT, the Hotel offers a warm welcome, pleasant ambiance and an excellent range of superb Restaurants, guests facilities and services backed by great hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shivalik View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shivalik View Hotel Chandigarh
Shivalik View Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing