We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not 5 Star Not Even Close”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mountview

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mountview
Ranked #20 of 98 Hotels in Chandigarh
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not 5 Star Not Even Close”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

The lobby and entrance are impressive but don't be fooled this hotel is not good and it is expensive. We stupidly did not inspect the rooms before agreeing to stay. The first room was a smoking room that reeked of years of cigarettes and looked out over the car park, we moved but the second room was worse we couldn't identify the foul smell and asked to move again. We settled finally in the third room, it smelt was small and cramped for three people, we had to ask three times for the extra bed which when delivered was left in the hallway for us to rearrange the furniture and try to fit it in. The food in the main restaurant is truly hideous, we had lunch and thinking no one could possibly stuff up a grilled cheese sandwich we ordered, believe me this was revolting. Breakfast was disgusting. Service was not at all friendly or courteous. The bar on the roof top was ok. The only saving grace was the Chinese restaurant which we only went to out of extreme necessity but ended up being the best bit about it, other than watching the wedding on the back lawn at night (although the thump thump of the music would have ensured you had no sleep until the wee small hours unless you were as tired as we were).

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2xNZTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    119
    69
    20
    14
See reviews for
49
40
16
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gidderbaha
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2009

The reception given by the Hotel staff was very warm and nice.
Also the overall setup ; Interiors and decorations was quite mind boggling. But...above all, the service provided to us was courteous and truly 5-star.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kamalsingla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

a good place in the hert of the city. its huge entrance , front office & the interiors catch your attention immediately. the interiors are lovely . i had reached their late so immediately went ot bed. the room was quite big & neatly done.

Even the bathroom was quite good.
The morning breakfast was a mix of northindian parathas, south India's idly & continental breads & muffins. me & my collegues enjoyed the food.

i wish to come here again

  • Liked — the ambience
  • Disliked — na
  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank renubhatt79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

a luxury in luxury city
old 5 start hotel where indian cricket team use to stay in past
best location
good ambience
good food

  • Stayed February 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
Thank 29SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
95 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

I had a very short stay at this hotel , Checked in during night and checked out early in the morning. However I found this hotel beautiful with great interiors.

  • Liked — Good location
  • Disliked — The crowd was making noise whole night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

I stayed at Mountview keeping that it would be a good stay but it was not like that. The rooms of hotels are bigger but does ot provide basic facilities like shoe polish. second thing doors for adjacent rooms are not properly connected. the smoke of one room spreads to other. service is very very bad.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — interconnectivity of the rooms
  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drsanju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chandigarh hotels

Delhi
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

Location,cusine,ambience & service was good

  • Liked — Location & ambience
  • Disliked — it's not value for Money
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pradyDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chandigarh hotels
2.3 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel Chandigarh
0.7 mi away
James Hotel
James Hotel
#9 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
Hyatt Regency Chandigarh
#1 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Lalit Chandigarh
The Lalit Chandigarh
#3 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.6 mi away
Taj Chandigarh
Taj Chandigarh
#6 of 98 in Chandigarh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
3.1 mi away
Lemon Tree Hotel, Chandigarh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mountview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mountview

Property: Hotel Mountview
Address: Sector-10, Chandigarh 160011, India
Location: India > Chandigarh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chandigarh
#11 Spa Hotel in Chandigarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Mountview 5*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Mountview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Hotel Chandigarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing